We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in The Liberty Style”
Review of Hotel Villa Tina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Tina
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wow, what an experience! Beautiful hotel, lovely large room, elegantly furnished, with balcony and view straight along the promenade and minutes from the beach. We loved it and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was typical Italian with a limited choice. Staff were extremely helpful and we would certainly like to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed in the Tina Suite at this hotel....and absolutely loved it. The suite we had was soo elegant in a faded sort of way but retained all its Florentine aura about it.

The breakfast was typically italian, hams cheeses, pastries etc. The staff were very helpful and happy to help.

The location is fab for all the lovely towns around.

The beaches are great too

Room Tip: Tina Suite overlooks the sea and has a balcony to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyastorDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Wow, what a style! Villa Tina is an ancient villa and it shows. The rooms are large with huge ceilings, the furniture is appropriate to the epoch. The service is good, but you have to stem your luggage yourself to your room. Breakfast was good and the people helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is quite beautiful, in that ornate overdone Florentine style. The ceiling in our room was a work of art. The staff was helpful and very nice. They were friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast buffet was quite adequate. The sea-view balcony was basically unusable because of the traffic - and the ants. And our room had ants. We had no food in the room but it was ant-ridden. The weather was extremely hot, so that may have contributed (or caused) the problem. It was very annoying. Our experience of the hotel may have been overshadowed by our opinion of Viareggio, which was quite negative. The sea was fine to swim in, and the town away from the beach area was charming. But the promenade and beach area was overpriced, with low quality dining choices. Yet it wasn't "honkey-tonk" enough to be fun. I understand the higher ratings the hotel received from other customers - but we did not have a five star experience. The staff was so nice I wish I could be more positive, but I can't.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretWashburnBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night here and it was lovely. We had a beautiful sea view and a balcony. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel has kept many original pieces and is quite a grand building with lovely stained glass. Breakfast is fairly simple although they served the most delicious home made cakes, with a good selection of cold meats, cheese and fruit. We can't wait to return. Incidentally Viareggio is only about 30 mins from Pisa airport, so it's a really nice place to go for a short break, with no shortage of cheap flights from the uk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I wholeheartedly endorse this hotel. It was perfect. After stays in Venice and Rome with staff who were practically annoyed by you, it was so pleasant to have a warm and welcoming and HELPFUL staff. I had to ask the staff for more assistance for more odd things than I have ever done in a hotel and I had help for absolutely everything. NICE help. Pleasant help and quick help. The Internet was down, but they did everything to quickly get it back up again.

Our rooms were just beautiful. Fabulous 20s decor and clean and nice. Better was the wonderful, wonderful breakfast. What a spread! Eggs, cereals, toast, jellies, cakes and all sorts of goodies. The staff would make any kind of coffee you liked. I watched an older lady get served everything she needed so she didn't have to get up.

It is a little noisy, but all the hotels on the beach are. I was serenaded by a harp in the evening and just the normal passing noises. I don't like noise, and this didn't bother me at all.

I would just highly recommend this hotel. It is not your run-of-the-mill beach hotel and just fab.

One thing to be aware of is that the beaches are paying beaches. That didn't bother me because we got chairs and an umbrella, but just beware. The beach is across the street from the hotel, a 2mn walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrishRed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We spent one night here at the end of February. We were there to see the Carnival at the invitation of friends, who were staying at this hotel, as they had the previous two years, and thoroughly recommended it. We booked at short notice and there was not a lot of choice of available rooms - hardly surprising since the hotel has, I think, only 13 rooms in total. We chose a room with a sea view and were very pleased with it. Our room was on the upper floor and was everything we wanted and expected. We visited our friends who were staying in a sea-view room on the first floor - it was magnificent. (As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel has been converted from a sumptuous family villa - the ground and first floors are very grand - lots of marble, high ceilings, period furniture and decoration, the upper floor is more what you would expect of a good hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful; the breakfasts were plentiful and good. We would not hesitate to go back or to recommend this hotel to others. The Carnival is the biggest in italy and is great fun - very disrespectful of Italian politicians!

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view and, depending on the season, one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 51 in Viareggio
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 51 in Viareggio
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Tina

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#11 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range: $61 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Tina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Tina is located on the sea front and in the most elegant area of Viareggio’s Promenade . Close by is the Pinewood. The few rooms make it to a familiar and romantic place.The Hotel offers B&B service, all rooms have an air-condition, a fridge, a direct dealing telephone, TV Sat, a safety box. Some of them have a balcony and all have lateral or direct sea view. The structure it is also provided of lift, bar, free of charge internet point, private rented garage nearby the hotelThe decoration’s richness ,the quality of materials ,the antique furniture and the artistic Venetian chandeliers in blown glass make Villa Tina unique, a delightful place to stay and relax.It was planned at the beginnig of 1900 and doubtless it is one of the best examples of ‘’Liberty style’’, art nouveau, in Viareggio’s city.The Hotel offers B&B service,all bedrooms are comfortable and have front or lateral sea views,some with balcony.Each room has air-conditioning, minibar, direct dialing telephone ,satellite TV and safe deposit box. The Hotel also provides a lift, bar and free internet point.The Villa Tina is small, friendly and very romantic.The buffet breakfast is served in a splendid room adorned with stained-glass windows ,paintings ,antique furniture and Viareggio’s sea front view .Beaches in front and some Restaurants on the Promenade offer special prices to Villa Tina ‘s Guests.The Hotel has a private rented garage nearby the hotel and also free parking places.The kind staff will be pleased to recommend Restaurants, attractions of the town and everything Guests will need during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Tina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tina Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing