We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem to be Savoured”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Gem to be Savoured”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. Not too big, classic style and definitely five star service. From the time we checked in until we left the staff greated us by our names every time, were eager to help and so friendly from the maid cleaning our room right up to the duty manager. The decor is old world Italian except for the rooftop pool with water jet spa beds etc and sun bathing area. The Spa area and its treatments were amazing. The restaurant is opulent and food is exquisite.
Definitely on my list for a return visit which I will book with www.hyhohotels.com who had some great rates.

Room Tip: They also offer free bike hire to guests which is a great idea to explore the promenade with its man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco518, Manager at Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest.
I'd like to thank you for your great review and your positive feedback!
Our goal is the satisfaction of our clients!!
We do all our best to surprise them!!
When we receive comments such this,
we understand that we are going in the right direction.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte.
Kind regards
Daiana Ferretti - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    306
    123
    53
    30
See reviews for
218
563
22
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our room did not have bed side tables . I am an asthmic so I put my small case with my meds on the head board behind the bed. when we went to bed (or tried to) the light would not turn offf in the room. We tried everything with the key card and alas nothing worked. My husband finally got dressed and went to the front desk and ask for help.This was about now mid night or one am. They suggested we move our room. At that time of night?
They finaly sent up two bel boys wo didnt have a clue or said they didnt! They finally turned the lights off and my husband requested a flash light so we could see to use the bathrrom.

They did return after a long period with a flash noght.

In the morning my husband complained to the front desk and they said" Your wife caused the problem by putting her case in front of the light switch>" Well it would have been nice if the bell boys had told us that. I speak Italian!!!!!

the staff in this hotel is rude beyond belief. My husband requested the desk call the manager at midnight to discuss this light probelm and was told "Oh we could never call himat this hour." Why not it is his job to make his guests comfortable>

The breakfast was good. We hate one night in the dining room. It was mid class. Not amy people and under stafffed.

We were going to try the buffet at the swimming pool . Finger food at 15 euros. sounded like a good idea until we discovered you had to stand up to eat. There are not seats! The day we were leaving I noticed the pool was closed. Hence, only one lift was operating.

Not a happy experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco518, Manager at Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Madame,

We were waiting for your mail, as you promised us to write it.
We are very upset to notice that you are telling things differently as really happened.
All the staff was at your complete disposal for more than 2 hours, trying to understand what kind of problem there was with the light system in your room.
We were embarrassed coming in your room while you were sleeping. Your husband insisted to have the bellboy to check the problem.
As far as the lights system, it worked properly; referring to your circumstance, someone pressed the automatic button of the light that is situated near the head bed.
Unfortunately you put the meds case right in front of the button, so the bell man took some more time to understand the problem.
We are sorry for the inconvenient, but you can understand that so late at night and in the dark of the room, with a sleeping person in bed, it can happen.
What we are sure is that all the reception staff has been at your complete disposal, trying to help you, while your husband was shouting bad words against people that were working for you.

About the “ Aperitivo” on the roof terrace, you were informed that all the tables was already booked and there was only the possibility to take part of it without table, but just stand up.

In the hotel we have two Restaurants; one is located on the roof top, a Gourmet restaurant with a Michelin Star, with a beautiful sea view. The other one in on the main floor and it has a typical Tuscany kitchen.

Always at your disposal, we remain.

Yours faithfully
Daiana Ferretti – Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We picked this hotel for a spontaneous getaway for just one night. At first when we arrived we had mixed feelings about the place. I must say it is time to renew most of the rooms. We had a sea view room which costs extra but is worth the price. When we opened the window we forgot about all little faults that we found. Very beautiful!

Among the faults were very bad smell in the bathroom, old shower with very bad pressure, dirty windows and generally old property.

We were pleasantly surprised when we asked whether we can keep the car in the hotel's parking and the receptionist (I think it was Giovanni) offered not only a parking space but also a room for us for the day for free. It was a different type of room with no view. And I have to suggest to everyone to book sea view rooms because other rooms are too expensive for what you get. In our case, of course, it was a very nice and unexpected gesture from the hotel.

The rooftop swimming pool is nice (also offers a lovely view), but the pool is very shallow, you would not be able to swim in it.

Overall, we have a positive impression of the hotel which was brought by the amazing view and the hotel's staff, particularly Giovanni at the reception.

Room Tip: Always choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We normally like to stay in small boutique hotels or B&Bs, and were reluctant to book into a large (106 rooms) Grand Dame hotel. We stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights in early June, and I am glad we made an exception in this case. Principe di Piemonte lives up to its “Grand Hotel” billing in every way. Our room on the fourth floor had a beautiful view over the pedestrian promenade in the foreground out to the Tyrrhenian Sea, This 1920’s vintage hotel retains the elegance of that time (high ceilings, large rooms, Murano chandeliers in the dining room, etc.), but is updated for modern convenience (including a rooftop pool and spa). The richly paneled bar off the lobby reminds one of a “gentleman’s club”. It was fun to indulge ourselves each night with an aperitif, well-crafted by their excellent bartender, and served on their enclosed veranda (with live piano music on the weekend). We dined one night in the hotel’s excellent (Michelin starred) restaurant. The friendly front desk staff was also very helpful in recommending local restaurants for the other nights. Comfort, elegance, beautiful views --- what is not to like? We certainly did, and plan to return.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms on the 4th and 5th floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco518, Manager at Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all, sorry for the delay.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel .
We would like to thank you for your comments!
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Best Regards
Daiana Ferretti - Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and i stayed in this hotel for a weekend in June. Overall it is indeed a small luxury hotel. But what it has with the Wow factor there are lots of things that fall throughthe cracks. The service is ok, not great, not bad. Outside of pre-set hours getting a drink or a decent snack isnt easy. There is a fantastic rooftop pool with an incredible view of the beachfront and coastline, but the bar was always closed so having a cocktail meant moving mountains. On the other hand, Giovanni at reception gave great tips on local restaurants. Overall probably the best hotel in Viareggio and maybe in high season the service/services are better.

Room Tip: The room with a sea viewis nice but the balcony is small. Overall worth the extra bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco518, Manager at Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all sorry for the delay.

We thank you for your kind comments and we confirm that we always take is as a value to improve our service.
We are happy to notice that you appreciate our reception staff, they are always helpful.
We are really sorry if you waited too much for a drink at the pool bar.
We have been organizing a pool bar service since the beginning of june and a hostess is at complete disposal all day long, to help our guests.

Trust us, We do all our best to satisfy all our guests.

Hpoing to see you again,
yours faithfully.
Daiana Ferretti - Director of operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After reading some other reviews on this hotel i realize that the room makes a big difference- and unfortunatly i was given a horrible room to start with (after specifically asking about the quality of the room at check-in and being told it was nice, and big) and upon complaining, given an even smaller room with the only improvement that it didnt smell AS bad as the first, and there was more light. Do not believe what their website indicates as ""Alpine Hills view", the view on the lower levels is of a wall, or of another building where you can see the neighbors laundry hanging in reach. We were very unhappy with the room(s) provided, and with the way it was dealt with by the staff when we very clearly explained that we were not happy and tried to find a solution. Upon checking out they explained that the hotel was fully booked, but the way the whole situation was handled was not what you would expect from a supposid five star property and the room we were given was three star at best. Parking is another problem because although they do have a parking lot (i am not sure of the charges associated with parking here) it was booked during our stay and we had to pay a 10 euro daily parking fee for parking on the street near the hotel. Keep this in mind if you are planning on staying more than a weekend because that adds up.

On the positive note, the spa is very nice, professional staff, pleasant rooms, great mood lighting. The pool is nice as well and if you plan on staying in viareggio the location is very good, in front of the beach.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a fifth floor deluxe room as we wanted something a bit special and it didnt dissapoint. A short walk along the corridor to the roof swimming pool which was simply stunning. The breakfasts were excellent, some Prossecco followed by freshly squeesed Orange juice and all that you would expect from a hotel of this quality. As there were so many local resteraunts we did not eat in the Hotel and cannot comment on the evening meals.
The views from the 5th floor were probably the best in Viareggio. The staff on the reception desk were excellent and between them catered for all languages as far as we could tell.
There were some building works directly across from the hotel on the front, but in all honesty they didnt detract from our stay and should be finnished soon.

Room Tip: You probably have to be in the 4th floor or above to get the best of the sea views from the front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikkitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
330 reviews
1.9 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte

Property: Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Address: Piazza Puccini 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#5 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This storied luxury hotel on the seafront promenade in Viareggio is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Built in the early 1920s, restored to the height of its charm in 2004 after 19 months' refurbishment work, today the Principe is without doubt one of the world's most exclusive and refined historical hotels. The 106 rooms, including 19 suites, on five floors decorated in different styles, represent an ideal cross-section of elegant hospitality over the ages, through to the contemporary design of the sun-drenched rooftop swimming pool. The "Piccolo Principe" and "Regina" restaurants have also made their own contribution to the renown built up over the years by the Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte in Viareggio. The Two-starred Michel restaurant "Piccolo Principe" offers sophisticated cuisine against the magnificent backdrop of the panoramic roof garden, where guests dine in summer, while the "Regina" restaurant offers traditional Tuscan fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing