We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful setting, surly personnel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sporting

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sporting
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, surly personnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent a week here as a base for exploring Naples area and Amalfi coast. Hotel is set on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a private beach and gorgeous view of Vesuvius and the bay. Desk is on 6th floor, at street level, guest rooms below. Very pretty hotel, but more a designer's idea of what a room should look like than one that functions well. Large room with comfortable beds but poorly laid out, with no storage space (one hook, no shelves) in the bathroom. Oversized "rainshower" shower head but not enough water pressure to make it useful...wire soap dish slanted so that the soap slipped right thru. Our room had no balcony, just a railing, so no place to hang wet towels, bathing suits. Separate elevator from 2nd floor to a rock tunnel that leads down to beach. Extra charge for use of beach chairs/umbrellas, which I would not expect for hotel guests. Dining room personnel purposefully wander away when you sit down for breakfast, so every morning was a game to wait for coffee, even tho there were very few guests. Desk personnel even worse. Upon check-in the desk clerk wouldn't even look up from the computer for 5 min. Even if he were engaged in something urgent, the right thing to do is say: I'll be with you shortly. Not a word. Same guy sat watching TV one night a few feet away while we waited at the desk for our room key. He was so sour that we dubbed him Signore Sunshine. Made no effort to interact with us until checkout, when all he wanted was for us to write a good review on TripAdvisor! If the hotel wants a good review, it needs to learn how to engage with guests courteously. Other 2 desk clerks and beach personnel were a bit more engaged but just barely. Hotel is about a 15 min walk from Circumvesuviana train station but beautiful view makes up for less-than-convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RgrGTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    65
    21
    15
    11
See reviews for
36
64
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Amazing views and good value of money

We stayed a week in hotel sporting. It was very clean and well maintained. The location is unique. From the balcony of my room I could see all the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The personal at reception is very polite and was in our disposal every time. They gave us all the information we need and helped us giving good advices to find excursions, boat trips, etc. The hotel is right in the centre of Vico Equense with many restaurants, cafes, and night life. It is two minutes drive from Marina di Vico were the boat trips start. It is near the bus station and five minutes walk from Circumvesuviana railway station. The pebble beach was very good and well maintained. The only problem was that the sun reached the beach after half past ten in the morning. The see was warm and mostly clear and clean.
The breakfast was good but till half past ten. Sometimes this is a problem for families with little kids. The beach restaurant was not so good, with not many possibilities to choose and the service was slow. The beach bar and the beach servive werw very good.
I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sporting as part of a tour last week, the view from the rooms was unbelievable, checkin was a breeze, rooms were clean, plenty of hot water...what more could you ask for!

A bar near the balconies would have been nice, in such a prime area, a nice place to sit on the patio and have a few drinks and watch the sun go down however you have to find a waiter for every drink order which can be hard when they are trying to serve a huge resteraunt full of people.

Great work guy's keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Only stayed here one night, as was overbooked at the Grand Hotel Moon Valley by our tour operator
Therefore made up our rooms (to twin) last minute
Maid very helpful, even tho, no English spoken (we were in Italy after all!!)
Lovely and clean, basic accomodation, but the beach was the best of all!
Private beach right on the beach, access via lift from hotel (Altho a bit difficult working how to get back into hotel, as door opening out only from hotel- securitiy reasons??)
Great local beach tho, full of local people.
Free wi-fi code obtained from guy on reception ,presume free for guests.
TV a bit of an antique, but who's in Italy to watch TV (OK yes did watch a bit of the music channels, and CNN!)
Also a short stroll into the town centre, great location,
would stay here again!!!
(can't comment on parking, as was on a coach trip)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hincheye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel Sporting is a perfectly situated to be a home base for exploring the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples and Pompeii. The hotel has spotless, bright rooms with spectacular water views, accommodating service and nice meals, and is a stone's throw from the train station from which you can easily get to Sorrento or Naples, where you can find transportation to Pompeii, Positano, Capri, Amalfi and the coast. You'll pay a fraction of a similar place in Sorrento, and it's every bit as convenient (and quieter).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

hi to everybody...I've been in this Hotel for a personal week end with my girlfriend...and well we were vesy satisfied..!
the room are nice and clean...and the all staff is very polite and gentle...the private beach is Amazing..just 1 minute away from my room door, and i was already there...
Clean...nice...nice like the restaurant on the beach...with very polite people...
superb terrace that offer me the beautifull view of all Naples in front and Seiano on the left side...
nice nice nice...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caoscerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The hotel can be a gold mine: nice location, private beach, spacious rooms. Unfortunately as it frequently happens in Italy, the owners do not understand what modern tourism is. The hotel is cold, nobody shows you anything. You are left on your own devices. What a loss for Italy, they have yet to understand what the hotel industry is.

I would recommend the owners to sell the hotel to an international chain and to retire, they would do well for Italy and for the Coast.

I would refurbish the rooms, all with an incredible sea view, literally. I would care about the private beach, cleaning it from plastics ten times per day. I would give character to this potentially fabulous property. Wake up, make it big.

Italy , has incredible potential but old hotel owners.

Stay here taking into consideration what I have said.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aequa Hotel
Aequa Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sporting

Property: Hotel Sporting
Address: Via Filangieri 127, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sporting 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sporting Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing