We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hosts!”
Review of Villa Ketty Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Ketty Resort
Ranked #1 of 43 Vico Equense B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Mario, Ketty, Denise, Silvia, and Antonio provided our family with a truly unforgettable experience in Vico Equense. Where to start? Their willingness to drive us up and down to town at all hours (thank you for the early morning departure ride!), the delicious breakfasts, the ceramics class with Silvia, the evening limoncellos ... and best of all, the gracious conversation sprinkled with laughter, smiles, and genuine kindness.

The views are spectacular, the pool is a terrific oasis, and the location is so convenient for visiting the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Capri, and Sorrento. Vico Equense itself was an unexpected delight; we enjoyed Mario's driving tour of the town. Dinner at Pizza a Metro was tasty and plentiful, and Mario ensured we were treated like royalty.

We are so grateful for the 3 nights we spent at Villa Ketty and for the hospitality we experienced. Thank you, friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 466 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

First off don't try and drive to the hotel - we found two couples in our stay getting as far as the church and we turned them round. Park at the Pizza al Metro ( it's free) and go inside and ask them to call Villa Ketty. It's a very interesting drive and only for small car/bus as the road is very narrow and has two sharp corners.
The hotel has about 10 rooms and you are made to feel very welcome by the family members
The view is spectacular, the pool hardly frequented and felt like our own on the days we rested and the breakfast is a picture with lots of fresh and own grown food.

We often walked into town for dinner or to take the train but took the lift back and it worked very well
Try the Pizza al Metro for a meal - the business is fascinating with up to 3000 people served in a day and you can see the one metre pizzas being prepared. We preferred their other food however.

Vico itself has not got a lot going for it but is central for Sorrento,Pompei, Amalfi coast and Vesuvius. You do not really need a car for most of the trips. We used it twice in ten days for the Amalfi Coast ( be sure to visit Ravello) and Vesuvius (but hard to find the right road up)

Antonio offered a boat trip to Capri - expensive at 75 Euros each but only 12 to the boat and a wonderful experience with drinks and some food included and a super tour around the coast of Capri plus 3-4 hours on land

We can really recommend the hotel and would return there without a thought if we visit the region again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for a week and it was fantastic. Firstly the location was ideal for getting to visit historic and romantic sites and very close to all forms of public transport. Also it is situated in an area that is not too touristic so you can get a real experience of Italian life. For example, the locals will happily exchange greetings when you say Buon giorno. We were really grateful to Mario and Sylvia for the lifts to and from the town (but the walk is also really nice). The villa was very peaceful and there is plenty of space for relaxing privately. The views are stunning and we recommend taking time out to visit and wander around in Vico. The cleanliness of the rooms were faultless and had everything we needed (daily house keeping, t.v., fridge, drinking water etc..) There is lots of history in the town and you can also visit the free museum to learn more. Ketty is wonderful and always making sure that your stay is perfect. The food at breakfast is AMAZING!! Antonio has a real passion for good food and you will not be disappointed or left hungry. Denise makes awesome cappuccino's btw. There is no problem with communicating as Antonio and Ketty speak very good English but do try some basic Italian phrases too. You can try some painting of pottery with Sylvia and take it home if you wish, which is fantastic and then take a trip to Pizza a Metro to help cook a pizza in Mario's kitchen!. We have lots of happy memories of the place and we didn't want to leave. Mario's home made Limoncello is divine and he and his family have great passion in what they do. There is no denying the proof of the place when you can see so many excellent reviews. JUST GO HERE!! (Antonio don't forget to call us when you come to London). We hope to see you soon. Pete and Sarah

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bamblemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here as a family, in June this year and were not disappointed. There are so many best things about it! First and foremost is the friendly family who are the most lovely hosts. Thanks so much - helped make our visit to Italy one we will never forget. They could not do more for you. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing....we had none better during our 3 week trip in Italy, fresh and with local produce. Once again thank you. The views are amazing and the property is just lovely - you get a very Mediterranean feel from it. Rooms were nice and large and very clean. And Mario's limoncello is the best...yummmmm!! And the drive to get to the Villa will remain with us forever....those twisty narrow streets that we in New Zealand would call footpaths requiring many point turns and reversing to get around. Even though we had hired small car, we are very glad we parked our car in their car park and got a lift! LOL. I get the feeling this family really love what they do, really love talking to people and helping people and welcoming people to their part of Italy and what a great introduction to Italian family and culture. Many thanks Villa Ketty! We are sorry we did not review earlier, but after spending 3 weeks in Italy in June/July we moved countries from China back to New Zealand and have only just found enough time now to find and dig out my notes from our big Italian adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZFamilyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The loving family who owns this villa are professional, but more importantly they make you feel as though you are part of their family. My wife and I stayed here with our two kids and my 80 year old father. They treated us like royalty! The grounds are beautiful with fruit trees everywhere and the views are simply breathtaking! Antonio and his family will make sure you have whatever you need to make your stay absolutely perfect. His hospitality goes beyond anywhere we have ever stayed. We spent nearly 3 weeks in Italy. Villa Ketty was indeed the highlight of the trip. I recently sent some friends there and they too were impressed beyond words. If you plan to visit the Amalfi Coast, this place is a MUST!!! Antonio, keep up the great work! I will never forget the bottle of wine you gave us to enjoy on your beautiful patio!!! My wife & I plan to come back for a longer visit....maybe without our children next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAWK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been there only 2 nights ,but this family got inside our hearts
The place is just Amazing , such a lovely and warm family , doing everything they can to make your time there one big pleasure
The place is magical and so romantic , we just didn't want to leave there.
We did 2 hours working in their gallery painting on ceramics they gave us and we were patiently guided by ketty's daughter for 2 hours
It was fun , relaxing and good experience for us.( recommended )
You cannot reach with your car to the villa , but this only make he place more special anyhow , the family takes you back
And forth when ever we needed
Bottom line , great place to stay !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galYcarmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've waited for a couple of weeks to write about Villa Ketty. I wanted to find the best words and give true justice to the place and its amazing owners. But it's still not easy to come up with an accurate and convincing description of this small luxurious place on the edge of the Amalfi Coast, in short - it is truly the best!
We arrived really late at night to the small town of Vico Equense. The town has its own charms enjoyed by locals more then tourists. We parked at the Pizza by a Meter underground garage (as instructed in the email). Mario (the owner) was there to pick us up. He drives an old 60s "Beatles" minivan as it is one of the rare vehicles that can make it to the hotel located on the top of a cliff above Mediterranean sea. The streets are narrow and curvy and the drive reminded us of a "rush hour" game requiring strategic decision making about backing up and turning around. :)
Owners: The place is owned and run (hands-on) by one family and is named after its matriarch - beautiful Signora Ketty. Her husband (Mario), two daughters and son-in-law are in the villa every day: driving the guests, preparing and serving the unbelievably fresh and homey breakfast, greeting and making their guests stay as comfortable and worry-free as possible, running pottery classes for kids and sharing home-made (by Ketty) limoncello and samba.
Rooms: Family rooms are facing the sea with no direct view from windows but a huge terrace in front. There is also a main road right below but the noise subsides around mid-night and almost unnoticeable once inside. These rooms have beds on two floors, very spacious, very clean. Other rooms are located on the higher floor and are more isolated.
Beds and pillows: on the harder side (personal preference).
Bathroom: very clean, on a smaller side, narrow, with not enough space for toiletries (very minor inconvenience that can be easily solved with some additional hangers and stands).
Breakfast: amazing! Everyone here already accurately described it. It was the best in Italy (we stayed at the 5 start Rome and Venice hotels). It is fresh (fruits are from the orchard), cheeses and meats are from local farmers, juices and various fruit preserves are just made.
Location: previous reviewers have accurately described location - view of the Vesuvius, the sea, the harbor and a castle. Fruit orchards surrounding the villa. We had a fig tree right outside our room - ate the best ripest figs ever. It is a bit off-the-beaten-path but close to everything: we visited Capri (ferry from Sorrento - 20 min), drove along the coast to Positano (30 min), went to Pompeii (30 min). It is isolated from touristy places but has as much beauty and authentic charm as any other "famous" town along the coast. It is about 10-15 minutes from the main autostrada (A3 from Rome to SS145).
Hospitality: model for all other hoteliers - the owners put their heart into this place and it clearly shows.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: End unit on the lower floor might be the biggest but is closer to the cliff with the main road under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovePlanAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.6 mi away
Capo La Gala Hotel
Capo La Gala Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#4 of 20 in Vico Equense
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ketty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ketty Resort

Address: Via Comunale Scraio, 10, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vico Equense
Price Range: $144 - $1,160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ketty Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Villa Ketty, we receive our guests into a warm and welcoming environment. The furnishings in the halls inside the villa, as well as in the outdoor spaces, demonstrate the extent to which the owners wish to merge tradition and innovation. That’s why you’ll find, in the lounges and bedrooms, classical fittings and fixtures alongside the most modern, essential, clean-cut finishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Ketty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ketty Resort Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing