We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
181
84
32
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
181
84
32
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stella maris half board sea view fish or meat sun loungers tiramisu the hotel staff private beach paddling pool buffet dessert perfect relaxation seaweed problem sand beach two courses each evening oysters room number
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 316 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

We just spent four days at Stella Maris. It was good time & we can recommend the place.

The pluses: good geographical location, room ok on the first floor with sea view decorated in a contemporain style, good phonic insulation, nice private beach with white fine sand, clean water, nice swimming pool, relatively close to the center, excellent food, nice service, family owned business.

A few minuses nevertheless: every service/food out of half board is scrupulously invoiced (cot for baby, 1st line at the beach, any small supplement for the baby, etc), so integrate this, slightly annoying, fact in your budget; the food is very good but not adapted to very young children (less than two years) - specific dishes or menus for babies could be proposed.

On a more general note regarding Villasimius, it is a fantastic place - though a bit expensive - for sea and beach activities, but a place relatively far from Cagliary (1.2hour by car) or other historical sites. In other words, for cultural activities, one has to integrate another location during one's stay, such as Cagliari or Nora, as we did.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DemandingAndy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Stella Maris, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Good morning dears
Many thanks for your positive feed-back.
We hope to see you next summer and just to let you know we like to inform you that for babies we can make everything you like , we just need to know it previously.
Thank you again
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

I just came back from a week vacation at Stella Maris in Villasimius in Sardinia. Excellent from a location stand point, right on the beach with beach service, towels and long chairs, no bar service which is something I don't quite understand why a hotel would not take advantage and offer drinks and snacks to the guests on the beach. If you are thirsty, you need to leave the beach and go inside the hotel to get a bottle of water. The beach is magnificent, all what you would expect from a beach in Sardegna. It is also close to Villasimius center, 3 km. I stayed in 2 rooms with spectacular sea views and a terrace to enjoy it. Rooms are basic, but functional. Nothing special. The door hardware and safe are of poor quality, holes in the door and wires appearing, it gives a bad impression. The bathrooms are asmall, particularly the shower place. The highlight of the hotel is the food, unbelievable half pension which means breakfast and dinner included. I normally don't like dinners included as I prefer to taste different restaurants in the region, but the restaurant in this hotel is just fabulous which made me stay every evening for dinner. A diversified buffet as starter, first and second courses with 5 to 8 different options and a fantastic desert buffet. The breakfast is also well served with many options. The environment is very good, family oriented, with 2 nice swimming pools, but no bar service at the swimming pool. Very nice scenery, green everywhere with olive trees, palm trees and flowers in the garden. I tried massage twice and enjoyed. The staff is responsive, friendly, but lacks the extra plus which makes the difference between a 4 star and a 5 star hotel. Stella Maria was a good choice.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Stella Maris, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Good morning dear
Thank you so much for your nice words.
Sardinia sea has got one of the beautiful beach in the world and in front of our hotel we have a very special view, with wonderful colors that change every day, giving us very nice sunrises and sunsets.
We have a choose of many typical dishes and most of our products are from our little island.
Fishes and meats are all fresh and all our desserts are hand make by our chefs.
Many thanks again hope to see you back in our little paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

It was a tremendous surprise to be upgraded to the 'Presidential Suite' or 'Suite Aceilia' as is written on the glass door to its back terrace overlooking the mountains. From this large furnished viewpoint on the second floor you go through another glass door to a lounge. A swipe with your card leads into the suite proper with its large bathroom with up to date shower, another lounge, a dining cum sitting room bisected by a jacuzzi for two. The bedroom has a 7ft bed with a very firm mattress. The other terrace is smaller, about 30ft in length overlooking the sea. It is well furnished including sun loungers and an electronically operated awning. There are many buttons spread around the suite to operate absolutely everything.

The grounds are not large but well designed with random small terraces scattered with large sunshades and loungers, palms, oleanders and of course bourganvillia.

I did find an 8 pm dinner rather late however but at this time of year it is still sunbathing time until a little before this. You can make this meal enormous without much trouble! There are three main courses, the first of which is a serve yourself from lobster, crayfish and almost anything that comes out of the sea. Cuttlefish and sea anemones even featured on the menu. There is much other stuff but there's fun in discovery so I won't describe it here

The Sardinian beer was appreciated also a local rose wine at €6 a glass.

The local cherries and strawberries were so wonderful that one is tempted to avoid them here from now on.

My lunch was often fresh fruit salad and ice cream. There were hot and cold dishes one of which consisted of slices of melon and sliced of ham.

It was 35C on one day with a big wind but the sea was very safe with just a small step down when entering the water. It is shallow and gets deeper very gradually. Because of midsummer heat much walking was impossible but we did walk to the harbour at 6.15 am and found the flamingo lake. The birds were apparently on holiday. It really is too hot and too far to town for souvenirs. The taxi there was great but had a problem getting one on return and had to be firm when we eventually found one when he wanted to charge 50% over what the hotel told us what the rate was.

Met some sweet people; the staff was very helpful and we particularly liked Julio one of the waiters.

It is a haven of peace. We judge from the 'Presidential Suite' of course concerning rooms. If I were to make one suggestion it would be to put in a proper shop where one could buy postcards, a broader range of gifts than the rather quirky ones in the tiny boutique, and maybe a few over the counter medications. As a world traveller I have found that most of the 'individual' type hotels do this nowadays without detracting from their individual character (this one had much for sale scattered about the rooms including carved figures many feet tall, at designer prices).

An altogether peaceful break. Would we return? When it came down to it the deciding factor might have to be that the flight was from Gatwick not Manchester, but we shall see. However still can't get over the complimentary upgrade and the sweet ceramic gift from them on departure for which we express our gratitude.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank EYorksFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Stella Maris, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Good morning
Many thanks for your nice words.
We are glad to know your holidays have been greatand you want to come back and became one of our many repeaters. We'd like to suggest to book for next year because we already have a lot of request.
Thank you again ,we wait for you
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Can not faut this Hotel a great experience throughout the whole holiday , hotel was very clean , friendly and helpful staff , very relaxing, good food . Will return to this hotel again.
Thank you for a great holiday.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Our requirement on this particular holiday was to do a whole lot of nothing
in comfort and we achieved that perfectly !! Because of this objective we did not hire a car but if you wanted to explore more of the local area/beaches you would certainly need one. You can walk into Villasimius in about 25 minutes but as it was pretty hot we took a taxi back on our only visit. The hotel gardens are beautifully laid out and kept
and the beach and sea are right there. The hotel appeared to be full but there are more than enough loungers in the garden or on the beach. Fellow guests were of mixed
nationalities which adds to the appeal. The food is excellent and plentiful and you may find that on some days you do not need lunch to add to your Half Board !!
There are some very good local Sardinian wines to enjoy.
The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful in every department.
We certainly intend to return.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fairfieldc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Stella Maris, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Dear Sir,
Thanks for your nice words.
We are proud that your holiday with us have been “particular” because that means our Hotel is special.
Our garden is big and here we make everyday a nice quick lunch where you can enjoy a traditional pasta ( as for example Spaghetti with fresh Clams or handmade Pasta quills with Sardinian Sausages) with a local white or red wine in front of the sea under our umbrellas.
Thank you again we hope you come back soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews