We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Greatest care....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Greatest care....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed just one night in this hotel as the hotel was closing for winter. As everyonelse writes this is a well- run hotel, very clean, close to the beach.We got a nice room with balcony , a very good breakfast next morning, friendly service, all for a moderate price.Above all the care one recieves here is the greatest. Lucca's mother even arranged a good hotel for us in the town for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    115
    22
    0
    2
See reviews for
74
234
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel in a side street close to the sea. Our room was small with comfortable bed. The bathroom is very small but cleverly designed so adequate. Breakfast was very good offering chopped fruit croissants a selection of meats and cheeses and cooked. We stayed in four different hotels whilst touring Italy some five stars.This hotel stands out the best of them all for being the friendliest All their staff were friendly and polite. This hotel is very good value.
Viareggio is a very nice town with lots atmosphere during the day and evening time. Shops are open until late. It was lovely to see Italian families walk along the sea front in the evenings with young children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A wonderdful small hotel situated in a silent street but at the same time close to the beach and the restaurants. The breakfast is rich and delicious. The room is nice, only the bathroom is a little bit small. We had a balcony with a nice view. Tha staff is polite and helpful.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great family hotel. Firstly we were greeted at the front desk by the friendly owner who helped us with advice in parking our car, he spoke perfect English as we are Australian. Our room was immaculate, with a comfortable bed, a good size refridgerator and a balcony. The WiFi worked perfectly in the lobby area but not so good in the room. A great coffee is made and a cold beer is served in the lovely inside/outside alfresco lounge. The decore was tastefully executed in the rooms with the alfresco area a little more funky. Breakfast is typically Italian style which was absolutely perfect and very tasty served on beautiful crockery with lovely cutlery and designer accessories Again a great coffee is served at breakfast. Close walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and beaches. Without question we would return to this terrific family hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room that is not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTJ327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a fantastic week we spent in Viareggio, made special by a great hotel and the staff. It is a small family run hotel and the manager Lucca is extremely helpful. The breakfast is superb, everything from cereal, fresh fruit, cheese and cold meats, scrambled egg and cooked ham, etc. brilliant. Check out their website, I found a couple of places to visit I knew nothing about, Pietrasanta (less than 15mins by train) and Cinque Terre (1hr 20min by train) both were fantastic, Lucca (the manager) was very helpful. As we had a late flight we were able to store our luggage and as there additional guest toilets on the 1st and 3rd floors complete with showers, he gave us towels to freshen up before departing for the airport. Thank you.
I cannot speak too highly of the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faldereee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Smallish family run hotel,great place place to stay.
Right in the town centre, close to the port area where most of the restaurants and bars can be found.
Our host Lucca,(who speaks very good English) was extremely helpful, providing us with information of all the great places to see in this area.
We had a 2nd floor room with a small balcony overlooking the busy little side street the hotel is in. Really interesting watching all that goes on there, although it was not noisy at night.
The buffet breakfast was superb with many varied things to enjoy. Coffee was great too.
Unfortunately no meals there apart from breakfast, but it's so close to all the other ameneties,
It's not really a problem.You can get a drink there at the tiny bar at the rear of the hotel.
If you prefer small family run hotels, this is a very nice and comfortable place to stay.
Have a great time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to sip your Chianti and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tirrenia for a week at the beginning of October, Oh what a gem of a hotel in Tuscany. Where do I start. The hotel is spotless, not a speck of dust or anything else at all. The rooms are comfortable and exactly what you need, firm beds, air conditioning and the room cleaned every day. Its located just off the main beach promenade in Viareggio. What you won't get is a sea view but we didn't go for the view. Breakfast was wonderful. Lots of fruit and cakes, toast, rolls, cold meats and cheese and scrambled eggs and bacon & cereals. Lots of tea and different types of coffee. Breakfast is from 7.45 to 10.30. The staff are lovely and they helped with recommendations for restaurants, trains and maps. The hotel is about 10 mins walk to the train station with regular services to Pisa, Lucca and Florence. The fares are very reasonable with the longest trips to Florence at 16 Euros return. Use the ticket machines as they can be used in English and take you through the process, very easy. Make sure you validate your ticket in the small machines on the platforms before you board the train. There is a lovely courtyard at the rear of the hotel which we always used in the evening to have a relaxing coffee before bed (1.5 euro very reasonable). This was the first time in Tuscany and chose Viareggio for its beach location and easy access to Pisa, Lucca and Florence. We weren't disappointed as it was easy to negotiate everything in Italy and spent the day on the beach if the weather was nice. There are some lovely restaurants including Sa Playa, 8etti & Gran Caffe Margherita. The hotel will provide umbrellas when its wet, beach towels and a wealth of information. On our last day we had a late flight. We were able to leave our luggage with the hotel and enjoy the beach. The hotel also has a separate bathroom on each floor so we were also able to have a shower later in the day. The hotel also made sure fresh towels were left with our luggage for our showers. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and would certainly go back if we had the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wiltsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.5 mi away
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Tina
Hotel Villa Tina
#14 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Property: Hotel Tirrenia
Address: Via San Martino 23, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers B&B service, all bedrooms are air-conditioned, insulating windows, use of fridge, direct dialing telephone with Internet WI-FI connection, TV Sat with LCD screen, safety box, and some of them have the balcony with seaview. The structure it is also provided of lift, bar, small garden, free of charge internet point, lounges with wireless connection, private rented garage nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing