We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice honeymoon location, lovely staff and beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cala Caterina
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice honeymoon location, lovely staff and beach”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Just back from a week's honeymoon at Cala Caterina and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, clean and we had a view of the paino bar, gardens and could see the sea a few hundred metres away. Aircon was quiet and effective and the decor simple but chic. Unfortunately the bed was so hard we both often woke up aching but that's just personal taste. The bathroom wasn't really up to scratch for a superior room with a too small shower that had tiles needed to be replaced and a duff loo seat. But overall we liked it and would recommend this one.

The pool was lovely and clean, sun beds readily available as were unlimited towels and the beach equally good. A young guy puts up your bed and umbrella after 8.30am but sometimes it's hard to get a sunbed on the beach because other guests get down early and 'reserve' beds with their towels but the inexplicably don't come back for hours. We just sat where we wanted anyway and no one ever complained that we'd nicked their bed! We were lucky that the wind last week was pretty much non-existent which we're told is unusual and did mean that the temp got up to 36 degrees, but the benefit is the sea was very calm and clear so that we could swim everyday.

Things we liked: service (v good), staff, breakfast and lunchtime food (excellent), closeness to beach, lovely, pretty gardens, proximity to Villasimius (5km and short taxi ride).

Things for improvement: bathroom, evening meal menu is a taster menu that was a bit fussy and out of 6 nights we ate out 3 because we prefer fresh fish, veg and pasta to the small dishes of all sorts mixed together.

Overall would recommend this for honeymooners, couples and is also child friendly.

  • Liked — Staff, service, closeness to beach, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hard bed, small shower, evening menu
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    77
    21
    16
    11
See reviews for
42
135
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Location and territory:
The hotel is located about 60 km from Cagliari airport. About 1,5 hour trip through the mountain road with spectacular views of the beaches of this area (by the way, those are the most beautiful beaches on the island).
The hotel territory has a very nice landscape, quite clean, but rather small.
The hotel building is placed harmoniously in surrounding landscape and makes a nice impression with warm colors and exterior design. It is situated about 150 meters from the sea and is surrounded by pine trees. This is why you should not expect any sea views from the rooms (just a small piece of the sea from the limited number of rooms).
There are a lot of birds, very nice when you see them, but not that nice when you hear their "singing" early in the morning - do not forget your ear-plugs.

In this regard Stella Maris Hotel (same road, but a few km closer to the airport) is situated directly on the beach and has very nice sea and mountain views. We did not see the rooms and cannot judge the service though. The only concern with this hotel is the neighbouring yachting port.

Beach:
The hotel beach (though quite small) is almost private (mostly residents of surrounding villas) and situated in a beautiful bay. Please note however that swimming may not be convenient/possible when the sea is rough (many underwater stones) and we noticed that this is not unusual for the sea surronding Sardinia, because of strong winds (by the way, this is the most disturbing factor for enjoying sea swimming around the island). As an alternative on windy weather try Timi Ama public beach located just a few minutes by car - situated on the other side of the cape - it seems to be covered from the majority of winds.

Beach towels are provided absolutely free, no humiliating procedures with cards or limitations of number etc, which you can find in some other quite expensive hotels and which is strange, as I hardly can believe that people who pay 500 euro per night will appropriate a hotel towel.

Room:
The hotel rooms are quite small, especially showers which are hardly convenient for the use.The furniture seems to be cheap and dated, as well as electrical and other equipment (rooms entering system, air coditioning etc.)
The room was clean in general, though I noticed a lot of dust on the "antiquarian" mirror frame in bathroom. Lavatory seat has seen better times - also not a very nice impression.
Soap, shampoo and other amenities were assigned only for one person. This was in particular disturbing with regard to the soap. There was only one small piece of soap for two and only on the third day of our stay we deserved the second long-awaited piece of soap. Believe us, this was not funny, since for the first time during our five year intensive travels around the world we started thinking of buying the soap!
In general we would rate it as 3+ star room.

Please hote that the hotel has a strange check-in policy with check-in at 2 p.m. and check out at 10 a.m. Though they can provide you with a room, if you need to take a shower after swimming etc., this is not very convenient, as you will have to pack all your luggage, leave your room, then you will have to unpack in another room, or take originally everything you may need with you on the beach...so, not very comfortable procedure.

Staff:
The hotel staff seems to be very friendly, welcoming and client oriented, which is not common for Italy and for this island in particular. English language abilities of the personnel (reception, waiters in restaurant) is much more better compared to other (even five-star) hotels that we visited on the island. One minor remark though: at check-in we were given the room that seem to be of different category (not a pre-booked Superior sea-side view). After we complained, another room was proposed to us, one floor upper and not that dark and tiny, though we are still not sure it was a Superior room.

For those interested, there is no free internet access point in the hotel. You have to pay for the traffic and the hotel can provide you with a laptop. We didn't check the rates and we have not noticed any public internet points on the island (though we never attempted to find one).

The hotel restaurant:
Breakfast. The selection of items was not not the best (limited choise of cereals, no raisin and other dryed fruits), though almost sufficient for fruit and other healthy food lovers. The unusual thing for us was that fresh orange juice was extra.
The dinner was mandatory a la carte. We visited only once, since the food was not of our taste (we prefer fresh vegetables and fish, not complicated dishes with sauces etc). Plus, regretably the dinner is not outdoor and you cannot reserve a particuar table, since all tables are already designated for particular rooms.

Overall, Vilasimius is the most picturesque area to our taste among those we visited (Palau, Costa Smeralda, Oristano, Pula areas) with the best beaches - you will see them on your way to the hotel - so all you need to do is just to remember the names and go back the next day :)

  • Liked — Area around, friendly staff
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We have just returned from our Honeymoon where we spent a week at Cala Caterina. Having booked the hotel and after reading these reviews, we were quite worried about what we were going to find when we arrived in Villasimius. We hired a car and drove the winding roads down to Villasimius which was a lovely drive with fantastic views. We arrived at Cala Caterina and I was a little worried about how we would be greeted (after reading the reviews) but i needn't have, we were made very welcome and the guy on the front desk was very helpful in getting our bags in and up to our room and showing us around. The room was quite basic, our balcony looked out the front of the hotel but it was nice as we were not overlooked by any other balcony's.
We had air conditioning although not overly powerful but then we have found this in a few hotels we have stayed in, in Italy. We spent the previous week of our honeymoon at Lake Garda where the air con was similar and we got married in Ravello, where again it was of a similar standard.
The waiting staff and bar staff were very friendly and stopped to talk to us quite often, there were a couple of them who weren't overly friendly but the majority of them were lovely. As for the previous review of Esther I don't know how you can say she was rude, she was never anything but helpful and friendly, she even had a drink with us on our last evening to say goodbye - now you do not get that from a lot of hotel managers!
There are a few things that could be changed there which we mentioned to Esther and she was more than happy to take these suggestions on board. The first was the entertainment, which in all honesty wasn’t the best, there was a guy who played piano / keyboard and sang and he was ok but after a few nights of him you needed to have some different entertainment, they did change it for a few nights and a very pretty lady sang for us but she wasn't very good. Second point was the menu, in the evening you are given a set menu whereby you get to try lots of different dishes which is a lovely idea and the food is fantastic however some nights we just fancied a nice authentic simple pasta dish, i think if they could offer this as an alternative that would be great.
Overall, I would say that we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend other people should try it if they are looking for a very relaxed, chilled out and quiet holiday away from the more touristy parts of Sardinia.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bash80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We decided to go in Sardinia and booked a sea view room at the Cala Caterina. Upon check-in, we askes for an upgrade and were cheerfully informed that we already had it. well, this hotel may be 4 stars, but the room were give was certenly not. what we got was a very small room that had not been redecorated in at least a decade. we immediately complained to the manager a different room, she was very unpleasent and informed us that this was the only room available.
we maid it clear that we were not happy, but it didn't seem to matter to anyone. So we were stuck.
The breakfast buffet was terrific. No ample and the servicewas very very slowly. It did seem to be a commedy of errors wich wasn't very funny.
Don't ruin your trip. stay somewhere else when you're in Sardinia.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sue7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My husband and I spent an absolutely wonderful week at Cala Caterina.
The location was absolutely beautiful. Lush gardens, a large pool and direct access to a secluded beach. It was the most perfect place to relax and unwind.
The food and and choice of drink was superb - everything was incredibly fresh and if there was anything on the menu that we didn't want or like, the staff was more than happy to change it for us.
Yes, at times the service was slow, but the staff was always friendly, courteous and happy to chat.
Many of the guests had children and the staff was always charming and attentive to the little ones needs also.
A absolute perfect holiday - we will be returning!

  • Liked — The location, food and wine
  • Disliked — Not much to do in the area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Cala Caterin is a nice hotel, but it's not worth 4 stars (and the money).

Staff is not the friendliest nor the quickest.
Our room was ok, but not 4 Star either.

Restaurant/Bar staff was lousy. Waited for hours to get our orders. Most of the times they forgot to bring something.

We had a car and enjoyed the places around the area. That was good. If we did not have that, this review would have been worse.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank djoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed for five nights in early June. Sardinia is windy but this was one of our reasons for chosing to go there. We did however, pay for the fairly expensive Cala Caterina because it had "air-conditioning". Bad decision. What it has is not what I would call air-conditioning. We were given a different room to try and it was cooler but the room was nowhere near as nice as the superior room we had paid for so we were reluctant to change.

On the subject of service we have to agree that this was bad. One night we sat for nearly half an hour at our table for dinner until we asked to be served. Often, we sat for 10 minutes in the deserted bar before someone came to offer us a menu. We began to think that the explanation was simply a different pace of life, until we noticed that the standard and speed of service seemed to vary according to nationality. Italians first, followed by other Europeans then Brits. We watched an elderly Italian couple recieve personal atttention throughout lunch and dinner on several days by the head waiter and another waitress, whilst we (and another English couple) sat waiting to be noticed.

Otherwise, the hotel was lovely, the gardens beautiful and the food good. But not enough to entice us back.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
1.0 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#12 of 33 in Villasimius
265 reviews
29.4 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
810 reviews
8.7 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Caterina

Property: Hotel Cala Caterina
Address: Via Lago Maggiore 32, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#18 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Caterina 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION The hotel is situated in one of the most delightful corners of Sardinia's South East coast, a few minutes from the holiday village of Villasimius (5 km) and close to its well equipped tourist marina (1 km). Surrounded by Mediterranean greenery and facing a crystal blue sea, the hotel offers its guests all the charm and magic of the island. Its secluded position makes the hotel an oasis of peace and tranquillity. Distance from Cagliari: 56 km. Distance from Olbia: 270 km. BEACH A pleasant walk (100 m) through the lovely garden with shady pine trees and well kept lawns, leads to the delightful Cala Caterina beach - a small sandy bay edged by smooth granite rocks. The hotel provides free sun-beds and umbrellas at the beach, as well as on the adjacent lawn. Beach towels are also complimentary. THE HOTEL AND ITS FACILITIES Built in a traditional Mediterranean style with long shady colonnades, the hotel blends in perfectly with the surrounding natural environment. It boasts a wide lobby, an elegant restaurant, a bar with a charming terrace overlooking the swimming pool and the surrounding garden, which provides ample space for taking the sun or lying in the shade. Services: reception open 24 hours a day, porter service, lift, unattended car park, during some evenings piano bar entertainment. There is an extra charge for mountain bikes, scooters and cars hire and for taxi service to Villasimius, where shops, restaurants and various services are available. ACCOMMODATION Situated on either the ground (patio) or first floor (balcony), the 48 rooms are all tastefully furnished in elegant pastel shades, with painted wooden furniture and marble topped tables. The rooms all have private facilities with bath or shower, hair-dryer and are equipped with satellite TV, air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, minibar and safe. There are 5 room types: - Classic (2/3 beds, about 25/30 sqm.): Double room with additional 3rd bed if required. - Comfort (2/3 beds, about 25/30 sqm.): Double room with additional 3rd bed if required, total renovated bathroom. - Prestige (2/3 beds, about 25/30 sqm.): Double room with additional 3rd bed if required, sea side. - Junior Suite (4 beds, about 40 sqm.): Double room with sofa bed, sea side, ground floor, totally renovated; - Sea View Suite (4/5 bedso, about 65 sqm.): Double room, living room and sofa bed and single bed, first floor with balcony, 2 bathrooms, private steam room. RESTAURANT The hotel restaurant offers both local and international cuisine with a wide selection of wines to match. Half board basis includes buffet style breakfast and waiter service dinner (drinks not included). Lunch is on request and with an extra cost: guests may enjoy a light lunch or a snack at the bar. Guests booked on half board enjoy a Gourmet Menu which consists of four courses each with two or three different 'taster' dishes and a seasonal fruits and vegetables buffet. SPA Protected with full privacy, laying out under the gazebo, the wellness treatments, massages, aromatic baths and the steam room will give you a complete relaxation, for body and soul. SPORTING ACTIVITIES There are plenty of sporting activities available nearby, in Porto Giunco (1 km), including water sports (windsurfing, waterskiing, canoeing, sailing) and boat rental. Only 3 km away: tennis, golf, diving and horse-riding. EXCURSIONS At the hotel reception it is possible to book nature and archaeological excursions by jeep and boat excursions with refreshments on board to the Islands of Serpentara and Cavoli, both protected marine reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cala Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Caterina Hotel
Cala Caterina Villasimius
Hotel Cala Caterina Villasimius, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing