We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a pleasant hotel, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bahia

Hotel Bahia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bahia
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite a pleasant hotel, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews here (and because of late booking, our first choices weren't available). I would agree with a lot of what people said here, but I am surprised how few reviews mentioned the noise. The hotel is right next to the busy coast road and even with windows and shutters closed at night, we could hear the cars, motorcycles and especially scooters very clearly. The floors and stairs in the hotel are marble and very echoey, so once anyone gets up or staff arrive, it is impossible for a light sleeper to stay asleep. Prices are very reasonable considering the location and the beach is free for hotel guests (not always the case with Viareggio Hotels). Breakfast was pretty dire, but seems to be the standard fare in Italy. The bathroom was small and the shower didn't have great pressure. The family that own the hotel are friendly and helpful. We booked a 3 night stay with an option for a fourth day, but had to leave after one day for unforeseen reasons, and were only charged for the one night, which was very decent of them. One more slightly disappointing fact: we left some expensive underwear in a drawer in one of the wardrobes and despite returning the next morning to the hotel it had mysteriously "disappeared". I asked them to let me see the room to check (since it was unoccupied) and they told the cleaner to take me up, which she did very ungraciously, muttering in Italian the whole way, to find the drawer empty.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We ( a group of 9 ranging in age from 14 - 70+) spent 4 days in August at the Hotel Bahia.
We enjoyed a warm welcome, great food and many laughs, not least when it came to placing our dinner orders over breakfast.
The hotel benefits from a tie up with the beach across the road, - be warned stick to your designated chair or expect the wrath of the beach 'man' !

The hotel is fairly basic, no frills and no fuss and yet we would all recommend it for its warmth and good food

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplefoxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

Spent two nights here during the October half-term with my husband and teenage son. Great location, comfortable and clean and really friendly people.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyaNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

Everything about the hotel was perfect. The rooms are average size, comfortable and clean. I never felt hot in my room and was able to control the air conditioning from my room. The staff of the hotel is the high light! Giulio and his mother, Nila, are the friendliest bunch...and funny as well! The most amazing part is their cooking- they are a dynamic duo in the kitchen. Everyday at lunch was a feast! Besides a buffet of goodies (veggies, fish trays, foccacia) to fill your plate, you also get a "primo" (e.g. pasta) and "secondo" (e.g. fish or meat). Then, to top it all off, a new dessert everyday! I never left hungry or unsatisfied. Breakfast is a great spread as well. The latte's are divine! THe hotel is located centrally in the middle of the "passeggiata" and along the water front. If you want a relaxing beach holiday with amazing food and comfort, there is no other option. I already booked the hotel for my honeymoon.

  • Liked — The staff, food, and beach access!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambinaviareggina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

We didn't have reservations and we stumbled across this little gem of a hotel. Great view and location. Very clean rooms with excellent and friendly service. Good price also. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaBarbaraFunbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for just one night, to spend one of the last days of our holiday relaxing at the beach.

We found the Hotel Bahia without any problems as it is on the main road that runs along the sea front. You can park your car on the road although I think there are restrictions on a particular day.

The hotel was clean and bright. We were disappointed not to get the sea view we requested, but had booked at relatively short notice.

The room and bathroom were on the small side (especially the bathroom) but had air conditioning and all expected amenities.

The hotel was as close to the beach as possible, however, there is a traffic restricted area with an alleged 3km of shops next to the actual beach. The beach is split into "Bagno"s and the hotel provides free sun loungers and access at an establishment across the road.

The receptionist/owner was very friendly but his English was rather basic, although we didn't have too much trouble. The breakfast was very nice and had a wide selection.

Be warned that there isn't much else in Viareggio except the beach and the shops on the sea front. We found very little to do after checking in because it was raining. Try not to visit Viareggio if rain is forecast.

The hotel was pretty average but pleasant and no real complaints.

  • Liked — The free beach access
  • Disliked — Two flights of stairs and no lift
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advanced and demand a sea view
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MissClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#24 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#16 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambra
Hotel Ambra
#21 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ely Hotel
Ely Hotel
#15 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pardini
Hotel Pardini
#17 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia

Property: Hotel Bahia
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 53, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing