We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood in Viareggio”
Review of Buonamico

Buonamico
Ranked #39 of 470 Restaurants in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $65
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Viareggio”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not on the main strip and frequented more by locals than tourists was already a good sign.
We put ourselves in the hands of the waiter who took us through a fantastic dinner.
We started with a selection of seafood antipasti followed by 3 small taster portions of seafood pasta and then enjoyed a superb baked sea bass.
A fantastic restaurant and great value.
It's worth visiting just to taste the seafood carbonara, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    182
    58
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stumbled across this place by accident. Sat on the road outside but were not disturbed by passing traffic. Friendly, helpful and efficient service. Food was very good, the seafood fresh. Bottle of house wine was nice and we were only charged €9 for that. Overall a pleasant evening. Cost was €50/head for 3 courses with wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best risotto”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to this tratorria in rush houre. The staff was very kind and found table for us. We ordered risotto frutti di mare. It was the best risotto we have ever had. Vino della cassa was good as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous food from A to Z”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great Italian food, impeccable from antipasti to dessert. Try the antipasti definitely. We had a great Italian style gaspacho with squid on top, so tasty and fresh, fried shrimp croquettes excellent as well, stuffed mussels with a great tomato sauce, and a wonderful sea bass cooked to the perfection in the oven served with potatoes, great local olives, and tomatoes. Desserts were awesome too, especially the warn apple tart served with a Fior di Latte ice cream. Not to mention an excellent Italian espresso for those coffee lovers.
The olive oil of the house is also a very good oil, selected by the house.
Nothing to say, we had a great culinary experience.
Here the habit is to ask for what's on the menu orally, just rely on the chef, prices are very reasonable, and enjoy! You won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Great restaurant, the waiter began with 'what would you like to eat'? When we looked confused he sighed and returned with a menu. We noticed that many Italians simply ordered through a general discussion 'some of this perhaps a little of that'. Be aware that this place gets very busy and you have to book in advance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSM186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buonamico also viewed

Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Buonamico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing