We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Fiore di Maggio
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very nice area close to an excellent beach for bathing and snorkeling with magnificent surroundings. Having stayed at the hotel before, we were though disappointed this time. The hotel rooms do not correspond to the price: The most serious accusation is that the beds are dangerous to children (our children fell out of the bed twice with injuries as result), but the service is also poor. We lacked glasses to drink from, the soap was not refilled, the shower was broken etc. The restaurant is ok, but not very good (e.g. serving white wine at room temperature).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gisle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is a few kilometers from Vilassimius, but is 100 meters from the beach so it depends what is important to you, but be aware that the restaurant is not welcoming, quite oldfashion,and dark so you will have a much better dining experience in Vilassimius.

hotel's +: 100 meters from the beach, free for the hotel customers, the hotel patio with very old lemon trees is beautiful (but it is just a patio), the receptionist was nice and advised good restaurants in Vilassimius.

hotel's - : rooms are very dark, there is a terrace at the back of the room but covered and surrounded by fences (feels like being in prison), towels are clearly rinced with vinegar (horrible strong smell), the swimming pool area is used for diving instruction (very deep in the middle) and the pool area is not cosy at all.
breakfast and diner area is not welcoming and again surrounded by fences so it feels a bit clostrophobic..
the price is just too high compared to the hotel facilities, and they have not made any effort to create a cosy atmosphere, we did not want to stay but for sleeping .. very desapointing..
overall it was not a bad experience but i would not recommend this hotel, i am sure there are much better options to that hotel if you are willing to spend 150 euros for a night..

Room Tip: there is no room with view.. and no sun on the private terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank letiAmstedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A very nice and not too big hotel situated close to an excellent beach. Very good and personal service, excellent food and nice rooms. Perfect for families with children, but also for couples who want a relaxing atmosphere and a quiet environment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gisle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Romano F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights in late September at the Fiore di Maggio without having booked in advance. The hotel was delightful - peaceful, a large room - with no frills, which suits us - and kind owners. There is a path through the woods at the back of the hotel which takes you to a beautiful beach which was empty while we were there. Our only 'complaint', and this is a mild one, is that the shower cubicle was very small. Otherwsie this seems to us a great choice for an off season break, with many superb beaches within easy reach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed B & B but ate in hotel every night the food was so good!
Great staff, very helpful & friendly. Good room with fridge & back patio looking over hills.
In quiet residential area 25 mins walk from town - the only noise was birdsong!
We hired bikes & had great day exploring other areas but we preferred the Campulongu beach which is a very short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try a room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coleswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I read the reviews and feel dissapointed in what others say. I think it's all due to what one expects and receives at the end...

Hotels in Sardinia, and in Villasimius are generally very expensive. This one is no exception. But we loved it. We chose to stay there in September, hence late season, less people, much lower prices. Still good weather and very warm sea.

Our room had no TV, no telephone, there was no internet in the hotel (there is an internet point in the yacht club), which was absolutelly fine for us as we wanted a quiet getaway. There is no minibar, fridges available to use in the corridors outside.

We stayed there with a 8 month old baby and the best thing was the location - 3 minutes walk to the beach, really good if the child is tired or you need to grab something back from the hotel.

If you want to see other beaches or see the town itself, a car is a must.

As we booked half board, we ate in the hotel each night, which I really loved. The sardinian tradition is to eat around big wooden tables, so we could chat with other people staying in the hotel, which most of them were italians. As we speak italian, it was really nice, although I noticed that all english speaking tables were much quieter. A cultural thing, I guess. Food was great. Tasted like home made italian (having an italian mother-in-law I can guarantee that). Our baby was also getting food according to what I requested. He loved it! And they weren't saying even a word about a huge mess he would leave under the tables each night. Oh, the highchairs were a bit sticky, so I would bring one of my own next time.

If you want to try food around, do try Da Barbara in Solanas, very good fish restaurant, good value for money (for example 9 euros for a traditional fregola con bottarga dish, 13eur for grilled sepias). I wouldn't reccommend Il Miraggio in a nearby beach - the food comparing to Da Barbara was lower in quality and higher in price.

The local beach is fantastic, they share it with a posh hotel nearby and they were planning to put umbrellas and beds this year (and so raise the price of course). I was more than happy without them though.

If you have a baby, I would not reccommend doing a boat trip around the beaches. The hotel staff said it was fine to do it with small children, but I totally dissagree. The sea was wavy and in order to get to a beach we had to jump from our boat to a small motor boat and sit on it's sides - no lifejackets provided, way too risky with a child in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BElge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villasimius hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#15 of 33 in Villasimius
279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Simius Playa
Hotel Simius Playa
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Su Giganti Hotel
Su Giganti Hotel
#12 of 33 in Villasimius
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sa Suergia
Hotel Sa Suergia
#13 of 33 in Villasimius
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fiore di Maggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fiore di Maggio

Address: Localita Campulongu, 08020 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Villasimius
#16 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range: $73 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fiore di Maggio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fiore di Maggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fiore Di Maggio Villasimius, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing