We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A week of pure bliss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Beds, England
1 review
“A week of pure bliss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This review is slightly delayed having returned to the UK on 29/09/09 from what can only be described as one of the best holidays we've ever taken.

The charming Capo la Gala is built into the cliffs of Vico Equense and is every bit as breathtaking as you would imagine. Links to Sorrento are quick and easy by train with the lovely reception staff providing a complimentary shuttle service in one of the hotel vehicles both to and from the local train station. A one day trip was all that was required to also take in both Vesuvius and Pompeii due to the ideal location of this hotel.

The rooms are beautifully decorated in a unique style with a nautical theme running through the decor of the entire hotel. The attention to detail and cleanliness throughout is faultless.

We are glowing in our praise of Capo la Gala as a hotel but our experience was heightened even more by the incredible Maxi Restaurant. Having heard some of the stunning reviews about the food at Capo la Gala we decided to take advantage of the Kuoni half board package deal. Talk about value for money. But this was not just about cost.

Being a pair of foody geeks we would say that this restaurant is more than worthy of a coveted Michelin Star. What struck us was the incredible talent on display from all the restaurant staff....they are not only knowledgable about food but are multilingual, polite, provide superb service and are tolerant of what we observed to be some very rude customers. We would recommend engaging with the staff at every opportunity. They love having you in their restaurant and sharing with you the delights that their head chef has to offer. A conversation with our Maitre'd Costanzo Cacace (a thoroughly outstanding professional with a warm welcoming personality) revealed that prior to joining the team here he had been Maitre'd at a 3 Michelin starred restaurant elsewhere in Italy. He has clearly embedded his high standards in his current team and it is without doubt they will be the proud possessors of a well deserved star in the not too distant future.

We have never felt the urge to return to a holiday destination previously but Capo la Gala may very well prove to be an exception to this rule, even if only for a long weekend of peace, quiet and very fine food!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Refinnej_nevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    38
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
234
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed in the hotel as part of our honeymoon. On arrival we were met by the porter who parked our car, the receptionist brought us to our upgraded room (i mentioned when booking that we would be on honeymoon, we paid for a standard room but they upgraded us free of charge to a private terraced room) we were delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne to the room along with our bags, this was all within 5 mins of arriving! The room was perfect with amazing views. Was cleaned twice a day. The staff were so friendly and helpfull. Like others have said there was 2 weddings on during our stay, we enjoyed listening to the music and having a nose from our terrace.
The restaurant is mainly sea food and quite expensive so we ate out in sorrento which is about a 15 min drive away. The pool area is lovely, shame there is not a decent snack bar. The lunch menu is limited and expensive. All in all a fab hotel for a quiet romantic holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarKes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Booked through Kuoni, with a reduced tarrif, turned out to be very good value for money. Flight with BA from Gatwick was good, although even a short journey can be spoiled with the person in front of you reclining their seat!. We had a private transfer as part of the kuoni deal, but this was discounted as well, so the driver meeting us at the airport, and then a merc car to wisc us away to the hotel was very relaxing and a brilliant start to the holiday. after an early flight, we arrived at Cap La Gala by lunch time, and were really impressed. Literally built into the hillside, with a lift to save to the walk up & down. The whole hotel looked the subject of a very recent refurbishment, with good quality "designer" furniture and B&O hi-fi in public areas etc. plenty of different areas to sit and admire the view. The room was brilliant. make sure you get the superior room with it's own sundeck/balcony. You can spend your whole holiday sitting here, with a 2 minute walk to the restaurant & bar. room was very well equiped with SKY TV (Extra for the premium channels) and unlimited broadband PC through the TV. Bathrooms are excellent - Villeroy & Boch fittings, all to a very high standard. Rooms were cleaned when we were at breakfast, and then "turned down" and re-claened when we were at dinner. Whilst there were suposedly a number of restaurant/snack bar areas, only the main area was open for all meals, but this was no hardship as eating on the terrace looking out to sea was fabulous.
food was of a very high standard, but with only say 5/6 choices, we found it a bit repetitive after 7 days. we had half board, but going again, we would just have B&B and eat out more. Food was a bit expensive (starters & pasta courses 20E mains 30E and deserts 15E) lunches were 12/15E. the wine list was very extensive, but cheapest bottles 28E. all very good standard though.
service was excellent, very attentive and friendly.
The "Beach" area did get busy at some times, when the "Public" swelled numbers. but you were alsways looked after if you needed a sunbed. the locals were very interesting to look at anyhow.

really a lovely location, views out to see were fabulous. We used the local train to go to Sorrento and Pompei. this was cheap & efficient, but very hot! thoroughly recommend the hotel & location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Some things you should know about:

- Some of the rooms are close to the high way. Noice and shaking in the middle of the night as a result. Ask for room far away from the road.The rooms are also have very different standard at the same rate so be specific when you book.
- The SPA that they write about on the website is not yet ready. Treatment are offered in another facility that is of low standard.
- The beach area and the pool is also rented out for the public and during the weekend it is very crowded and noicy. Kids and familys playing at the pool and people everywhere.
- 2 out of 4 noghts when we visited Capo La Gala the hotel arranged a weeding and a birthday party which ment that the partyoccupied a lot of the nice public areas where you wanted to have a drink or just sit and relax.

When we complained about this to the staff they offered nothing in return. To bad because the hotel could be very nice, Acctually wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHotspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed in late June / early July 2009 for a week for our honeymoon. Got a deal through Kuoni, staying half board at what appeared to be a reduced price.

First impressions not great as Kuoni stated complimentary champagne on arrival for honeymooners. No sign of this so I asked and was told that this was no longer part of the Kuoni package - was a little put out by this as after all it is a 5 star hotel and wouldn't have thought that this would break the bank for them to explain that there was some confusion but provide one anyway, especially since I asked. Also our Kuoni rep didn't turn up until day 4 of our 7 day break by which time we had organised our excursions off our own back - the rep turned up saying we could have done this and that for less but obviously a bit late in the day to have saved us money so perhaps should have said nothing at all!

However, the hotel was VERY well looked after, rooms turned down 3-4 times per day and communal areas / restaurants immaculately kept. The room was adequately sized and we were on ground floor with good sized balcony only stones throw from the med. Everything in the room worked well from power shower to sky tv (only 2 UK channels though) and internet access. Mini bar well stocked and prices OK for 5 star hotel in this part of Italy (€4 for a 250ml coke upwards).

Room service menu and most of the hotel guide was accessed via the hotel intranet which at the time of staying was all jumbled up and more than a little confusing (for example it mentions 4 different restaurant areas but on asking an english waiter at the hotel, only one was open in June / July - not exactly the low season.....)

Overall the hotel was very quiet - most nights there were only 5-6 tables filled when the restaurant could cater for 30 tables+. Apart from the Fri/Sat/Sun when the hotel got busier with more guests staying, local trade (and people using private beach) we would have guessed that hotel was only 1/3 occupied.

Hotel also a little remote - 5 mins walk to train station which was then 11 minute train journey to Sorrento every 1/2 hour (or 3 mins from nearest town, Vico Equense but not really much to see and do there). The hotel did provide taxi transfers to and from station / Vico but still not the sort of hotel where you can go for an evening stroll easily anywhere - very busy road just above hotel means any route to / from hotel is not particularly nice, scenic or quiet.

The food was excellent overall. We were told that the restaurant maxi (at which you dine each night if half board) is going for a michelen star in the next year. Everything freshly prepared, even bread rolls all individually made and different, and a lot of sea food. However, the menu was a little limited and after 7 days there half board we were keen for a change. Wine list was amazing (see pics of cellar on hotel website) - it was probably 50+ pages long covering all local wines and every region of Italy. Not cheap (as one would expect) - prices range from €30 per bottle right up to €6,500 per bottle for Petrus. If you were to eat at the restauarant as a paying guest it would be about €100 per person including wine per night, more if you selected tasting menu and more expensive wines. Lunch was more reasonable with a pasta or salad dish at about €15.

Staff were very attentive - I was ill for a whole day with a fever and staff assisted my other half to get a doctor out, sent someone to collect medicine from the local pharmacy in Vico and I was asked by several members of staff the following day how I was feeling. The evening staff at the restauarant were attentive and very friendly and helpful - however as the restauarant was so quiet on some evenings (for example on the last night, Sunday, we went for dinner at 8.30 and were the only ones there for over 1/2 hour before another couple turned up) the staff to guest ratio meant that you sometimes felt a bit 'fussed' over......not a bad thing but maybe not for 7 nights in a row.

The one negative we had in respect of the restaurant was on our final night - after 6 nights of ordering from the same menu (which we were told we could have anything from) we had a €20 supplement for ordering a starter that had lobster in it. Both my partner and I had ordered this before on seperate nights without any supplement being charged, but as it was our last night we both thought it was the best starter so ordered it again only to be told AFTER the meal that there was suddenly this €20 supplement. We were all set to leave the restauarant staff a big tip but after this supplement, needless to say this was much reduced!!

Cocktail barman was very good, made an excellent mojito and made you feel like he really enjoyed making your drink to order and looking after his guests - drinks at the bar often came with nuts, olives, little cakes and sandwiches, etc. Cocktails were €10 each but worth it with the xtras and the setting down on the terrace by the sea.

Pool was fairly cold but warmed during the day (fed by thermal spring and a little bit salty) and sea is accessed by 3 ladders direct into med - rocks dropped off fairly quickly to 10-15ft depth ideal for snorkelling. Plenty of sunbeds but beware on Sat / Sun, the private beach is busy as local people who must pay for sunbed or have a season pass turn up en masse.

We took a private taxi tour of the Amalfi Coast one day, went to Sorrento for another and did Pompei / Vesuvius on another. Plenty more to see (Capri, Herculanium, other towns) for a return visit one day.

Overall a lovely little boutique hotel, lovely views from the room and restaurant and food / wine was of a very high quality. We were well looked after by the hotel staff (if not so much by kuoni) and loved this area of Italy. Not cheap, even when staying half board, but we expected this before we booked.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zambrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We booked this hotel via Kuoni for our honeymoon, paying £3,000 for flights from London, transfers, and 8 nights half board. There is no doubt that the hotel is in an amazing setting - right by the water, stunning sunset views, and about 20 minutes train ride from Sorrento. However we felt this was over-priced.

On arrival, the front desk staff were friendly, although there was no detailed information about the local area available, beyond a train timetable.

More generally, though, we felt that it was quite heavily over-priced - even considering the premium you have to pay for going somewhere like the Amalfi Coast region. The rooms, whilst nice, are quite small - I would definitely caution against a room without a terrace as this was the major selling point for both of us. Room service comes with a 10 euro surcharge per person whenever you use it, and a simple plate of chips at lunch time will set you back 8 euros.

As we were on half board we ate in the hotel every evening. However, the menu is somewhat limited, focused mainly on fish dishes. As a boutique restaurant the meals are also very much 'gourmet', both in style and size. The vegetarian options are limited (one main) as are the desserts. The restaurant staff (faultless in service and friendliness) try hard to accommodate requests for alternatives, but even these were somewhat limited (slight variations on similar pasta dishes). A glass of house red wine will set you back 12 euros, and a glass of prosecco 7 euros.

Note that while we were here there were weddings at the weekend. They weren't overly intrusive (although the music went on until midnight) but we would have preferred to know about it in advance. Also, members of the public can pay to use the pool area which can make it rather busy.

In retrospect, we think that £2,000 would have been a fairer price for what we got and would only recommend it at that price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

A little late in writing this review, but we stayed here as part of our honeymoon. This hotel is amazing - modern, clean, funky and in a great location. The views from the private balcony/terrace's were breathtaking and so romantic. The staff were welcoming and friendly and would do anything to help the customer. Food is expensive, but so fresh and delicious. The town has a great vibe with nightlife and restaurants not to be missed. The hotel would drive you into town and pick you up when ever we required it. We stayed here for 4 days then moved to another hotel which was disappointing to the point that we left there to return to spend our last night of our honeymoon here. The staff welcomed us back and helped us re-arrange our travel plans so we could enjoy our last day there. We would highly recommend this hotel for any romantic trip!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TO_traveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
1.2 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Property: Capo La Gala Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Serio 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing