We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #49 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 2, 2008

The location, as other hotels on this street, is great. The beach is just on the other side of the road and the boulevard in front of the hotel is a nice place to spend the evening. We loved our one night stay at this location. Lots of little restaurants, shops and gelaterias. :-) This is probably why the price was a little bit higher, but we enjoyed it. Parking your car could be a challenge, but with some directions of the staff you should succeed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    31
    15
    49
See reviews for
37
39
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

where to begin . . .i had been staying next door at the Hotel London (fantastic), but due to extending our stay for an additional week, there was one night they were unable to provide accomodation. We moved to the Hotel Liberty, and immediately begged the Hotel London to bump someone else. while the room at the Liberty was large, it was extremely sparsley furnished and outdated. the bathroom was so disgusting, we continued to use the guest bathroom at the London. i felt like i should wear my sandals in the shower. it smelled fuinky . . .my attempt to wash my waist-length hair was futile -- the water pressure was so horrible i had to shave my legs in the sink!! definately avoid the Liberty at all costs, especially when a hotel as good as the London is right next door!!
only plus, as said before, is the location. but they shouldn't rest on their laurels just because they have a primo location!! thank goodness we only had to stay one night before returning to the London.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank yoginitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Viareggio hotels

Elsinore, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2007

The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was nice with new furniture, Aircon, and a littele fridge. I think the windows were quit new, as they were not single glassed. They were provided with a shutter and when the windows were closed wee could hardly hear the noise from the street. If the walls had been new-painted there had been nothing to complain about at all. The bathroom was tiny and old, but ok. The room was cleen. The breakfast was fine and there is no reason to blame the breakfastroom. It is a nice hotel with a splendid position at the waterfront. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Liked — the position
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tamkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

When we opened the door to our second floor room, we were treated to a spectacular view of the sea. The windows were open and the breeze was terrific. The downside to open windows and sea breezes is noise and plenty of it. The hotel is located on the main drag of Viareggio and the windows are over the street. With the windows closed, the privacy screen in place, the air conditioning and ceiling fan both in operation, the noise disappears. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and quite large. The twin beds were comfortable. There was a fridge in the room and television. The electricity only worked when the key card was in the slot. The day staff had a decent command of English and were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Internet is available in the breakfast room. The Liberty has an arrangement with one of the bath clubs across the street for umbrellas and chairs at the beach. There are many good moderately priced restaurants across the street. The hotel is not real convenient to the train station, but is a block away from buses which we used to go to Pisa and to Lucca during the train strike. The bus was also cheaper than the train. We were confortable and generally quite pleased. From reviews we read elsewhere, we knew not to expect too much. The hotel could use a bit of TLC. And, if we hadn’t had the great view of the sea, that is, were facing a wall as some of the rooms do, we might not have been so content with this hotel. It met all of our needs.

  • Liked — The view of the sea and the convenience.
  • Disliked — The noise from the street.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank samplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed here for a week in July, during the world cup. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The room was large with an excellent view.

It was a very enjoyable week and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — the view from the window
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you get a front room with a view, and not a smaller back room like we did the first night.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sallybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Booked 3 nights but only spent 2 here. Hotel is art deco but hasn't been upgraded since 1970's. Biggest problem is that it's on the front but all of the windows are single glazed; so you may as well be sleeping on the v busy main road outside. Italians here all use high-pitched scooters which are so noisy. First night we moved at 3am in the morning ot hte back of the hotel, but the walls & floors are thin and we were woken by the early checkout in the room above us walking around on stiletto's at 5am. The only good thing was that the staff were really nice, but in summary Viareggio is overrated, you can't get to the beach, it's too busy in August Italian holidays & if you don't like fish, pizza or pasta the restaurants are useless.

  • Liked — Location on the Seafront
  • Disliked — V Noisy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latin Quarter, Paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Liberty Hotel in Viareggio for three nights in August 06. We had come from excellent yet reasonably--priced hotels in Pisa, Lucca, and Siena.

Alas, our luck ran out in Viareggio.

First, the good points.

The hotel is well-located, just across the main road from the long row of stores/restaurants that front the beach. It's about two minutes walk to the section of private beach for which the Liberty provides discount rates (around 12 euros a day for the two of us, for two deck chairs and an umbrella -- reasonable) .

The view from our 3rd floor room was lovely, looking over the buildings to the beach and the ocean.

The hotel has an elegant facade, so looks fine -- from the outside.

The two gentlemen who alternately manned the front desk were pleasant and helpful, giving us great recommendations for local seafood restaurants away from the main strip. When we were leaving one of them rather apologetically handed me a pen embossed with the name and phone number of the hotel. I won't be using the contact information any time soon. Which brings me to . . .

The Negative Points.

Judging from the lobby and large breakfast room (which appears to be a converted garage) the hotel is striving for a quirky, 'fun,' look. But none of it works -- the whole lobby just looks cheap and tacky, the whole decor thrown together. We're not interior design snobs -- it just hits you when you walk in!

Our double room was not just spartan, but downright ugly, like a particularly bad dorm room. For 124 euros a night, it was vastly overpriced; frankly, a real rip-off. The walls were plain white, with too many electrical cords showing, and the only light in the room was harsh flourescent lighting which automatically came on when you inserted your key card.

There was no minibar, though they did provide a small, funcional fridge. The TV remote was on a cord. At this price range do they expect guests to steal the remote?

The bathroom was cramped, with one of those half-screens in the bathtub where you always have to be careful not to spray the whole room while showering. On the final night the water from the shower was little more than a trickle. My girlfriend has long hair, so after the first night she gave up on washing her hair until we returned to our great hotel in Pisa.

The hair dryer was one of those tube-types; it required one hand on the wall-button for air to come out while you blew gusts of air around; difficult to manage for my girlfriend with her long hair.

Overall the room was ugly and depressing, great views notwithstanding.

Breakfast was well below average, served in a large, ugly room 'decorated' by amateurish murals. Machines dispensed what was claimed to be orange juice (though it came out red) and some other flavor; it doesn't matter -- it all tasted like sugared water. Coffee also came from a one-button machine -- I waited to go to a nearby café on the 'strip' for my morning cappuccino. Cereal and fruit was fine.

When we're traveling in Italy my girlfriend and I usually stay in three-star hotels in the 90 to 120 euro range, so we have a pretty good idea what to expect; the Liberty fell well short of the average.

I couldn't recommend this place even if the rooms were half the price, which is what they look like.

Avoid.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The plain room with bad lighting for 124 euros a night.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you're in Viareggio, check out the lobby of the Liberty -- it has to be seen to be believed how tasteless it is. Do NOT stay here.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jakebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#16 of 53 in Viareggio
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lupori
Hotel Lupori
#27 of 53 in Viareggio
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#20 of 53 in Viareggio
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#50 of 53 in Viareggio
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Property: Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Daniele Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberty 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing