We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A Very Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver B.c. Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Very Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Best Western Grand Hotel is indeed a very grand Grand hotel. We loved the spaciousness and the view from our 4th floor sea view balcony. The front desk staff were helpful and efficient. When we complained about the very hard beds they kindly added a layer of foam which made the beds much more comfortable. Breakfast was fine but our only suggestion would be to eat other meals elsewhere at the many trattorias and restaurants within comfortable walking distance. The hotel meals were overpriced and not very good, although the service was good and they had a good salad bar. Parking on their grounds is worth the small price. This hotel is a wonderful choice for sightseeing in the area, or for a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a sea front room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Royal for your recent stay in and for taking your time to submit this review. Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments are thoroughly looked into,we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
Please accept our apologies if any inconvenience caused about food in the restaurant we really don't think 30€ for 4 courses dinner are overpriced and 95% of report from our guest mark food quality are very good . I sincerely hope that you will give us a pleasure to welcome you again to Hotel in not too distant future and an opportunity to change your impression.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    296
    72
    26
    14
See reviews for
250
576
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horndean, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 25th Sept. Like so many others, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our seaview room on the 4th floor was a good size with comfortable twin beds and a decent bathroom. The shower was powerful enough for us.
The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. When I enquired as to how best to get to Lucca, the receptionist suggested the bus which stopped at the back of the hotel. She was aware that my Mum is a sprightly 80-something but that the walk to the station might be a bit much. Well after we realised how close the bus stope was, we were off exploring every day - a great way to see the country.
Although we booked B&B we ended up eating in the hotel every night (it was just easier). As non-meat eaters we were very catered for and the portions were more than adequate. We're not used to eating 4 courses.
A small point: the very elegant original windows do nothing to block out the sound of the street cleaners every night. This is easily sorted with those seasoned travellers friends - earplugs.

That said, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the seaview - every sunset was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkipperQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

An elegant, sedate and really lovely old hotel. Four of us stayed there earlier this week and had a great time using Viareggio as a base for our adventures around Tuscany and Liguria. Big rooms, fantastic beds, cooked breakfasts and late nights in the bar. It was a perfect stay and great value. Thank you. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were overlooking the sea so that would be a must for me next time as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisioC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights from 4th October.The Hotel is as good as the previous reviews mention & everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the reception staff were very helpful & friendly as were the rest of the staff.The hotel is in a great location, bus stop right outside & about a 20 minute walk to the railway station.I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel from 1st October booked through Citalia. We had a 3rd floor front facing room with sea view and small balcony from which you get a view along the seafront in both directions and can watch the sun setting. Room was a good size with tall ceiling and had tea/coffee facilities and a minibar. Bathroom also large with double sinks but shower and hairdrier were not very powerful. There is a large reception area with sofas and a wide sweeping staircase. Reception staff all speak good English and were very helpful and pleasant. We ate in the hotel restaurant, portions were not huge but with 4 courses there was always plenty to eat and about 4 choices for each course. Food was a bit hit and miss, I couldn't get my knife through the porkbut the lamb, pastas and fish were excellent. Breakfast buffet was always good with plenty of choice. The hotel is a very good base for visiting Pisa, Lucca and Florence. We used the trains, the station about a 20 mins walk from hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at he Grand Royal and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the Grand Hotel Royal we felt a warm welcome. This is a beautiful 1900 Hotel with high ceilings, unpretentious drapes and comfortable furniture. With an hotel of this age there are some areas that need attention but on the whole I found the bedroom very comfortable with two nice chairs to sit in and a table as well as good beds and excellent drawer and hanging space. As expected the bathroom was good although it was difficult to move in the bath as it was rather narrow. There were plenty of bathroom accessories. The decor was a little bland and a picture on the wall would help. We had a second floor twin room looking out to sea (small balcony) and enjoyed the views across the bay in the late September/early October sun. The breakfasts were super, loads of choice and nothing was too much trouble. The best coffee we have had in a Hotel. We also enjoyed the evening meals (which we chose at breakfast) but that wasn't compulsory. There was plenty of fresh fish and salads. The swimming pool area is attractive and the nearby beach wonderful. We found all the staff excellent, helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. I could not fault the staff and the courteous way they spoke to us from the Porters upwards. In fact I would stay here again and again if I wanted to relax and read my books! One of our party required to see a Dentist and the reception staff were more than helpful, enquiring afterwards if everything was OK.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side of the Hotel are quieter as the main road runs past the front of the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful, comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location and our staff service. Thank you.
Hope to welcome you once again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel could use a little bit of updating, but overall it was very charming. And the balcony facing the water was amazing. Wished we had more nights there. Husband loved the breakfast! Parking was easy and the staff was truly exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team.
Hope to see you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#12 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#3 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#9 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing