We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can look but you won't find better value for money than this”
Review of Le Ancore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Ancore Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We recently returned from our amazing honeymoon at Le ancore. I had previously spent hours trailing the internet for somewhere lovely to stay and hoped that this place lived up to all its reviews. Actually it exceeded them. The location was just what we wanted, quaint little harbour town instead of tourist trap like Sorrento, but easy access to everywhere we wanted to visit. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and SO clean! The photo's are great but still dont do it justice. We stopped in room 5 which was one of their larger rooms as its on the end. The views from the balcony are amazing, the little harbour down below and Mount Vesuvius & Naples accross the bay. Some days we just stayed in the room and this was no problem to the staff. Speaking of whom, they have the perfect balance of professionality & friendliness, speaking great English too. The breakfast was more than most continental breakfasts have had to offer me in the past - they had the usual pastry's & cereal but also cakes, meats & cheeses, fruit salad and more. We drove there and really struggled to find the place as Italy doesn't 'do' road signs, take sat nav if your driving. There's really no need to hire a car tho, the local bus runs frequently to town where there are plenty of coaches and trains available, also there's a boat stops in the harbour to take you to Capri. Locally there are a handful of restaurants, most of which were great that we tried. We did quite a lot of exploring & even visited some other hotels as we were there for a friends wedding and we just kept coming home each evening & remarking on how a great a find Le Ancore had been, our friends stopped at a 5 star place with views of Capri & we still thought our place was more perfect for us! Only one reservation and that is that the bed was a little on the hard side for us, but even that we got used to after a few nights. We've stopped in a lot of hotels and we really couldn't recommend this one enough! Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibali55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Le Ancore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 164 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

The place is amazing: very nice people and views, nice location (close to train station, between Vico and Sorrento), clean and good breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuval_Eck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The hotel was nicely done inside, the room was clean and air conditioned and had a balcony with a view over the water. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as were the owners Dana and Libero. The breakfast was well done and the coffee excellent.

We highly recommend Le Ancore as a choice of hotel in the area.

The location is really good if you want to be near the water, particularly if you want to swim, and there's some excellent choices for restaurants along the water (from expensive to cheap). If you want to be in the main town area of Vico Equense you'll have to walk or drive up the hill - this wasn't an issue for us but it may be for some.

This area is an easy drive to Sorrento to take the ferry across to Capri, and to Pompeii. Be prepared for the experience of Italian coastal road driving, which can be both exciting and challenging.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AreteGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel is fabulously redone. The rooms are comfy and clean. The lobby is a great place to hang out. The breakfast is one of the best. The hosts try very hard to please. But: I picked it because I thought it was close to the train station and easy to get to Sorrento and Pompeii. It was not next to the Vico Equense station and it took a while to find it. After asking at the traveler info, the hosts came and picked us up which was appreciated. But in the winter the bus from the hotel to the train station only runs once a day--at 8 a.m. so we had to walk up a very steep hill on the way out and back down the steep hill at night when returning. On the last day, a cab for a 3 minutes ride up the hilil with luggage to the station cost us 30 euros! Plus there was laundry service and we lost two articles of clothing.

There are some good restaurants near the hotel. I'm sure in the summer this place is hopping, but in the winter it's a bit isolated. I would have prefered staying in Sorrento. It didn't save me any time being closer to Pompeii, since I wasn't as close to the train station as I thought.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacaytaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The Le Ancore hotel was only recently renovated and offers tastefully decorated modern rooms, a beautiful lobby and overall welcoming athmosphere. Staff is very friendly and their wonderful breakfast buffet makes the start into your day just perfect.

Apart from the nice pictures on their website www.leancorehotel.com we booked the Le Ancore because of its location that allows day trips to Naples, Ischia, the Amalfi coast and Capri. - The boat to Capri actually leaves at a dock right in front of the hotel and the "Circumvesuviana" (train to Naples/ Pompeii/ Ercolano) can be reached by a little bus that stops next to the hotel. A couple of restaurants are only few steps away.

We had a wonderful stay at Le Ancore in Vico Equense and plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Last week we arrived at Le Ancore in Vico Equense. The hotel opened just a few months ago and looks very nice. Every room has a little balcony with amazing views over the sea and the Vesuvio. The hotel has free internet and Wifi.

The staff (Dana and Libero) is the best! Every morning they prepared a delicious breakfast, everything was fresh (fruit, juice etc) and homemade pastries. After a few days they got us our favourite bread just by paying attention to what we were eating. They were also very helpfull with arranging our trips. At one point we were about to miss the train, because the bus was not coming, and they took us to the station by scooter.

The location is good with the harbour right in front of you. The boat takes you to sorrento, napoli, amalfi coast, etc. Also the train is easily reached, so pompeii, herculaneum etc is also within easy reach. Near the hotel there are several restaurants (including a 2 michelin star reastaurant). The little city of Vico Equense is about a 15 minute walk up the stairs(!). The centre is nice with some shops, bars and restaurants. The best is Gabriele where you can get the best ice-cream and dolci!!

The beach is just a few steps away from the hotel. In september the beach was quiet, but there were still some bars open where we could get drinks and snacks.

Only minor detail: the mattresses were quite hard.

We had a great week. Dana and Libero thank you for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bego55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.7 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#4 of 20 in Vico Equense
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#12 of 20 in Vico Equense
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ancore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ancore Hotel

Address: Via Marina d'Aequa 39, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#9 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range: $115 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ancore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Ancore is a hotel by the sea, located in Vico Equense, a little town on Sorrento Coast. The hotel offers room and family suite with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Ancore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ancore Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing