We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel & resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, and the hotel front is very dominating and impressive, right on the beach. Inside too is beautifully done, rooms are large and facilities were excellent. The pool on the roof is stunning, all one depth, great for children, although a little small during peak times and no room for lengths just for basking in really. The only thing that let it down for me was the staff, there were a few shining stars, Daniela at breakfast and the pool and bar attendant with bobbed dark hair and a gentleman at the reception, looked to be a manager. Other than those, they were unfriendly, unwelcoming and trying to think of a better term but arrogance is the only one that comes close. My husband almost had a row with the concierge because he kept talking over him, and the reception staff never greeted us with a smile or "can I help you?". The porter who you'd expect to be the most courteous suddenly left us with our bags when we were leaving as a large Mercedes arrived. Very disappointing. Viareggio itself is lovely but it is really a beach / pool / sun holiday, very little else to do. Its safe and friendly overall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveNYC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    292
    111
    48
    28
See reviews for
206
512
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having taken advice from other travellers we had a front view room on the 3rd floor. Good advice. It was lovely to watch the sunset from the balcony. The room was not as large as expected and only one chair but the bed was very comfortable. We only ate breakfast in the hotel and there was a large choice if you like sweet food but if you didn't it was limited - , ham, tomato, scrambled eggs (which were not particularly good), yoghurt and hard fresh fruit. The fruit needs to be riper. The staff were all good, the reception staff in particular are great. They deal with all issues immediately. When we could not have a late checkout with a very late flight, made arrangements for us to shower as well as storing our luggage. Thank you Lara. The pool was lovely but don't expect to swim. It is a very relaxing spacious spa pool. We expected to pay for wifi but were given a daily code free of charge and the pool towels were also complementary. However it was very early in the season and this may be the reason. The pool bar was not staffed. The evening cocktail and nibbles are moved to the 5th floor when there is a function, something we only found out as we left. The lounge areas are very comfortable. The greatest advantage to us was the location and the ability to walk to the station for trains to all areas.

Room Tip: As others have said a sea facing room on floor 3 or 4. Explore the public areas of the hotel early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for five nights with my family. The Principe is a lovely building outside and in, we had nice rooms on the first floor with balcony with partial seaview and looking on to the square. bathrooms were nice fairly big and clean. The rooftop pool is amazing along with the decking area/sunbeds the first day it rained but the pool was so warm we got in anyway! I was
dissapointed with the breakfast not much choice hardly any fruit , scrambled eggs looked grey bacon not good, but the coffee was ! the staff were nice friendly and helpful we didnt eat in the restuarants as we thought they were pricey !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I did not have high expectations about this property - Tripadvisor rating speaks for itself. But even with that I was disappointed. The exterior of the hotel and interior of the rooms are the only good things about the hotel. And the rooftop pool, maybe.

Other than that you get the cheapest breakfast you can expect in a 5 star property. You get no even basic amenities in the room. And you have to pay for every move, as everything will be extra.

On top of that the service is very far from the 5 star standards, as the staff is mostly careless. And i am sure the hotel management knows about that. But why care if you get one of the two best properties on the front line?

Overall, I considered staying at this hotel as a very poor value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Etihader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco518, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you left the hotel with a bad idea of our property and our services. Our staff is highly qualified and well trained to take care of our demanding guests, please let us know what kind of problems you had so we can maybe discuss them together at your best convenience.
Our breakfest is widely recognised as excellent, I'm sorry you didn't have the same feeling: several sweet and salted options, freshly squeezed orange juice, prosecco wine, different breads, cold cuts and cheeses, home made cakes and tarts, multiple varietes of croissants are just some of the specialties that you can find on our buffet, I'm sorry this wasn't enough for you.
We really hope to have you again as our kind guest.
Please feel free to contact us if there are issues you want to talk about directly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this delightful hotel at the end of May 2013. Very spacious rooms with super views. The buffet breakfast was excellent. More importantly, the staff were excellent, especially Laura at reception who is so helpful and enthusiastic. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a room with view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I really enjoyed a five night stay at the Piemonte in May 2013. The room was lovely, the breakfast good, and the staff very helpful.

We booked a front-facing, sea view room. Having read an earlier review suggesting we request a room on a high floor, I emailed the hotel in advance and was given a room on the 4th floor. The sea view room was a little more expensive, but not massively so, and it was worth it to have a view. The view probably is better from the higher floors. I was hoping for an upgrade to a suite, but didn't get one!

The room was not huge, but large enough, and had lovely high ceiling. A door opened out to a wonderful sea view. You could just about step outside from the bedroom, but it wasn't a balcony you could sit on. There was plenty of storage and the bathroom was well furnished with a good shower and bath.

The upstairs pool was clean and tidy, with plenty of sun-loungers for guests (although it was quite quiet when we stayed). The gym was functional and reasonably well equipped, if a little small.

The staff were very friendly throughout and helpful. We sought help for massages, directions, restaurant recommendations, taxis and train times and nothing was too much trouble. They spoke excellent English. On our last morning, we needed to leave before breakfast began in order to catch a flight, so they arranged coffee, juice and croissants in the bar for us while we waited for a taxi, which was a really nice touch.

The only negative I have to offer is that the mini-bar was very expensive, charging 9 Euro for a small can of Coke. Although I guess that's not uncommon in four star hotels.

All in all, it was a lovely stay, a nice room, a good view and the staff were excellent. This hotel comes highly recommended from me.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and ask for a room on a higher floor, for a better view. Pay the extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Travelling with my sister to Italy we made ahead some reservations by Lago di Garda and in Florence and then just turned north. End of April, no season yet. When coming to Viareggio, we fell in love with this hotel just looking at it! And what a deal when entering! It looked that everybody waited just for us and was ready to help. Even moving our car from a parking area of the promenade to the hotel garage... The room was a dream. The roof pool area provided us with a beautiful sea view, comfortable sun beds and towels. We'll definitely return back next year.
I fully recommend this hotel to all friends, especially to couples renewing their wedding vows.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#14 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.9 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte

Property: Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Address: Piazza Puccini 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#5 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This storied luxury hotel on the seafront promenade in Viareggio is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Built in the early 1920s, restored to the height of its charm in 2004 after 19 months' refurbishment work, today the Principe is without doubt one of the world's most exclusive and refined historical hotels. The 106 rooms, including 19 suites, on five floors decorated in different styles, represent an ideal cross-section of elegant hospitality over the ages, through to the contemporary design of the sun-drenched rooftop swimming pool. The "Piccolo Principe" and "Regina" restaurants have also made their own contribution to the renown built up over the years by the Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte in Viareggio. The Two-starred Michel restaurant "Piccolo Principe" offers sophisticated cuisine against the magnificent backdrop of the panoramic roof garden, where guests dine in summer, while the "Regina" restaurant offers traditional Tuscan fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing