We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Honeymoon”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I never normally write reviews on anything but have returned from our honeymoon stay in mid-September with Pullman Timi Ama and felt i had to comment.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. There is a huge pool with lots of sunloungers and sunbeds to laze about on. I would recommend going at this time of year (September) as it's still boiling but there's a lovely wind which keeps you cool (and keeps the mosquitos away at night) - it also means there's not much fight for the sunbeds. It's a very short walk (or even shorter shuttle ride) away from a Private beach with clear water. Be careful not to poke your eye out on the wicker umbrellas - we never learnt and saw many people doing the same!
The food - it was out of this world. After trying to stay slim for a wedding it was absolutely amazing to be able to pig out of the huge selection of quality food that's on offer. Each night the food varies slightly but there is so much to choose from.
We ate at the beach restaurant for lunch a couple of times which offers some lovely fresh fish. If you want a cheap lunch the 'pasta of the day' at the restaurant by the pool is only 8 euros and always lovely.
The only draw back is the price of the alcohol - the cheapest bottle of wine is 25 euros, the cocktails are around 11 euros, and a large bottle of water 4 euros. It was ok for us as we justified it by being on our honeymoon(!) but i'm glad we didn't stay for 2 weeks just for that reason alone.
I was a little disappointed about the classic room as, for a 5* hotel, it didn't take my breath away, but we weren't in the room much. The maids come twice a day so it always felt clean.
The best thing by far was the service we received from the wait staff - it was like nothing else I've experienced in any resort, & considering they don't work for customer tips they were just so friendly and helpful all the time. The conversations over lunch and dinner were lovely and they couldn't do enough (topping up your wine before you've even put your glass down). They really made our stay for us, and they're very clever knowing many different languages.
Taxi from the aiport is expensive (especially booking through the hotel) but you can probably do a deal with a taxi driver - we found a taxi service called Darios at Cagliari airport who charged us 100 euros on the way there but 80 on the way back because we booked him for our return journey (hotel charges 115 euros).
The evening entertainment isn't our thing generally but it's far enough away that it doesn't affect you if you want to sit and have a drink by the pool. From the bits we did see they were very good.
Every day we said we should venture into the town but we were just too happy at the resort to leave it!
Spa facilities were lovely inside but you have to have a treatment in order to use it - the full body massage for 80 euros so a little pricey but the massage staff were very good.

To sum up - go and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    329
    107
    49
    29
See reviews for
451
562
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have just returned from a few days at this wonderful hotel. Am a little confused at some of the previous reviews which complained of the staff attitude. I did not find a single member of the hotel staff who did not smile and say good morning. All the staff at breakfast and dinner were very polite and charming. We had a superior garden room, which was very spacious and clean. No hot water before 7am though! I honestly thought there were no more than 10 people staying here as everywhere was so peaceful, but dozens appeared at mealtimes! I have trouble sleeping in hotels normally but not here - there was absolute silence at night.
The food is superb - try Sardinian night on a Tuesday, it was fantastic. There is something for everyone.
The spa was fabulous but not cheap - the staff were also lovely there too.
The beach is literally a 2 minute walk, although the shuttle is available if you want. Even at night to go to the beachside restaurant. There are plenty of free activities, a library for all languages, free Wi-Fi, sports etc, so you never need to leave! The pool is also lovely, with plenty of loungers and double loungers, although you are charged for the double cabanas.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic or relaxing break.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are away from the entertainment side of the hotel, so very quiet but balconies do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeet042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman Timi Am... S, General Manager at Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Itchyfeet042,
We thank you for the time dedicated to this review further your stay at Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your relaxing stay and appreciate the quality of our services.
Guest opinions are very useful and important to encourage our staff to progress every day.
We will be happy to welcome you back next year.

Best regards,
Patrick Recasens
General Manager Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 6 days in Timi Ama in July 2013. We are a family with one 1 year old child.

Travel/Arrival: 3/5

We arrived ourselves by car, coming from the north. After making our booking we received a call/email requesting whether we needed transportation from the airport, which was a nice service.
In Villassimius there is no extensive signposting to the hotel, so it took some time to find it. Hotel is located on an unpaved road which is dusty and has potholes. Fine with our rental Volvo but definitely would not work with a sports car. The road is public, but still, would be great if they improved this. Entrance to the hotel is nice and much better landscaped. There is a parking lot close to the entrance which is convenient.

Hotel and rooms 3/5

The lobby of the hotel is recently modernised in a very modern "I-Pad" fashion. We liked it very much, and it gives the hotel a classy look. The rooms are average at best. Cheaper local style with cheap furniture; definitely in need of renovation and not 5 star. Our room overlooked a square couryard "garden", which in fact is a grassfield.; bit of a letdown as well. It is a bit strange that Pullman when they took over did not modernise the rooms as well.

Hotel facilities: 3/5

Hotel facilities are nice. Very mordern and nice spa, good business center and good restaurant that overlooks the swimming pool area. This area has also a large pool bar. At additional cost verly large lounche chairs can be rentel as well. The Pool and restaurant overlook the laguna and beach, which is a nice view.
There is a fitness center, which is rather basic. There are sport facilities (tennis etc) which we didn't check out. There is a child play area which is i) rather far away, ii) old, and iii) only open at set times; clearly a let down.

Beach 5/5)

The hotel is located overlooking a laguna with a great beach is front of it. Beach is large, with fine sand, chrystal clear water, which remains shallow for a long time so ideal with children. Beach is large enough to fly kites comfortably as well. Beach is not private, but the Timi Ama has a separate private area, with parasols and beds, as well as a small bar. Beach has hotel staff that monitors the beach. There is a train that runs between the hotel and the beach at 10 min intervals, which is convenient. It also brings you to a beach restaurant for a civilised lunch or romantic dinner. Beach towels are provided to guests. The parasols and the stretchers are OK but not necessarily very luxurious. The little bar is a wooden shed that looks like it is a DIY project; a bit odd contrast in an otherwise perfect beach.
On the last day we were gven access to the showers and change rooms of the Spa, so we could spend the day on the beach before leaving; this was very nice as well.

Food 5/5

The hotel restaurant serves breakfast and dinner (buffet). There is a great choice of high quality products in sufficient quantity and variety of both traditional italian and western dishes, as well as fresh fruit. Staff is clearly trained at catering for large groups as they seem always in control, with no shortage of food. Things to improve: i) orange juice making capacity (always a row) and ii) spacing out the tables a bit more; they are standing quite close together.

Atmosphere/guests/personnel 3/5

Personnel is professional but seem to do their job more with their mind than with their heart, so the atmosfere is a bit clinical. Some of the staff were trying to be friendly in a very fake way, fishing for tips, which we found quite irritating We inquired with the hotel reception whether the kitchen could prepare steamed, mashed food for our daughter and were told to speak to the restaurant directly, which we found poor service. We ended up cooking in our hotel room ourselves which is not great for a 5 star hotel.
The guest are a combination of predominantly: well-to-do european couples, well-to-do Italian families and well to do groups of Italian elderly people and some families with young childern, being a minority. A a result the atmosphere remains a bit uptight and not necessary down to earth or with a lot of interaction between the guests. We didn't really care as we were just holidaying with the family.

Activities and entertainment: n/a

We didn't realy participate in any activities. We understand there was a disco in the amphitheathe every evening. The entertainment and beach staff consists of younger people and we found them more enthousiastic and pleasant than the regular hotel staff.

Nearby city 3/5

Nearby city is Villassimius. Its a small city and there is really not much to do. Did found some good supermarkets were we bought the ingredients to cook for our daughter, and also some good ice cream salons. There is also a good pharma. All are a couple of minutes drive from the hotel, which is convenient.

Price (quality) 3/5

Generally this hotel is expensive in every way, starting with the hotel rooms. For the rest everything is extra as well: any drinks at dinner are extra and expensive, and so is the beach restaurant.

Overall: 4/5

This is a great hotel if you want to go on a beach holiday and stay in a hotel with a great beach and scenery, with good food and a very convenient lay-out/logistics. Despite some critique points we mentioned we would come back.

If you are looking for the best price / quality or a very down to earth atmostphere with a lot of interaction between guests look elsewhere.

Two last tips: As indicated the beach as a whole is freely accessible. Next to the Timi Ama private area is a beachclub were you can rent chairs as well and of course you can go to the beach with your own gear. So the budget alternative is to stay in a B&B closeby and then get to the beach yourselves.

For parents with you children: baby stuf like baby food, powder milk, soothers etc is not very extensively sold in supermarkets; you have to go to the pharmacist for this, or bring it yourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvanrijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent a fabulous week at the Timi Ama hotel at the end of September. The garden rooms were spacious and had a lovely view of the garden. The pool was huge and extremely well maintained. We stayed on a half board basis and can honestly say that the food was some of the finest I have ever tasted anywhere in the world. The buffet was always hot and had a fantastic selection, which changed every evening and added a great amount of variety to the trip. We only ate out in the town one evening and didn't even hire a car on this trip given the fabulous facilities of the hotel. The staff were first class and always Happy to help. The beach was a mere 15 minute walk away (although they offered a great little shuttle service)and had beautiful white sand with some of the clearest seas I have seen in many years of travelling around the world. If you are looking for a nice relaxing week away at a hotel with first class facilities you are going to find the Hotel Timi Ama very hard to beat! It really is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsurferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman Timi Am... S, General Manager at Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Windsurferman

We thank you for the time dedicated to this review further your stay at Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your relaxing stay and appreciate the quality of our service and staff kindness.
Guest opinions are very useful and important to encourage our staff to progress every day.

We will be happy to welcome you back next year.

Best regards,
Patrick Recasens
General Manager Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can recomend Timi Ama to all people who loves beatifull nature, beatifull white beaches, unbelieveble clean water, all kind of sports.
Every hotel , every places in the world has got something special and people before me have been described this hotel very well ! I picked 3 things which make for me this hotel realy special ! 1)location - one of the most beatifull places in Sardinia !
2) Food - is realy excelent !
3) is the staff, managers and the people who are working in the hotel ! They make the holiday realy unforgettable and I can just say compliment to all of them ! :)))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent from check in to check out. It offered the most convenient white sandy beach location, good food, cocktail bar, pool, and good food selections.Staff were consistently polite and helpful. If you want to crash and go with the flow it's perfect for relaxation. This is the first holiday where we did not hire a car because all we wanted was on hand. Next time we will probably take a car up the coast to the `wilder` Costa Rei beaches, but this time we just relaxed, and the environment of the hotel allowed us to do just that, We can see ourselves returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: Stay in garden area, but it's only a point of preference re; peace & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

resort holidays, ecpensive extras, no amounts on your bills - looks like the staff does not get their tips - hence poor service (xcpt for the indoor bar). live kid music till 10, live resort music later. food in a la carte - oversophisticated, no taste, at least feels healthy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123feuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
7.7 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
30.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
810 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#20 of 33 in Villasimius
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#12 of 33 in Villasimius
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna

Property: Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Address: Viale dei Ginepri 3 | Localita Notteri, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#2 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#2 Green Hotel in Villasimius
#6 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#9 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an enchanting position, in the extreme southeast of the island, Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna is set 55 km from Cagliari international airport and 2 km from the small town of Villasimius. Set in an idyllic bay dominated by an Aragonese tower, the hotel is shrouded in a Mediterranean vegetation. Inside the Protected Area of Capo Carbonara, among a natural salty lake and a marvelous white sandy beach, discover in Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna a new state of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna Hotel Villasimius
Sofitel Hotel Villasimius
Sofitel Villasimius
Villasimius Sofitel
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna Villasimius, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing