We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well deserved Michelin Star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa

Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa
Ranked #32 of 94 Restaurants in Vico Equense
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well deserved Michelin Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nomad Europe and we had the same experience..we ended up parking at the bottom of Via Bonea..when we finally found it...and then walked uphill for at least 10 minutes to finally reach the restaurant..also nearly an hour late. The GPS was very non specific. We could easily have driven there and parked beside the restaurant. But we did not give up!
Alora! All was well when did arrive..we were given the prime table in the small private wine alcove and were treated to a gastronomic feast. We both had the degustatione menu which includes all sorts of extras.amuse bouche..smoked linguini, excellent lamb..everything we ate was inventive and delicious. Staff were most gracious and helpful. Well deserved Michelin Star.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZooWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    50
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are in the Amalfi area, you cannot miss out a great dining experience at Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa in Vicco Equense. It is located in a beautiful old mansion which belongs to the family. The chef is a master chef!!!! His innovations are with a passion and a lot of love towards the right ingredients and freshness of the produce! He can come up with the most amazing vegetarian menu! If left to him, he serves the most creative menu! The entire family is involved and above all the matriarch of the family takes complete care to see everything runs in precision order!
It was a wonderful Gastronomic experience!. the special olive oils, and cheeses used in the preparation of the dishes is exotic! A MUST do when in that area! Cheers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Reserved at table at eight but arrived at restaurant at nine thirty. Problem for us non locals is that addresses should be exact if one is to be guided by GPS.

NOTE TO MANAGEMENT: Very important that address is given as Pietrapiano di Vico Equense and not just Vico Equense as it makes a difference and which explains why I arrived at restaurant one and a half hours late., though I'm glad that I did not give up in finding the restaurant.

Staff were gracious, attentive and efficient, food was superb and the wine (a Falanghina) could not have been better.

To add to the positive experience In between courses we were offered Chef specialities for which we were not charged.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One bright Michelin star: Oustanding food and wine. Don't be misled by the location or the interior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We came without reservation, were much too early for Italy, the only guests (an overdressed very young local couple came later) and half of the staff still in trainers. Yet, we were treated very nicely with greatest attention to our dietary preferences. This prompted us to leave the menu closed and trust the team by going for the surprise menu. What a treat! We had seven or eight courses, some of them surprising indeed, all of them exquisit. We will remember the red shrimp and octopus carpacio on lime risotto, the porcini pasta, the ligtly smoked veal ... Three excellent whites (delicious even for white wine lovers who have a selection of finest German Riesling and Weissburgunder at home) were skillfully selected and uncorked for us. drinking half of them added little to the very moderate bill (EUR 160). Memorable and highly recommended

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu is a Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Wonderful restaurant and a true gem in Vico Equense, near Sorrento, Italy. The chef is attentive and inventive! Delicious and original creations, you must experience the tasting menu as he conceives the meal to be best designed. One course outdoes the next and by the end, you feel like you have been guided by the chef on a unique culinary exploration of the best the region has to offer.
This was truly a memorable dinner and one that I will look forward to duplicating on my next visit to the area, hopefully soon! A "must do" on your itinerary!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank madaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Antica Osteria Nonna Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing