We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel&Resort Le Axidie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was nice hotel, but not 4* (((
Plus - beach
Minus - staff (in the beach bar espesially)

The rooms were tidy but very poor. All funature was quite old, rooms are very small even seaview rooms.
Never the less to say that all staff was nice but their English was very poor. Guys at the beach didn't speak English at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DariaBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    118
    44
    31
    25
See reviews for
89
146
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to go somewhere totally different on our way to sorrento , and we certainly found it.
If you like the traditional Brits away hotel please don't come here, this is so Italian it's great no English menus no english food. If you want to go somewhere where the Italians go this is the place, hardly any other Brits it was great. The ladies at reception were exceptional and we soon realised my wife's 3years Italian classes were a waste of money, but I highly rate this place if you want a real piece of Italy .

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bluenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at 2-bedroom apartment which was located a five-minute walk away from the hotel building. Apartment was functional, comfortable and offered a great view to Vesuvio over the bay of Naples. Air conditioning was efficient enough to keep the apartment fresh event at 35C temperature. Staff was very helpful and friendly. For us Le Axidie was a great base during our week-long stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This complex is situated in a great location, nice stone beach and clean mediterranean sea. Beautiful view of the Gulf of Neaples and typical mediterranean vegetation.
The room was nice and clean.
There is a fantastic panoramic terrace for drinks and dining.
The complex has also a swimming pool and spa.
For kinds there are tennis and fotball pitch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We decided to stay just outside of Sorrento and found the Hotel really good. The location was good with a free shuttle service to the town of Vico Esqense (and return). The little town was lovely and was only a five minute train trip to Sorrento and about 20 minutes to Pompei. Restaurant was good but also found others in the harbour which were excellent. Bit of a dicy road to get there but we managed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the apartments for our honeymoon - the apartment was so clean, and very peaceful. This hotel is in beautiful surroundings. It's out of the way but that's what we wanted, and the hotel staff are more than happy to help you to get in to town or the nearest train station. You can get to most places from Vico equense, the easiest being Capri as the ferry picks up outside the hotel. Sorrento and Pompeii are on the train line with no changes.
Everybody was very friendly, food was lovely and swimming pool great.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Summary: This complex tries to provide everything for everyone. It tries to be a hotel / residence / spa / private club / daily beach serrvice during the day and a high class, nouvelle cuisine restaurant at night. It does none of them well. Or better said it does all of them at a very average level.
+++ Service at desk upon arrival was good. However never assume anything. I asked for half-board service and the service desk said fine, no-problem. Much later, when I received the final bill, I realized that the desk had not communicated this to the restaurant staff. Therefore our bill at the restaurant was charged at a la carte prices vs. half-board prices. Partly my fault.
+++++ Parking was free.
++ Room was adequate and clean, however upon opening the closets a smell was released that we determined was from the wool blanket in the closet. The staff probably needs to air out the closets and their contents more often. Room furniture is old (not antique) just old and should be changed/upgraded. Bathroom appeared to be fairly new and was clean.
++ Beach beds (lettini) and beach umbrella included in price. However, beach is not sand but small rocks. Therefore difficullt to walk to the water without sandles or better yet rubber shoes used specifically for walking on small rocks. Wooden walkways are also provided to take you to a metal platform with metal stairs that allow you to enter the water from the platform. Not ideal, but it works. Side note: There is also a salt water pool if one feels inclined to use it vs. going in the water from the beach.
+/- Spa area looks very nice with smaller, more private pool. We thought of going there in the afternoon, but were told that at 16:00 they were going to start acqua gym lessons. So the "private spa" area turns into an acqua gym. Again, trying to be everything for everyone. Also there is an additional cost to use the private pool and whirlpool/jacuzzi.
+/- We ate lunch at the quick service, caffeteria style food service. Service was good and quick but food was not exceptional. Oil used on salad and frisella was really cheap so the taste of the fresh tomatoes and lettuce and olives etc. was overwhelmed by the taste of cheap oil. Definitely not virgin olive oil. We picked an area at the food service to sit and eat and were quickly (and politely) told by a group of four people sitting there that we were sitting in a "private club" area. I said I'm sorry and that I didn't see a sign marking the area as private. One of the ladies said that the sign must have fallen down. No problem. We moved. However, is this a private club, a hotel, a spa? What is it? (p.s. The group of four people were playing cards.... maybe burraco?)
- - - Dinner. This was partly my mistake. Since I asked for half-board, I assumed that the restaurant staff would have a list of rooms that asked for half-board. Well they had a list and they escorted us to our table, but brought us the wrong menu. Thus the confusion about paying a la carte as opposed to half-board. What we did eat tasted very good. However after living so many years and traveling in Italy I find it very hard for me to accept the idea of "nouvelle cuisine" Italian style. Example: appetizer of three scallops (capesante) and one shrimp on a bed of essentially mashed potatoes; main course of THREE and ONLY THREE mezze maniche stuffed with cheese and prosciutto, rolled in egg and bread crumbs and either lightly fried or in the oven on high heat, and served on a bed of a sauce made from either beans of lenticchie. Taste, good, except for the bed of beans saucet; quantity, zero. The best part of the meal was desert. A very fresh and excellent tasting mousse made of frutto di bosco. I nust say that the food was prepared well and taste was good - hats off to the chef, however the quantity was miserable.
+++ Breakfast was good.

This complex also has a tennis court and an area for children to play ping-pong and other games. And that's part of the problem. The complex appears to have grown over the years from something small and specific (possibly just a hotel with a beach area) into a much larger complex by adding on here and there with the idea of trying to provide everyone with everything. To arrive to our room was a walk through a labyrinth of hallways, an elevator and more hallways. The building themselves were just added on and added together.

We did not like it. Tries to provide everything for everyone. Will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFDUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ancore Hotel
Le Ancore Hotel
#12 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
1.5 mi away
Capo La Gala Hotel
Capo La Gala Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Resort Le Axidie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Resort Le Axidie

Property: Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Address: Via Marina D'Equa, 80096, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Resort Le Axidie 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a one of the finest views of the Sorrento Peninsula, Vico Equense Axidie Resort offers accommodations to suit every need. Rooms and Residence characteristic Mediterranean style are just a few steps from the beach, with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Naples, and in the typical coastal vegetation, including citrus groves and vineyards. At guests' disposal: a swimming pool overlooking the sea, a beautiful terrace with a bar and snack bar, fitness center, tennis courts and soccer. The Restaurant Punta Scutolo serves Mediterranean cuisine, with an eye for innovation and openness to international cuisine. Special attention is given to children, with entertainment services and special menus. The hotel Le Axidie has ample free parking and shuttle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel&Resort Le Axidie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing