We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well-designed cottage that can accommodate a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Viareggio, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
martin m
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A well-designed cottage that can accommodate a family of 5 for a fortnight.”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage is creatively designed and has everything that a family of 5 needs. There is certainly more space than you get in hotel rooms and you have the benefit of an outdoor eating area. The cottage has washing machine/dish-washer/ironing facilities which for us and 3 grown up children were important. It is also well appointed at the back of the owner's home, which means it is peaceful and enables you to link up with their family. The air conditioning is a godsend. It is a few minutes from a good supermarket, the beach, a park and the station. We didn't need a car and were able to travel to Pisa and Florence easily. Alessandra is a friendly host who went the extra mile in dealing with my emails before the holiday. Thank you for a wonderful 2 week holiday. There is a city tax that you need to budget for (it cost 5 of us 10 euros a day). Also there is a deposit of 100 euros that you get back at the end of the holiday (assuming no damage). The family would recommend this cottage if you want to experience an Italian beach resort that is elegant and peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the proximity to all of the things we needed to do
Liked least: the heat but then we put the air conditioning unit on
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Thanks martin for The possibility for to know Your wonderful family..Your Children are very educate and kindness...hope Your my guest in The future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant S
1 review
“Rest and relax!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This place was wonderful to stay in and felt like home in no time. The beach is close by as is the best ice cream parlour in Viareggio called Nilos! The host was very very helpful and kind. She also spoke very good English. Any questions I had while I was staying were answered straightaway by texting. The home is very charming and a lovely retreat after a day at the beach. Also get use of 2 bikes which was really enjoyable (bikes are very popular here). Supermarket just around the corner too.
Overall a fantastic place to stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbertst...
Muenster, Germany
1 review
“Hello Alexandra and Family”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

we enoy our time in your wonderfull and comfortable cottage very much. It is a very good alternative place to relax beside from hotels and camping grounds. Will come back when the weather is a little bit better.

Thanks for your kindness and wich you all the best
with many greetz

Herbert

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
THANKS HERBERT MY HOUSE IS ALWAYS OPEN FOR YOU...THE PLEASURE WAS MINE TO HAVE YOU AS MY GUEST...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coralee01
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and so secure ”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from 14 nights at La Casetta al Mare, and can't recommend it highly enough. The casetta is located at the back of the host Alessandra's home, but you have your own separate entrance (through a narrow corridor - see pics) and your own furnished patio area, this is separated from the hosts patio area by willow screening. My husband and I were there with our 18 month old baby, Alessandra provided a high chair, a travel cot and there was even a baby carrier available to us. The sleeping arrangements would suit a family with more children, in the main bedroom there is a double bed, and bunk beds. On the mezzanine level there is a single bed, and there is a sofa bed in the sitting area. The kitchen is fully equipped, there was even a hand blender, super if you want to make your own pasta sauces, and ice packs in the freezer, if you want to pack a picnic there were also bikes available with baby seats, and very good Wi-Fi.
The location was perfect for us as we didn't rent a car and wanted to travel a bit by train. The station is less than a 10 minute walk, we managed to fit in Lucca (20 mins by train) Pisa (20 mins by train) and Florence (1hr 30 by train)
In fact it's worth mentioning that it can take as little as an hour depending on train times,to get to/from Pisa airport. We left at 7.30 and got to the airport at about 8.40am on the morning of departure.

Viareggio beach and promenade are probably a 20 min stroll, through Viareggio pinewoods. Another great spot for children. The Pinewood's has great public (free) and private (fee) play areas, duck/turtle pond, bike hire, cafes and comes alive at weekends with Italian families.
Viareggio also hosts a few markets,
So within short distance of the casetta you have wonderful amenities for children, the promenade & beach, the shops and markets.
There is also a large supermarket & a pharmacy just around the corner (less than 5 min walk)

Another factor which was hugely important to us was how secure we felt, we could comfortably sit out on the patio while our daughter napped as there was no entrance or windows at the rear of the casetta, it is only accessible via the patio.

The casetta is on a quiet residential street, so you will be living amongst the locals, which we loved, be prepared to pick up your Italian phrase books!

Overall we loved it and are already planning to return next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
Thanks Cora the plasure is mine that to have you and your family which my guest...Emilia the baby is wonderfull and Casetta is always open for you!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMB394
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We absolutley loved our stay at this spacious, well equipt apartment. It was actually much bigger than we expected and we had our own outdoor seating area. The appartment was really clean and tidy, and had a washing machine and dishwasher and a very good AC unit. The house was in walking distance to the train station so we were able to visit Pisa, Lucca and Siena from Viareggio. There was also a supermarket just down the road. Alessandra was very friendly and accomadating, and allowed us to drop our bags off before check in. The apartment is very secure and secluded in a quiet housing area, but the beach is just a few minutes walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
Many thanks for all and I hope you and your family are new my guest in the future!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail19...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This apartment offered everything you could possibly want! All the facilities, including dishwasher, washing maching, kettle! A kettle was a bonus as I love a cup of tea in the morning.
On our arrival Alessandra met us with a warm smile, bottle of water and a cake from the local baker, which was lovely!
The apartment was very clean and quite spacious, sleeping was one bedroom with a double bed and a bunk bed, further sleeping was on a sofa bed in the lounge.
Outside is a small courtyard which is shared with the owner but partitioned off for a reasonable amount of privacy.
It is ideally located in a residential area, a huge supermarket is situated around the corner approx a 5 minute walk, the beach was 10 minutes away through a lovely, lively (in the evening) park and restaurants and shops were also a 10 minute walk away.
Viarregio is ideally located, it has a lovely sandy beach, lots of shops and restaurants but also on a train line, the station is again a 10 minute walk, we took day trips to Cinque Terre, Florence, Pisa and Lucca, all well worth visiting and easy to get to from Viarregio.
A lovely week spent in a great location and apartment.
Thank you Alessandra for making us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and apartment
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2015
Many Thanks Emma for your kindliness,it was pleasure to have your family my guest,and your baby is fantastic,Rebecca still remebers....
I hope that you and your family come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing