We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Seggio
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Vieste
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a Rick Steves tour. This is a nice but small hotel on the water. Some rooms overlook the water view. They have a typical light Italian breakfast of juice, coffee, pastries, cereal and yogurt. The food in the restaurant is good and the service is attentive. The front desk is helpful and can bring your bags up or down in a small truck. The rooms are roomy enough. The bathroom has a double phone booth shower. The location on the old part of town is great, within a short walk of the marina, tourist office and restaurants. They have an elevator up for the hotel and down for the small beach below the hotel. They do have a policy of no outside food or drink in the room, which is to say, don't let them catch you with it in your room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SavageRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    81
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
51
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Located in a little town lots of shops up a hill next to the beach food basic but delicious great atmosphere and the public areas were nice rooms were not the best we ever stayed in but overall the beach was beautiful the food was very good the atmosphere was perfect and the location was great amazing value for money i would rate the experience at hotel segio 4.5 stars

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good hotel in the best part of town. If you like eating out at local restaurants and want a bit more privacy than the public beach, then this hotel is for you. The rooms are basic, but perfectly adequate. The bathroom fan made an alarming noise - but they promised to look at it, the coffee at breakfast is indeed from a machine, and not worth tasting, but these issues did not detract from a lovely holiday.

The position is fantastic, built into the rocky cliff, with a private beach, and idyllic lagoon for swimming. I'm sure in July and August, when the hotel is full, the best sun loungers will be occupied, and it wouldn't be quite as tranquil, but go in the shoulder season and you will have a great time. Be aware that the sun disappears behind the cliff at 4.30pm (and the beach closes at 6pm), so we often spent the afternoons on the local beaches to ensure we enjoyed the late afternoon / evening sun (the best part of the day).

We did not try the food in the evening, as we were room only, and prefer eating at local restaurants, but did not hear any bad reports. The breakfast was the usual continental standard, people have to remember that there is not a big tradition of gourmet breakfasts in Italy - an espresso and a pastry while standing at a bar is the norm. Consequentially, don't go expecting beautifully scrambled organic eggs on wholemeal toast!

I'm sure experienced travellers who have been to Italy before will have a lovely holiday at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajf1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Drove into Vieste and got stuck in a traffic jam. Just a few feet from the arch leading to the historic old center, I left my husband in the car and trotted up to see what was there. I was instantly enchanted with the old town, and I asked a local if there were a hotel in the center. He recommended Seggio. We were offered a choice--room with an ocean view or slightly less expensive for no view. We opted for view and were thrilled to be shown a room overlooking the cliffside and a gorgeous blue ocean. The room was large and airy with a balcony, the bathroom also large, although with a very small shower. It is true, as a previous reviewer wrote, that the coffee from the machine at breakfast is awful, but the nice waiters will make fresh and delicious coffee in the bar on request. It's also true that the phone didn't work. These small things don't detract from an otherwise great stay. Front desk people were all exceptionally nice, very receptive to my chit chat, helpful when I needed assistance. We loved our stay here, and the central location, beach view and access were all perfect for us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our room was nice, but had no view and was a bit small. The staff was OK, but the owner was a bit dour and seems to be paranoid about guests bringing in food. Loved the village, though. Would make a great vacation place, but we had poor weather!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndieTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Telephones not working, food is poor, served omelet as main dinner course, you have to pay extra for an egg for breakfast, coffee is horrible from a pretentious machine that actually serve instant Nescafe! No help with dragging your luggage several hunted meters up a steep alleyway from the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel when on a Rick Steves tour. An attractive location on a busy street 5 mins from the main street. My room over looked a small piazza where there was a bar and a gelato shop with a glimpse of the sea. The room was large and comfortable with a queen bed. The bathroom was relatively new and had a decent-sized shower - unusual in Italy! I also had a small balcony which was useful for drying my laundry. Other rooms had sea views and larger balconies - as usual the single gets the short end of the stick! But I am not complaining in this case!

I saw the infamous notice about not eating in rooms and in fact our tour leader had warned us about the fact that the owner had this thing about people eating in rooms.

We ate 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner and 1 lunch at the hotel. The lunch was interesting because we had our pasta making lesson first and then ate the results - delicious. The dinner was also good. Breakfasts were typical Italian - pastries, rolls, cheese,yogurt, juice. Coffee was a disappointment - machine made cappachino with no taste of coffee - in Italy yet!

The hotel has a pool, reached by an elevator and a flight of stairs, and a small beach well-protected from waves by a breakwater.

The owners sons/daughters were much in evidence and their friendliness and help did a lot to offset the owner's somewhat abrupt manner.

All in all a pleasant hotel with much to recommend it if you are prepared to overlook the owner's quirks.

Viestre is a pleasant town in a non-touristy part of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanlubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocca sul Mare
Hotel Rocca sul Mare
#45 of 67 in Vieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Castellino Relais
0.5 mi away
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Hotel
#18 of 67 in Vieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sciali
Hotel Sciali
#2 of 67 in Vieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Portonuovo
Hotel Portonuovo
#1 of 67 in Vieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Falcone
Hotel Falcone
#34 of 67 in Vieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seggio

Property: Hotel Seggio
Address: Via Veste 7 | Piazza del Seggio, 71019, Vieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vieste
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Vieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seggio 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose a holiday at Hotel Seggio! In the historic centre of Vieste, overlooking the sea around the Gargano, Hotel Seggio offers guests spectacular views. This 3-star hotel in Vieste, which has a private beach with swimming pool and elevator for direct access to the beach, takes its name from the original purpose of the building that in the 1600s was the Palazzo Comunale (Town Hall). The rooms and apartments at Hotel Seggio are the perfect opportunity to enjoy a holiday on the Gargano surrounded by tranquillity, history and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Seggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seggio Hotel Vieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing