We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location for sea enjoing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Milano Marittima, Italy
2 reviews
“good location for sea enjoing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The atout is the possibility to have access, paying a bit more, to the beach and swimming pool etc of Principe di Piemonte resort and to have a bike for moving in Viareggio. This is ideal to take a few days of rest when summer begins as I did. Unfortunately prices are a bit high in the summer period.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 228Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Residence Esplanade.
We hope you will return in a near future. Please, feel free to contact us at booking@hotelresidenceesplanade.it for a "special return guest offer".

Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team here.

Best Wishes from Viareggio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    222
    75
    17
    7
See reviews for
157
157
5
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pitesti, Romania
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Small discutions at check in regarding the type of room booked. After two days we were receiving what we were reserved. I stress the fact that the staff was very friendly at all times. I will remember the dinner-excellent chef and personal. Nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Globetrotter-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest from Romania,

Thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in Viareggio at the Hotel Residence Esplanade.

I remember you very well, sorry for what happen with the room, but then we sort it out. We hope you enjoied your trip in Tuscany this summer.

We hope you will return in a near future. Please, feel free to contact us at booking@hotelresidenceesplanade.it for a "special return guest offer".

Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team here.

Best Wishes from Viareggio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

the rooms were clean but very simple, not at all cosy.You can hear everything from next door.
In October with cold weather conditions outside, the heating was not available. when we complained about it, the staff told us, it is not working before the end of October and offered us blankets. So we had a very! cold night. Not at all what we expected in a four star hotel!!!
There is no pressure in the shower although and the hairdryer is poor!
It´s really a shame as the Village is so beautiful.

Room Tip: a lot of rooms are with a backyard view, which is not pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigitte n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mrs Brigitte,

All client comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel.

We are very sorry you had a negative experience, please accept our sincere apologize, we already explain and answer to you here in the Hotel.

After your complain at the reception, we put on the heating in the Hotel...and then we had a week with 22/24 c°. People want the air condition on...

We hope you will return in a near future. Please, feel free to contact us at booking@hotelresidenceesplanade.it for a "special return guest offer".

Only for direct booking you will have the parking pass, the minibar (soft drink) and the breakfast included in your rate!

Best Wishes from Viareggio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a week during the summer in this hotel and liked it a lot. Food was great with lots of choices. The room was big and we had a room for ourselves with the kids sleeping next door. That was good. Furthermore, the hotel is well situated in the centre of ViaReggio. Finally, not unimportant, the people at the hotel are very friendly!!

Definitely will consider coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MvW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest from Netherland,
Thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Residence Esplanade.
We hope you will return in a near future. Please, feel free to contact us at booking@hotelresidenceesplanade.it for a "special return guest offer".

Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team here.

Best Wishes from Viareggio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We loved the location of the hotel and the great service....lovely touch offering drinks and nibbles free if charge during the day. The staff never objected to the children taking handfuls of nuts and chippies.... We hired bikes which were fantastic for biking along the great promenade of Vioreggio.....great breakfast was on offer and parking on street parking included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angelavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest from Naples,

Thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Residence Esplanade.

We hope you will return in a near future. Please, feel free to contact us at booking@hotelresidenceesplanade.it for a "special return guest offer".

Only for direct booking you will have the parking pass, the minibar (soft drink) and the breakfast included in your rate!

Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team here.

Best Wishes from Viareggio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great stay in this comfortable hotel. It has a chique facade 200 meters from the beach and spacious rooms full of light. Breakfast is varied. The personnel is really friendly, they helped us in every way finding good biking routes and giving tips about nice villages to visit nearby. For people travelling by bike this hotel is the best choice, there are a lot of facilities to safely park your bike and to do simple repairs and maintenance. We were really pleased and would advise this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Janneke,
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
We are very pleased you had a really good time during your stay with us. We hope you will visit again like most of our client doing year after year.
You can contact us at booking@hotelresidenceesplanade.it
PS: Nice picture, compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked our room well in advance and hotel’s Diamond offer looked like a reasonably priced and a very attractive package. When choosing between Apartment and Junior Suite accommodation, we picked Junior Suite (higher price) because of all extras it was offering, e.g. garage, beach towels, a little present in your room, welcome drink, bikes, beach facilities, Wi-Fi, newspapers, soft drinks. We made it clear in a booking form that parking facilities (garage) were essential for us. We looked at the hotel’s website. It looked very nice, a very impressive building. We read reviews on Tripadvisor. Fantastic! Well, the magic has disappeared the moment we entered the hotel. Marvellous building from outside was not so impressive inside. Small Bar area for the hotel of this size. When we asked about parking, we were told that there was no garage, only parking permit is available. When I showed our offer confirmation, the guy at the reception said it was their last year offer and a garage was not available anymore. I just wonder why nobody notified us by e-mail about any changes? And if there were changes and the package is not what we booked, obviously a price should reflect that too, shouldn’t it? Why nobody read our booking form where it was said that garage is required. If we knew about changes, we would choose a different option or a different hotel altogether. Sadly, the absent of “an offered garage” was not the only surprise. Hotel loses its character completely when you start walking to your room. There is a dormitory feel, hostel rather than a 4* hotel. And then we entered our Junior Suite. It was an apartment: kitchen and a living space. Not a room we had booked. When I went back to the reception and questioned it, the receptionist insisted that it was Junior Suite, Junior Suite has got a “sea view” (it was actually a back yard view with a little bit of sea that you can see between other buildings). I asked for their hotel prospectus. I opened a page with Apartments’ photographs and what a surprise - our room was pictured on that particular page. Receptionist’s answer: “It’s just a picture.” We were not offered a discount or anything else. I was shocked with the staff’s attitude and how they dealt with the whole situation. To add to insult our room was not a room in a 4* hotel: bathroom small and dated, shower is dirty, a missing button on a bed runner (a bed runner disappeared the following morning), a window handle was not fixed properly (loose screws, it came off), patched up painting on the wall, cracks on a wall, mini Bar consisted of 5 soft drink bottles, fridge has not been defrosted for a VERY long time, single beds requested for our children were non-existent, a sofa instead (once again our booking form was not read). I have got photographs to prove every point. We booked half board but at check-in nobody mentioned us about any restaurant arrangements. I wanted to make sure we were booked for an evening meal. Receptionist was not aware about it. That’s where I lost it. You can accept only so many things which are wrong. I did not know what to say. I just wanted to leave that place and we would do it straight away but we were travelling with two young children and had already spent 6 hours driving in the car that day. Fortunately 15 minutes later the receptionist confirmed that evening meal was booked. Restaurant: meal was an average affair, nothing special. What shocked me was breakfast. All breakfast dry/ cupboard stuff is ready for breakfast while guests are still having their evening meal. There are no covers for cereals. Basically everything is left overnight. Fresh fruit? There is a large bowl of “fresh” fruit placed on a shelf, quite difficult to reach. My daughter asked for an apple. When I touched it I could not believe that staff of a 4* hotel still left it in a basket. An apple was very soft and began to crinkle. It definitely was not fresh anymore. There is not a big choice of pastry, just pre packed stuff and cheap cakes. Chair covers and linen in the dining room was a bit tired, yellowish colour of what supposed to be white or at least beige. Area: it is OK. In general we felt that Viareggio is a bit overrated and the sea was far from being crystal clear. We were mis-sold the hotel’s half board package, Hotel is not 4*, apartments and Junior suite is the same type of room (receptionist’s explanations were pathetic). Our advice would be: stay clear of this place, but if you book, choose the cheapest room and you will most certainly get an automatic upgrade (seems to be the hotel’s usual practice). Think about this hotel as a 3* at best and then you probably won’t be disappointed. Even printed e-mail confirmation is proves nothing. Treat it as a guide. Only one member of staff tried to find a compromise and being helpful (Luca? Not sure about spelling. Thank you!). Note to the young girl at the reception: next time you make any happy comments about guests departure, please could you make sure your customer definitely DO NOT understand any Italian and has left hotel. We cancelled our last day of stay (at least something was correct in our booking offer – free cancellation). We paid the full amount, they took two drinks of our total bill, but, hey, what has happened to our Welcome drink, Beach facilities, Beach towels etc. which were all included in our package? We should argue, but we were just happy to leave Hotel Residence Esplanade’s experience behind us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice_18, Direttore generale at Hotel Residence Esplanade, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Madame,
We would like to thank you for your kind words, we were just waiting for it.

All client comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel.

We are very sorry you had a negative experience, please accept our sincere apologize, we already explain and answer to you here in the Hotel.

All suggestion are taken on board and have reviewed each point with my team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible.

Tripadvisors reader, don't worry, as the majority of our guest ( 20.300 people till today in 2013!!!) appreciate the building, the staff, the culture, the surrounding and the Italian atmosphere!!

Hope to see you again in Viareggio in the future!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Viareggio
Mercure Viareggio
#7 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Esplanade

Property: Hotel Residence Esplanade
Address: Piazza Puccini, 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#12 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 metres from the beach, Hotel Residence Esplanade is an Art-Nouveau building in Viareggio centre. It offers large and elegant accommodation with minibar and a satellite flat-screen TV.Each modern room and self-catering apartment at Esplanade comes with a private bathroom complete with hairdryer and courtesy set. Air conditioning is provided in summer, and free internet is available.Restaurant Esplanade serves Italian favourites prepared with fresh ingredients, along with an extensive wine list.Set right behind the lush Pineta di Ponente pinewood, Residence Esplanade is a 20-minute walk from Viareggio Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residence Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Esplanade Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing