We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
skipton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel Tirrenia is a lovely hotel near the sea front. It is clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was very well appointed and modern. The breakfast was second to none. I love fresh fruit and there was plenty of lovely prepared fruit and also hot food. The coffee was also lovely. We would stay at the Tirrenia again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    108
    21
    0
    2
See reviews for
72
220
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good:
* Good location not too far from beach
* Good breakfast with nice selection of pastries
* Free wifi
* Friendly staff
* Nice modern bathrooms
* Not too expensive

The bad:
* I think the rooms are a bit underwhelming. They look like they've had a recent refurbishment and they are decent and perfectly serviceable, but nothing special. I suppose my expectations were a bit higher.

Overall:
I think this is a nice small hotel, and certainly offers good value. My biggest concern was that I thought the bedroom could be a bit nicer, but then the rooms aren't that big so there's probably only so much the owner can do. Basically I think the staff make this a very nice place to stay since they are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed just one night in this hotel as the hotel was closing for winter. As everyonelse writes this is a well- run hotel, very clean, close to the beach.We got a nice room with balcony , a very good breakfast next morning, friendly service, all for a moderate price.Above all the care one recieves here is the greatest. Lucca's mother even arranged a good hotel for us in the town for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel in a side street close to the sea. Our room was small with comfortable bed. The bathroom is very small but cleverly designed so adequate. Breakfast was very good offering chopped fruit croissants a selection of meats and cheeses and cooked. We stayed in four different hotels whilst touring Italy some five stars.This hotel stands out the best of them all for being the friendliest All their staff were friendly and polite. This hotel is very good value.
Viareggio is a very nice town with lots atmosphere during the day and evening time. Shops are open until late. It was lovely to see Italian families walk along the sea front in the evenings with young children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A wonderdful small hotel situated in a silent street but at the same time close to the beach and the restaurants. The breakfast is rich and delicious. The room is nice, only the bathroom is a little bit small. We had a balcony with a nice view. Tha staff is polite and helpful.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great family hotel. Firstly we were greeted at the front desk by the friendly owner who helped us with advice in parking our car, he spoke perfect English as we are Australian. Our room was immaculate, with a comfortable bed, a good size refridgerator and a balcony. The WiFi worked perfectly in the lobby area but not so good in the room. A great coffee is made and a cold beer is served in the lovely inside/outside alfresco lounge. The decore was tastefully executed in the rooms with the alfresco area a little more funky. Breakfast is typically Italian style which was absolutely perfect and very tasty served on beautiful crockery with lovely cutlery and designer accessories Again a great coffee is served at breakfast. Close walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and beaches. Without question we would return to this terrific family hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room that is not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTJ327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a fantastic week we spent in Viareggio, made special by a great hotel and the staff. It is a small family run hotel and the manager Lucca is extremely helpful. The breakfast is superb, everything from cereal, fresh fruit, cheese and cold meats, scrambled egg and cooked ham, etc. brilliant. Check out their website, I found a couple of places to visit I knew nothing about, Pietrasanta (less than 15mins by train) and Cinque Terre (1hr 20min by train) both were fantastic, Lucca (the manager) was very helpful. As we had a late flight we were able to store our luggage and as there additional guest toilets on the 1st and 3rd floors complete with showers, he gave us towels to freshen up before departing for the airport. Thank you.
I cannot speak too highly of the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faldereee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#7 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#11 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Property: Hotel Tirrenia
Address: Via San Martino 23, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Viareggio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#4 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers B&B service, all bedrooms are air-conditioned, insulating windows, use of fridge, direct dialing telephone with Internet WI-FI connection, TV Sat with LCD screen, safety box, and some of them have the balcony with seaview. The structure it is also provided of lift, bar, small garden, free of charge internet point, lounges with wireless connection, private rented garage nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing