We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, soooo relaxing and wonderful staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, soooo relaxing and wonderful staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I were doing a Euro trip together and we chose to go to Viareggio and loved it!! It is very romantic(for couples) but still lots of nice people, cute shops and yummy restaurants. Very authentic place to visit. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, right on the main promenade looking over the beach. I travelled all over europe and stayed in many different accomodations and the one that I loved the most was this hotel! The hotel staff was so friendly and accomodating. All around amazing, you wont be upset if you choose this hotel. Ask for a oceanview room with blacony.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    79
    27
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
75
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
446 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Located right on the main street.
The staff was nice.
Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.
Viareggio is wonderful city, great beach and sea. Its 25 minutes to Pisa, by train, which is great and well worth a day. However its 2 hours to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I spent a week at this hotel and had a fantastic stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, Gian Lucca and Gabriele among others. This hotel is very clean and in a perfect location on the promenade. I paid €70 a night for a good size single room with a balcony and a great sea view. Breakfast was very good and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Viareggio is a very chilled out place with great beaches, 2 lovely pine woods in town, beautiful mountains behind the town and a great base for exploring Tuscany and the Coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Located right on the main strip. Smaller hotel with about 3 floors. You have to pickup and drop off room key upon leaving and entering the hotel (it was actually pretty good do you don't have to hold the key) The staff was nice. They offered a nice continental breakfast each morning. The rooms were decent and clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olive54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Hotel is tiny and beds are short by any means for any grown up man. But it is well located, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, I left a ring there and they returned it within a week.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vittoriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Hotel San Francisco is on the main drag of the beach area of Viareggion. the roof garden was an absolute godsend as was the outside shower as the tempretures soared whilst we were here. hotel staff lovely and breafast adequate but it got a bit boring eating the same ham and cheese every day for 7 days. Coffee and juice was good. Our room, which was a good size had plenty of storage and was on the 3rd floor. We were at the back and had gorgeous views over the roof tops to the mountains. We also had a balcony which came in very handy. Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominomags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Myself and my husband had a week in the Hotel San Francisco in September 2007. The staff were very friendly, the room was perfectly adequate and very clean. Continental breakfast is included. The hotel is perfectly positioned with sea views. Would definately reccomend and would go again

  • Liked — Very freindly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#11 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marchionni
Hotel Marchionni
#24 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Property: Hotel San Francisco
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing