We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel as a base for exploring”
Review of Hotel Simius Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Simius Playa
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We came here on our honeymoon, and it was okay, the room had a big balcony which was great and bathroom was modern but the room had a strong freshly painted smell and the safe door wouldn't open fully to get anything large in it...and even if you put something small you couldn't really get your hand in to take it out...so we locked our suitcases every time we left the room. Also you have to lock the door from the inside with the key...which makes you wonder what happens in a fire and the doors bolted. The gardens were beautiful but there was also some kind of stereo/amplified concert close to our room the nights that we stayed. We did discover a beautiful little beach cove a short drive away though, and it was a 15min walk into the Main Street. We went to the main beach for about an hour, which was about the amount of time needed to have enough of the African hawkers trying to sell us sunglasses. Hotel pool was nice, and restaurant food was beautiful. Overall it did the job but not sure if we would return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bel_199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 463 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

This break was a complete surprise for me, organised by my lovely husband for my birthday - and I really could not have wished for a better location, surrounding area, hotel, food, beach, pool, service..

We have already got our names on the list to return in 2015...

If you love Italy, italian food and hospitality this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and, despite the bad weather, our stay was very relaxing.
The staff were very friendly and did their best to make us feel confortable. They were also helpful when we encountered some little problems during our stay (flat tire on the car, water damaged cell phone, i.eg.).
The restaurant offers very good service and dishes and the staff were careful with the allergy problems of my boyfriend.
We booked a superior double room with sea view and we got what we paid for : spacious and bright room, very clean and renovated bathroom, nice little balcony from where we could sit to enjoy the view.
The beach is really next to the hotel and the location is terrific : splendid view, fine sand.
We would definitely recommand this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great hotel right by the beach with a very nice pool and outdoor seating area. No need to drive down to the beach since the hotel is right there. Rooms are cozy and staff is quite nice. We came as a group so it was refreshing to be able to spend the evenings on the outdoor veranda enjoying local drinks (mirto !) and chatting. I would most certainly return to this property given the decent price and well appointed accommodations. The AC in the room can also act as a heater if the nights are chilly. The villasimius area is also quite beautiful with many small coves / beaches readily explorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYC_yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Simius and loved every minute of it. The location is outstanding (we found our own private beach 12 minutes away by car that would rival any Caribbean beach) and our Junior Suite (#9) was absolute perfection.

Thank you Sandra and Staff who added a touch of class and service that will be memorable to us for years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at Simius Playa from 7.-12. October and enjoyed 5 splendid days. The holiday season was in its final stage but since weather was still very good the whole area around Villasimius was still in holiday mood, but not overfilled with people. Simius Playa is a hotel in old English colonial style and the layout of bar, swimming pool, reception etc...is all made to reflect this and emphazise a nice relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in a Junior Suite with Sea view as we have children and it was very nice and well decorated....

If you want to TOTALLY relax and enjoy a bit of luxery Simius Playa is definately a place to go...and we had nothing to complaint about during our stay as everyone from the staff where very friendly and did what they could to make us feel welcome and special. Beach is just next to the hotel and very nice....

For Italian standards the breakfast buffet is very good as they dont just give the standard crossaint and espresso but have a lot of cheese,cereals and specialities and it was fresh and tasty.....Restaurant staff withTonino especially made us feel very welcome and relaxed ... Food is very good but one small piece of advice for the restaurant would be maybe to include some dishes made especially for children based on good Italian kitchen.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the suites with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niels S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely hotel by the nice beach with amazing views, very peaceful and in a perfect location if you are looking to chill right on the beach front. Beautiful lounge area. Had a lovely spacious room with balcony.
The town centre of Villasimius is a few minute drive, but for a walk it might take a while, which was the down side of the hotel.
Villasimius is very quiet little town, perfect to relax, but if you want bars, parties and lot's of people buzzing around, it's not the right place.
All in all lovely quiet relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waidilute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
0.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
1,507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#15 of 33 in Villasimius
279 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#9 of 33 in Villasimius
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#19 of 33 in Villasimius
243 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Bouganville
Residence Le Bouganville
#25 of 33 in Villasimius
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simius Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simius Playa

Address: Via Matteotti 91, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Villasimius
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#3 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#11 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range: $140 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simius Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Simius Playa Hotel is an enchanting corner of Paradise overlooking the turquoise sea of Capo Carbonara, along the most beautiful coast of Sardinia, a quality hotel in Colonial style just a few minutes walk from downtown Villasimius. A beach of fine white sand extends in front of the hotel for walking or for having fun, aprivate pool to swim in complete freedom and enjoy the sun, enveloped in the silence of tropical gardens, and a terrace overlooking the garden where you can dine immersed in the scent of the bougainvillea under skies filled with the brightest stars of the island.And finally, in the heart of the hotel is the exclusive Simius Playa Restaurant, where every day you can taste delicious local cuisine, from land and sea, experiencing a journey of Mediterranean flavors and scents that enchants the senses.This is the setting of the Simius Playa Hotel, which will welcome you with the courtesy, warmth and ease that have characterized this Villasimius historic hotel for generations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Simius Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simius Playa Hotel
Simius Playa Cagliari
Hotel Simius Playa Villasimius, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing