We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed our stay in hotel Cormoran”
Review of Hotel Cormoran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cormoran
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“we enjoyed our stay in hotel Cormoran”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

W stayed in the Hotel Cormoran 4 days and we did enjoy it. The staff is nice and helpful.
The hotel is located in a very quiet area (5 km to the nearest city Villasimius)and it is surrounded by a beautiful garden.
The hotel has its own, sandy, beautiful, guarded beach. Hotel provides the sun beds, the umbrellas and the beach towels. Each guest can count on the sun bed which is reserved for him during the whole stay.
The rooms are rather big and clean although the bathroom is small and needs to be renovated (the bathroom reminds 80’s). Each room has a balcony where you can find two chairs, a table and a laundry dryer which is very useful. The rooms are air-conditioned and what’s more have the sun blades. In the room you can find also a mini bar but prices are not indicated.
When you go to the main road which leads to the Villasimius there is a small market.
Breakfast was good but fresh vegetables were not provided.
The hotel restaurant serves quite good food, the prices are not indicated and you can be a bit surprised after all. Opposite to the hotel there is a restaurant which is open during the lunch hours from 1 pm until 3 pm and afterwards from 7.30 pm until 10.30 pm. You can always visit Villasimius where you can find plenty of restaurants (around 5 km from the hotel, traveling by car is highly recommended).
Generally speaking we enjoyed our stay there. I would say that it was a good value for money. I would especially recommend this hotel for couples with children.
In general the hotel is very clean nevertheless some facilities need to be renovated.
This hotel has a huge parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_S056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    119
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
217
65
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at the hotel in June with three kids under 7. We loved the hotel and particularly the location. We have fallen in love with Sardinia. We'd highly recommend the hotel to Stay and particularly families. It's brilliantly located on it's own gorgeous beach. There is two excellent restaurants beside the hotel. It's 2pm from Villasimius. Another great beach is Cala Pira which is just 6pm from the hotel and is a prime example of how Sardinia's beaches are world class. The hotel also has a great dive centre and the dive was one of the best I have ever done in the marine park.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michealf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have selected this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and I have to say that they are absolutly accurate.
The location is perfect. Nice sandy beach, magnificent sea. The hotel iteslf is very clean and nice. Mind you, we were at the end of the season so some of the facilities were not functioning, but nevertheless the territory was well looked after and clean.
The food was a dissapointment though, breakfast very simple (yoghurt, some fruits, selection of cakes salami and ham). We ordered fried eggs two times and were really surpriesed to find out during chek out that it had to be paid for extra.
Still there are two very good restaurants 100 meters from the hotel - one is Su Giganti hotel restaurant and the other one is called Il Miraggio. Both serve excellent food (well, this is Italy, so food IS excellent everywhere), Su Giganti staff is a bit more friendly but Il Mirragio is more like a proper restaurant.
Overall, great place, would be happy to recommend it and visit it again some day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Situated on a long and sandy beach just outside Villasimius centre, the hotel offers both half and full board. We spent a day here with full board and were satisfied with the service which was very friendly, efficient and helpful at both the reception desk and in the restaurant. The food however, was a disappointment, very average and not very tasty. Free sun chairs and a sun shade on the beach is included in the price and parking as well. During the day and in the evening there were different activities for both children and adults. The beds were too hard for being comfortable, almost like sleeping on concrete. We paid 172 Euros per person for a night’s stay which was really far too much for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Cormoran is a 4 star village close to the famous Villasimius.The location is great the beach is nice and perfect for long walks, the pool area is ok and breakfast is great.The rooms are not so great as the have dated furniture and you really want to make sure you are ok with the fact that the Cormoran offers entertainment on the beach and in the pool in the evening. I recommend this place to families with kids and decently NOT to couples. You are better off to the center of the village where good 3 stars hotel have recently opened!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The rooms are terrible considering it is a 4 star hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My family had a family reunion staying at this wonderful hotel in 2006. We had 4 generations staying at this hotel. My children and I stayed in a bungalow, while some other members stayed in a villa. We were very happy with the room and size. I've always found the beds in Europe to be a little hard, but otherwise no complaints. Both the bungalow and Villas have a kitchen, so you can save a lot of money by preparing your own food.The beach is gorgeous, the food in the restaurant is excellent, 2 pools, tennis courts, free parking. Evening entertainment and even aerobics on the beach in the morning. It's a 5 min walk to the local bar and mini grocery store where you can everything. My daughter would walk each morning to buy pasteries, and fresh fruit.We loved it so much we are going back again in 2 weeks. As a half Italian who has spent half my life in Sardinia, this is a gorgeous part of the Island, it's where the Italians vacation. I heard no English from other guests during our stay!!!

  • Liked — location, home away from home
  • Disliked — beds were a little hard
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amandavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
1.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#17 of 33 in Villasimius
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#14 of 33 in Villasimius
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
407 reviews
28.8 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Zagare
Le Zagare
#19 of 33 in Villasimius
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cormoran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cormoran

Property: Hotel Cormoran
Address: Via del Porto 37 | Localita Campus, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#4 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#8 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#17 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cormoran 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cormoran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormoran Hotel Villasimius
Hotel Cormoran Villasimius, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing