We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay of Naples, Italy: Excellent hotel with top service and spectacular views”
Review of Hotel Mega Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mega Mare
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After staying at the Hotel Mega Mare for a couple of nights in October 1998 for a job interview with a local company I always wanted to go back. Situated next to the SS 145 main mountain road some 70 or 80 metres above sea level I fondly remembered the spectacular view over the Bay of Naples across to neighbouring towns such as Meta and Sorrento, and further towards the islands of Capri and Ischia and towards the city of Naples on the other side of the bay. If you go you will also see that the view is as stunning at night as during the day. I had told my wife about the place a number of times and this year we decided to go.

After driving from Naples Airport in a rented Fiat 500 we arrived on a Monday evening. The hotel has a large car park for its guests. Tired and hungry we asked owner Mariano Sasso if he could recommend a nice restaurant nearby. Demonstrating his excellent network of local contacts he asked the owner of restaurant Zio Sam in Meta to collect us and to bring us back to the hotel after a delicious meal. As Mariano was to demonstrate every day he is very friendly, approachable and very well informed in addition to having his contact network. This can also be said for all of Mariano's colleagues at the hotel. For us this was a great start to an unforgettable week.

The rooms are tidy, reasonably spacious and clean with plenty of storage space for clothes. There is also a safety deposit box for valuables. The bathroom has nice tiles and is equipped with everything you need. Most importantly each room has a spacious balcony for guests to enjoy the stunning views. It is also big enough for four adults to sit and have a chat and a drink from Mega Mare's well stocked bar.

The hotel also has a very beautiful terrace with a large, deep and most refreshing swimming pool for the guests to enjoy. This is also an excellent place to enjoy the spectacular views. Thus it is also a nice alternative to local beaches if you do not fancy going any where. Next to the pool there are sun beds for everyone along with a bar from which drinks and snacks can be ordered.

All in all I would like to express my gratitude to Mariano and his colleagues for their input in making our stay an unforgettable one at their excellent hotel. I can highly recommend the Hotel Mega Mare to anyone looking to explore a beautiful part of Italy famous for its climate, history, scenery, food and people. However, in order to fully enjoy the area, I would also recommend to rent a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mega Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived to Mega Mare hotel and fall in love emidiently. The view is unbeliveble, the rooms were clean and quiet. We like the location very much because it on the top of the world, not inside the noisy area and close enough to every place.
We left the hotel after 3 night with heart breaking.
And finally: thank u Mariano! We found u a special person. We know we will come back to Mega Mare
Tal, Zehavit,Ziv & Ofri
ISRAEL

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012



Have you ever received flowers in any hotel or B&B? We assume you didn't. Well, this beautifully located hotel, with the most amazing view over the bay of Sorrento from every room, run by a man that considers his aim is to help people fulfill their wishes in their vacation.  He listens to his guests and finds a special way for every guest - and we got flowers, wonderful colorful bunch of flowers in our room. We don't have to say anything more, this was a wonderful vacation here in Mega Mare, and it's friendly manager Mariano and Donatella his assistant. The food the rooms and the atmosphere are great and the location is perfect, very close to Meta where one can leave their car, park safely, and take the train to Scavi Pompeii and to Naples without the dangerous driving in the city.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShmuelHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here in mega mare hotel. The view was stunning the hosts were very nice and helpfull. The rooms are basic but we traveled all day and just slept here at night..........................................

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Moriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is an excellent hotel, i really recommend it for everyone wanting to stay at the region.
The view is beautiful, the hotel is very tidy and the staff is frendly and helpful too.
Our rooms (2) were very comfortable, the AC was operating properly, balcony belongs to them and the breakfast was rich and delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms in the same direction and they are great!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in Mariano's hotel for three days in september ,the weather is great on the mountains ,the view is outstanding,and the hostess is a very friendly man . The breakfast is satisfying,room service just fine. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramiev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We really enjoyed
The hotel is located in an excellent location near Sorrento.
Very easy access from all sites.
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
Mariano the chif is very kind and will do everything to his guests feel good.
We felt very comfortable.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
#17 of 20 in Vico Equense
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#4 of 20 in Vico Equense
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#12 of 20 in Vico Equense
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mega Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mega Mare

Address: Corso Caulino (SS. 145) Punta Scutolo, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vico Equense
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range: $74 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mega Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mega Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Mare Hotel
Hotel Mega Mare Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing