We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem og a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lupori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lupori
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
york
2 reviews
“Little gem og a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

This little gem of a hotel was immaculatley smart and clean, staff couldn't do enough for us. Ask for breakfast in the bar. had a superb stay at this hotel. I would highly recommend it
Anne & Chris from York

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
27
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 7 nights stay at the family run Hotel Lupori in the middle of the old town in Viareggio. The hotel is ideally situated both for the train station, beach and promenade - all are within a 400 metre stroll through the atmospheric streets. It is surrounded by lots of different little shops, trattorias, cafe-bars, designer boutiques.......The canal which leads down to the harbour and to the pier is only a short distance away. For a few euros you can catch a train to Lucca and be there in only 20 minutes. Florence is also a very accessible train ride from Viareggio. Mr Lupori and his daughter both speak good english and are charming hosts. The hotel bedrooms , indeed the entire establishment, is spotless. The bed linen is changed frequently and the white fluffy bathroom towels are replaced daily. Striped beach towels are also provided. The continental breakfast was a meal in itself - fresh coffee, rolls, croissants, jams, fruit, ham,cheese,fruit juice,cereals, yoghurts, mini pizza slices etc!! Mr Lupori was also a willing source of information about places to visit ,transport times, good local restaurants and so on. We both enjoyed the whole genuine Italian experience and cannot wait to return the the Hotel Lupori and to the charming seaside town of Vareggio. Even in late September the weather was dry and warm.

Peter from Glasgow

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

The hotel staff are very warm, friendly, and helpful. Didn't realise this was a 2 star hotel. Thought it was actually a 3 star hotel. The room we got put in (room 1 on the first floor) was clean, spacious, and had a little fridge. The bathroom was also very big. We did not have any views from the first floor, so if possible, perhaps ask for a room with a view. As with most hotel beds in Europe, it was two singles pushed together, so I felt like I was falling down the crack when sleeping next to my partner. There are also sensor lights and so it was very hard to open the door to our room as the lights went out in about 10 seconds. Otherwise it was a nice pleasant stay and the location was fine. We were able to leave our bags in their garage until we left Viareggio later that day. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the train station.

  • Liked — the family owned hotel (they were friendly), the big spacious room
  • Disliked — the two single beds stuck together to make a double bed, the light which keeps going out when you are trying to enter your room!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Wouldn't normally feel inclined to write my views on a website but often refer to Trip Advisor when looking for hotels. We visit Viareggio quite often and have stayed at the Palace and Hotel Villa Tina in previous years, both of which were enjoyable if a bit pricey. Decided to cut costs this year and look for a **. Settled for the Lupori. Located in the backstreets, the Lupori is simple but fulfilled all our requirements. Despite it being a late booking, we emailed to ask if we could have a balcony and they replied immediately with a yes. We were put on the third floor and had our own terrace. wonderful. The view wasn't over the sea but that didn't matter to us as we were on the beach most days anyway. The room had air/con and a fridge so we could buy cheese, bread and meats from the lovely local shops and enjoy an evening meal with a bottle of wine. Delightful. The best thing
about the hotel apart from its cleanliness and friendliness, was it's location (strangely enough). Despite various previous visits to Viareggio, the location meant we discovered new and exciting local shops, restaurants and a super market - all less than 10 minutes from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station for day trips to Pisa, Rome etc and the fishing port and park are both close by. On leaving, they kindly booked us a taxi and gave us a bottle of wine as a leaving gift. Whilst there is no food/meals included (breakfast costs extra) there is a lovely friendly cafe bar opposite that does delicious capuccinos and brioches and there are plenty of restaurants all around. Totally delightful, wonderfully friendly, we would not hesitate to return to the Lupori.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rickyboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

The Lupori is a great little hotel. The location is ideal. Close to Railway and Bus stations. 5 minute walk to the sea front - just far away enough from hustle and bustle to be quiet yet convenient. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The staff are warm, friendly and very helpful. Having a room that opened onto the terrace was a great bonus. The terrace is such a generous size it feels like your own private garden and is lovely for sitting out in the evening. Lots of local supermarkets and coffee bars nearby.
Although we checked out at 11 am and our flight was not till 7pm the owner stored our bags and let us use the terrace and lounges while we waited. He made a point of calling up to say goodbye beforer he went off duty. He even went to the trouble bringing us chilled water ( Temperature in the 90's).
Such little considerations go a long way. I can highly recommend the Lupori over some of it's priceier neighbours.

Helpful?
8 Thank gregmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

From the time I arrived at the hotel reception the service was of good quality. Staff were always attentive and genuine, but never over
fussy.

The Boss is a nice guy and you can always have a chat with him, moreover was just out of this world and ensured a very special stay would always remain with me. The room on the top floor was good quality with balcony from where you can even see the mountain, that's
what it make a quality stay.

Room is properly clean every day and eveything is treat with excellent attitude.

The Location is enough near to sea and you are exactly in center town, from there you can go to have an aperitivo and a walk in the pinewood. What can i say, if you go to Viareggio that's the place to go.

  • Liked — everything is so cute
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vjalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2006

Wonderful terrace with great views out over the mountains.
Very friendly and clean. Helpful staff

  • Liked — room on terrace
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank andre106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marchionni
Hotel Marchionni
#22 of 53 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#20 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#28 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spinelli
Hotel Spinelli
#23 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ely Hotel
Ely Hotel
#15 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Tina
Hotel Villa Tina
#18 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lupori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lupori

Property: Hotel Lupori
Address: Via Luigi Galvani 9/11, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lupori 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small cosy hotel with garage in town' heart, run by Lupori family from 45 years along.Five minutes walking from ocean and station and numerous typical sea food restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lupori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupori Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing