We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Italian hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cubo Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cubo Apartments
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent 2 great weeks here in October. The apartment was huge and very well equipped. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a great view of Vesuvius and the bay of Napoli from the lounge and overlooked the town square from the bedroom.

Alfonso and Anna made us feel so welcome. Their hospitality was second to non. We were looked after very well by them and their lovely daughters. The food was good and always fresh. Breakfast was basic but all we needed. The coffee was great! There is a well stocked bar with all you need.

Vico is a nice little town too. Not touristy at all and feels very Italian. The apartments were 2 mins from the train station where it took 15 mins to get to Sorrento, which was great. A really good location and no cruise ships!!

It was my birthday while we were there and Anna made me a cake, which was wonderful and very unexpected! A really nice touch.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Other advisors mention the noisy road. This has now changed as they have replaced the cobbles with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lullabelle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
132
114
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited Cubo Apartments in September'13 for 6 days, five of which we spent in the stunning Europa apartment with a panoramic view of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.

We found the location very convenient to visit places like Pompeii, Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. Walking around Vico Equense was also a nice experience, the character of the place, the customs of its people and the beautiful views. Returning to Vico Equense and Cubo's facilities after visiting the more crowded areas like Sorrento or Capri was very soothing.

Everything in Cubo and Signum is modern / high-tech and has been done with quality in mind. The apartments were very comfortable and clean. The hospitality and service were exceptional. Alfonso and the team did everything to make our stay a very nice one. Overall, you get the sense of a professionally-run family business where they perfectly combine a family atmosphere with truly top service and facilities.

We highly recommend Cubo and Signum for a great holiday in the South of Italy. It is definitely in our list of places worth another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the 6 person Aurora Australe apartment between 24th December and 30 December 2013. This apartment has pleasant views over the town and part of the bay of Naples but, does not share the same spectacular views as the main building.

It is also necessary to walk a couple hundred yards in the morning for breakfast. However, our stylish apartment was very spacious, had a well equipped kitchen, TVs in every room and a good sized bathroom, lounge and separate dining area. The owners made it especially festive for us with a large, decorated Christmas Tree and sparkling lights on the balcony.

We have never meet owners better suited to the hospitality industry. They did so much to make our stay wonderful and relaxing. Stefania speaks very good english and was lovely and helpful. Alfonso (her father) also speaks a little english. He was warm and exceedingly generous with his time and attended to all our needs. Anna (her mother) is truly the most amazing cook!The food was delicious, generously portioned, inexpensive and beautifully presented. Even if you are staying somewhere other than the Cubo Apartments, you should dine here. Continental breakfast was also sumptuous with fresh croissants, fruits, cakes, juices, cereals and more.

The location is perfect for visiting Pompeii, Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. Vico Equense also has an old charming character and history worth exploring.

he trains and buses are inexpensive but if like us, you are travelling from Switzerland, then be prepared for the very poor condition of the public transport and the litter everywhere. Definitely avoid Naples itself. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments.

Room Tip: Limited privacy : Bed configurations are flexible however the sleeping "spaces" are likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Cubo apartments were more than we expected even after reading all the great reviews. Alfonso, Anna and family were there to greet our family of 2 Adults and 5 Children. They had arranged adjoining apartments with a common entrance which had great views over the bay. It was easy access to the Amalfi coast, Sorrento and Naples by car and also a short walk to railway. The food at the restaurant was the best we had during our 7 week Europe trip. They made our children feel welcome catering for their needs with beautiful homemade cakes. This part of our trip was a highlight for our family. We talk often about the generosity and hospitality of our hosts. We all cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malchenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 for a few nights with my husband and 2 year old son. What a wonderful place. The rooms are devine, with a fantastic view and nothing was too much trouble for our charming hosts. Alfonso, Francesca and Salvatore were welcoming and our son Isaac took a real shine to them too. We ate at the restaurant a few times, and it was a great base from which to explore Sorrento and Pompeii. The rooms were clean and tidy and had all the mod cons. The beds were very comfortable, and what a treat to wake up to such a beautiful view. We had dinner on the roof terrace one evening and watched the sunset, which was lovely, with our delicious food. My husband accidentally left his mobile phone behind and they were kind enough to send it to us in the UK. We can't wait to go back on a future holiday.

Room Tip: The 2 bed apartments are sea-side, but there is also a view of the sea from the 1 bed apartment, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, a couple with three children. This is a small, family-run hotel which is amazingly decorated. The apartment was clean and cozy, and every day was cleaned. The hotel owner, Alfonso, is a pleasant man, always willing to help and so the hotel staff. The hotel is located very close to the train station. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Each is apartment is different so probably you'll get apartment according to the number of membe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were at Cubo Apartments from Nov 21-Nov 26 on a surprise getaway with my wife. The weather was a bit chillier than the norm for November but it didn't matter - we enjoyed every minute. Summary - perfect. Perfect hospitality. Perfect accommodations.

Vico Equense is a central location for short trips to the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii (highly recommended) or Napoli (definitely not recommended). The hotel is an easy 5' walk to the Circumvesuviana station so you don't need a car.

We drove down from Roma and Waze navigated us to the back entrance of the hotel in a little alley but of course you can't park there so we backed up and a friendly local policeman directed us straight to the Cubo (suggestion to Alfonso - put a sign on the East side of the hotel for people coming from the top of the hill...). There was some road-work so our first impression was a bit shaky.

But - once we walked in - Alfonso, Anna, Rosa, Stefanna and Lucia and the rest of the staff greeted us with big smiles and made us simply feel like family. We stayed in Europa - which is a suite on the top floor with a stunning view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuivius from the kitchen + bedroom, living room and bath - all equipped with the best and latest equipment. The bed was really comfortable. Room service at your pace - you want you get, you don't want - no one is pushing you.

Collazione (breakfast) at the bar downstairs can be anything from a cafe to cafe+yoghurt and croissant, cereal and cakes. Lucia at the bar and Stefanna speak pretty good English so if your Italian is weak you can get by.

As other visitors mentioned - the hospitality of the entire family and staff was the best we have ever seen anywhere. Period.

One of the signs of a great hotel is how well they deal with problems - the shower door a little sticky - (I didn't even notice) - Alfonso fixed it right away. the plants on the terrace fell down after a stormy evening - no problem, Salvatore and Rosaria were up there in a flash to clean up. No problem. No bureaucracy.

I'll try and give some tips and cover ground other people may have missed - of course your mileage may vary and my opinions are my own

Tip #1 If you come with a car do use Waze but keep your eyes open the last 100 meters for the hotel sign when you first drive in - if you don't watch you can miss it.

Tip #2 Alfonso will give you a swipe card for the parking garage across the street and at 10 Euro/day it's a good deal.

Tip #3 If you want to cook for any reason at all it's not a problem. The kitchen is state of the art, you will find 2 fish stores, fruit and vegetable store and dry goods up the street - go left out of the lobby and immediately turn right and walk up the hill and turn right. The fresh fruit and vegetables and fish are an outstanding part of a trip to Southern Italy and Vico is no exception.

Tip #4 This is a special one for kosher travelers like ourselves. Bring a couple of basic utensils. You can kasher the rest of what you need and eat fresh food like royalty. You cannot eat the bread but the biscotti are made with palm oil and are kosher. The fish is great - pick out one with scales and tail - and have it cleaned on the spot. You can eat the dry pasta - for more information see the English web site from the Italian Chief Rabbinate for guidance. If you are staying over Shabat - bring a bottle of wine - you will not find kosher wine in Vico....

Tip #5 To walk down to the beach - walk down to the bottom floor (they have a little gaming room there with slot machines and such) and walk out the back towards the Castello.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Capo La Gala Hotel
Capo La Gala Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aequa Hotel
Aequa Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubo Apartments

Property: Cubo Apartments
Address: Via Filangieri 34/36, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CUBO apartments are composed of 5 self-catering independent units, each one is different from the other for articulation and lay out of interior spaces but have the same feeling for philosophy of hospitality: the warmth of Naples, the freshness of Mediterranean atmosphere, the best of international design a landscape setting of charm as that of the Gulf of Naples will add to your stay that exclusivity extra.The cube is all created for the care of the smallest detail: from the selection of high quality coatings to architectural details and furnishings custom-designed for living rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms, construction craft ports, up to the careful choice of furnishings.The apartments are all equipped with ultra-light technology with touch screen for control (direct and indirect hot and cold), blinds, radio, television with surround sound and Sky, air conditioning and all that is electronic, they are also independent in the production for hot water, thanks to solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cubo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubo Apartments Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing