We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heaven-by-the-sea"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Heaven-by-the-sea"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Capo La Gala has found the perfect formula for the modern coastal resort:
This hotel have an outstanding location on the amalfi coastline.The architecture is nicely adapted to its location with its breathtaking views, magnificent food and wine, and a helpful and professional staff making your stay rememberable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, with a perfect view to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    37
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
227
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

breathtaking views. Lovely rooms with large balconies over looking the sea. peaceful and romantic. The hotel is full of lovely little details, and the nautical design works really well throughout and the design blends in well with the surrounding environment. We were greeted on arrival with a glass of prosecco and a delicious spread of food if we wanted anything to eat. The food is just brilliant, breakfast, lunch to the amazing dinner, just superb. The staff are very helpful and attentive, the only slight complaint is we had the room with a whirl pool and were hoping it would be heated as we visited at the end of May when it was still a little cool. The large pool outside is also not heated and therefore a little nippy, but who needs a pool when you have the beautiful Amalfi Coast to dip into! I would say this is a great escape for couples, but probably not the best option for kids.The location is nice and quick to get to from Naples, and perfect base to explore from. We visited Capri & Positano during our 3 day stay. The near by town is a 20 minute walk or 5 minute car ride, it isn't the most beautiful town but is charming and doesn't feel too touristy. It also has some amazing restaurants from traditional pizza by the meter to Michelin stared restaurants. All round great little place!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HollyandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

CLG is not quite as good as casa Angelina / monastero Santa Rosa but has better rooms. Lovely and spacious with a nautical feel but the views from the balconies are phenomenal.

It has a lovely position on the rocks with a very interestingly designed complex. It also has a great shuttle bus service to take you to nearby towns for dinner which you need to use as the restaurant isn't 5stars, but is competent.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 964tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is located right on the water, sticking on the cliff wall. It is not too close to the Sorrento town but if your are to have a luxurious vacation with a beautiful Sorrento coast view, this is a great place.
You can swim in the ocean if you want but because of the landscape in this area, this hotel does note have a beach. Instead, they have a nice large deck with lounge chairs as well as a cute swimming pool.
They have aperitif on the deck every evening and serve Champagne and hors d'oeuvres while you enjoy the beautiful sunset.
I loved the hip decorations they have all over in the hotel. They were different and fun for the summer vacation!
Value wise, it seems that price is a bit too high for the size of the room but this entire peninsula is very high-end, so that's not only this hotel, I'm sure.
Unfortunately, I wasn't too impressed with their food. We had dinners at the hotel restaurant and most of dishes were very salty. We had to ask for a hot water to add for the soup, which was very embarrassing.
Overall, with the beautiful view, friendly services and feeling a touch of class ;)....
We enjoyed the stay in Capo La Gala so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseygirlat109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I went for 3 nights for a relaxing break without our children and what a time we had. We actually felt like we had a week and not just three nights! From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a glass of prosecco, to the moment we left, we had excellent service from all at the hotel. The Reception team were great, the guy at poolside, the breakfast team and the barman were exceptional (sorry, I'm rubbish with names!). The room on 3rd floor had amazing views of the sea, the food was consistently fantastic with of course some gorgeous wines and it was in a stunning location. Very easy to get into Vico Equense or Sorrento also. I can't recommend this highly enough to others. I've given it a 5* for everything but be prepared to pay over the odds for certain things but it is worth it. Thank you to all at Capo La Gala.....I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Spent a week here earlier this month and it's a fantastic hotel, right on the water. Staff are brilliant, and the rooms are very good, and the shuttle bus is a great idea. Unfortunately, there are two downsides, both connected with food! Breakfast is a disappointment, with the hot items usually cold, and just not good enough for a hotel of this standard. Whilst lunch on the water is really nice, the only option for dinner is Maxi, which has a Michelin star, although quite how I'm not sure! When we ate there the main items were not up to scratch, although the "special" items which mark Michelin restaurants were very good. I think the hotel should have another dinner option, and they should guide guests as to what is available nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wow - what a classy, lovely place is Capo La Gala. From the moment we arrived for our 2-night stay, we were made to feel special by the wonderful staff - treated to a warm welcome and fantastic service. We received a complimentary upgrade to our sea view room to include a small, private pool - which made our visit to be sure. To wake to the sun rising over the Gulf of Naples and go to sleep listening to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocky shore is just the essence of a restful, unforgettable vacation. The rooms are decorated in a nice, nautical theme and color scheme and are spotless - and the bed was luxuriously wrapped in Egyptian cotton linens. Bath amenities are by the luscious Carthusia. Dinner at the Michelin-starred Maxi's is everything you would expect and more, with truly fabulous food and peerless service to match. Breakfast on the same Gulf-facing terrace in the morning couldn't have been more generous, delicious or pleasant. Complimentary shuttle service to the nearby train station in town (for a relatively short rail trip to Pompeii) is available and very convenient. We cannot recommend this property highly enough, and will without question return. In a word - go!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brionnais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aequa Hotel
Aequa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Property: Capo La Gala Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Serio, 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 22 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing