We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel liberty excellent place to stay in viareggio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hotel liberty excellent place to stay in viareggio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

stayed there for 3 nights this week.Excellent location friendly staff, room spacious
with small balcony. Bathroom clean and plenty of hot water ,3 towels each which were changed daily Air con worked perfectly Breakfast ok but coffee fantactic! best capuccino/esspressos of the trip.
staff suggested we need not leave the room til 12.30 so we could shower etc before leaving for the airport ! nice touch

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    30
    13
    46
See reviews for
37
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
-
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

As someone already stated, the only good points of this hotel are from outside, namely its position and good looking facade.

Regrettably, that's just a decoy to lure unknowing prospects in an experience from hell. Let's start with the reception, where a not so english proficient clerk tries his best to persuade you that 150€/night is a good price for two adults and a child. We thought lunch and dinner were included and they absolutely weren't, as it wasn't a decent breakfast.

The rooms are cramped and untidy, not to mention the furniture which comes directly from WWII, probably after being pillaged after a heavy bombardment.

To add more to our discomfort, the place is quite noisy (both from the outside main road and from having a middle-aged lift).

The only good thing of our stay there? We refused to pay in advance and we fled after our first night (and first overpaid breakfast) to find a more suitable place.

AVOID IT EVEN IF YOU HAVE TO SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
39 Thank 3YE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Viareggio hotels

Balham, London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

We chose the Hotel Liberty as it seemed the cheapest on the main street. We ended up with rooms in the two floor back part, behind the main hotel. It feels a bit cut off and just opposite the roof terrace where all the sheets and washing hang. The room was basic, but fine, though the main gripe was the fridge which was a small cupboard with a chilled metal plate at the top, which wouldn't chill drinks or food unless wedged against the plate. The rooms were well air conditioned (much welcomed in the 35 degree heat), even if ours did keep fusing whenever we turned the an on - I ended up going straight to the mains to turn the power back on after the third time! Staff were helpful and the location great. Morning buffet good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caractacus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

I was most pleasantly surprised by this hotel, as I had looked up reviews beforehand, (but after we had booked!) which weren't very positive. The gentleman at reception, (who seemed to take very little time off) was fluent in English, and very helpful and easy to deal with. Our room was fairly basic, as so many European hotels can be, but in good order, washable surfaces everywhere, perfectly suited to a hot climate, and we loved the overhead fan, air conditioning and shutters!! It was kept beautifully clean and tidy by very pleasant local staff who came in mid-moring every day. The bathroom was clean and servicable - no complaints. We found the fridge in the room very handy as well. The hotel is well situated, opposite the beach (spotless!!) and we were able to meander along the promenade every night in the evening heat. We had a view of both the sea, and a wee bit of the mountains from our balcony. It's only a 3 minute walk to the bus station, and 20 minutes walk from the train station, to Florence or Pisa. A good stay. Would definately recommend it as a pleasant place to stay, for a stress-free base to see the area.

  • Liked — In good order, nice staff, very clean.
  • Disliked — Didn't do meals except breakfast!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrikfergus N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Having read some reviews about Liberty Hotel I was quite concerned about staying there, but it was fine. Room was quite big and clean. Maids in every day to make bed and clean bathroom. Sheets changed once during our week stay. Bathroom old but clean. Breakfast was below average. Boiled eggs (usually cold) very thinly sliced ham and cheese and bread every day, abit boring after a week, but adequate. Breakfast room could do with an update. Very good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank molinda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

The location, as other hotels on this street, is great. The beach is just on the other side of the road and the boulevard in front of the hotel is a nice place to spend the evening. We loved our one night stay at this location. Lots of little restaurants, shops and gelaterias. :-) This is probably why the price was a little bit higher, but we enjoyed it. Parking your car could be a challenge, but with some directions of the staff you should succeed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

where to begin . . .i had been staying next door at the Hotel London (fantastic), but due to extending our stay for an additional week, there was one night they were unable to provide accomodation. We moved to the Hotel Liberty, and immediately begged the Hotel London to bump someone else. while the room at the Liberty was large, it was extremely sparsley furnished and outdated. the bathroom was so disgusting, we continued to use the guest bathroom at the London. i felt like i should wear my sandals in the shower. it smelled fuinky . . .my attempt to wash my waist-length hair was futile -- the water pressure was so horrible i had to shave my legs in the sink!! definately avoid the Liberty at all costs, especially when a hotel as good as the London is right next door!!
only plus, as said before, is the location. but they shouldn't rest on their laurels just because they have a primo location!! thank goodness we only had to stay one night before returning to the London.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank yoginitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#17 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pardini
Hotel Pardini
#20 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel London
Hotel London
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Property: Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Daniele Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberty 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing