We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent base for Sorrento Peninsula” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aequa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aequa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Sorrento Peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent location with a terrace that overlooks the bay and 5 minute walk from the railway station, (2 euro return to Sorrento), (1.40 euro single to Pompeii - entrance almost opposite). Trains every 15, 20, 30 minutes according to time of day. Try to avoid travelling on the train before 9.00am due to commuters and students packing the carriages - but otherwise comfortable). Vico Equense is a small town with all one needs for a base e.g. pharmacy opposite, bars in the square, mini supermarket. Hotel rooms all have safes and hair dryers. Hotel staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Unlimited free wifi available in the ground floor reception area with enough comfortable space to use it. Décor of the hotel is somewhat unique and dated but it works there. Breakfasts are good but the evening meals whilst adequate are pretty plain and basic except on the Friday night we were there, when there was a special Sorrento evening when the standard went up a couple of notches. We met quite a few tourists staying in Naples who were very uneasy about leaving their hotels because they felt threatened). Tip: the Campania artecard has various useful packages e.g. 34 euros to visit 5 chosen sites free and a discount of 50% on any others over a 7 day period. Although senior citizens are free subject to proof of age (passport). Overall because the many positives sufficiently outweigh the 'dining' we would certainly to stay again if we were looking for a comfortable and safe base.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    135
    39
    18
    11
See reviews for
142
154
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have a room with a view! We face the pool and Naples. Had a big surprise the first night we stay there, midnight there was fireworks around 59 feet overlooking our balcony, would have enjoyed it more if we were not jet lagged. The staff is very friendly, and the breakfast had a great selection of food from North American bacon and scramble eggs to authentic Italian cuisine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I spent my Easter holiday here while visiting close friends, total of 4 nights. The views from this hotel are absolutely breathtaking! Other than the pool, I used all services on the property, too cold for swimming unfortunately. The hotel is immaculately clean and all of the staff are extremely helpful and kind. I highly recommend this hotel and Vico Equense. Although the town is rather quite compared to the surrounding area it is absolutely charming and you will fall in love with it’s local flavors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to admit that I loved sitting on the huge terrace with a view to the sea, drinking good coffee from the hotel. The terrace is fabulous: postcard view, beautiful breeze, spacious area. The pool is quite large with pretty gardens surrounding it. The town of Vico Equense is halfway between Pompeii and Sorrento. We rented a car and was happy to find out that the hotel did not charge for parking. The driving along the coast is not for sissies, but it can be fun, too. The hotel is in the middle of the town and near restaurants and the main piazza. The train station is nearby and acts as a subway to Sorrento or Pompeii. The hotel itself has seen better days: the walls need painting, the carpets need to be replaced, and the paintings on the walls of our room looked like they were taken from a student dorm. But that view from the balcony made it for it all. The breakfast was okay. We had dinner in the dining room on our first night and I found it disappointing compared to fabulous meals I had had elsewhere on the trip for the same amount of money. The reception staff were very helpful and kind, as were the waiters in the hotel restaurant. When we first went to our room, there was a lot of mold around the bathtub, which was off-putting. I mentioned it to the front desk and it was cleaned by the next day.

Room Tip: The photo shown for the hotel on Trip Advisor cannot be of the Aequa Hotel from what I can deduce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in Aequa Hotel with my boyfriend for a long weekend to visit the Amalfi coast, Pompei and Napels. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! It is a great place to stay because the staff is really kind and helpful, the hotel is located beautifully (from our room we had a magnificent view of the bay of Naples and the Vesuvio) and it is easy to go around, because the hotel is very close to the station (only 5 min. walk) from where you can take the train to go to Napels (40 min) or Sorrento (10 min). There is also a beautiful terrace and a swimming pool. The rooms were nice with very comfortable beds and a big bath room. Another thing I really liked was that the village (Vico Equense) is not as big as the other places nearby. It is a calm place, but there are nevertheless some nice cafés, restaurants and a very good gelateria (Gabriele), which has been nominated one of the best gelaterias of Italy. We went there every night to have an icecream! So, to sum it all up: I had a great time and I would love to go back there some time soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of five in this charming hotel. It is well located in the town centre. The hotel is within a short walk of the lovely town square - great for a coffee in the morning or a drink in the evening. There is a large pool in the hotel, it is clean and very relaxing. As others have said the train nearby is great for visiting Sorrento, Pompeii etc. One of the hotel's biggest assets is the staff. They could not do enough to enhance our stay, organised a trip to Capri, advised us on trips to the nearby beaches. The rooms are clean, ours had a wonderful view of the bay of Naples & Vesuvius.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jfm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel and Vico Equense. After a horrendous day of flight cancellations and delays while travelling from London via Rome via Naples, Aequa staff saved the day & my mood. Eventually arriving at the hotel at 10:30, The waiters had set up a table in the dining hall for myself and boyfriend with dinner, cake, bread, wine & water. The staff are so polite, friendly, helpful and thoughtful. They really go above and beyond to remember guests personally and their preferences. They take a lot pride working in the hotel. Daily cleaned rooms to a high standard. The views from our balcony and the terraces are just surreal. I love the rustic italian charm they have kept with the hotel. Great pool! The food was great and lots of it which suits me nicely! Our waitor Mimo was brilliant! Always ask his recommendation of the wine and food! Both waitors were attentive and fast even while having to serve a large coach party at the same time. Right beside buses and trains to Naples & all the tourist sites! Walking distance from the beach, shops, bars, resturaunts. Vico Equense is the kind of place i've always wanted to holiday. Small town with Real italian life and charm but the locals are still so appreciative and inviting of foreign visitors. You don't feel like a tourist. The town has a tasteful and enjoyful liveliness to it but also has that calming relaxing feel. Hopefully this place will never change! Cant wait to go back!! Thank you Giacomo, Mimo & all the staff for making it a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StruthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Barbara
Hotel Torre Barbara
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aequa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aequa Hotel

Property: Aequa Hotel
Address: Via Filangieri 46/48, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aequa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aequa Hotel in Vico Equense (Naples) is situated in the enchanting bay of Naples, the very heart of one of the most attractive areas of Italy. There are 60 rooms and 4 family rooms all with air-conditioning, telephones and TVs. Rooms have views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and the islands of Procida and Ischia, so guests can take full advantage of the stunning location throughout their stay. There is a range of public and private beaches only 5 minutes walk away and the hotel's garden and pool provide a relaxing alternative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aequa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aequa Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing