We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel - it 's one that I've had my eye on for some time and I was not disappointed. Full of grandeur and elegance situated in beautifully kept grounds. The staff were very attentive without exception (special mention to Giuseppe, the barman and apologies if the spelling is incorrect). The fridge in our room was not working when we arrived so we reported it and the maintenance man was there within a matter of minutes and got it replaced. Our room was large and airy, double aspect, with a side sea view and a big bathroom with double sink and very comfy beds. The dining room was absolutely lovely and the food very good.
The location was ideal and we walked up and down the prom a few times. We also walked through the pine woods behind the hotel, very peaceful and loved the duck/goose/swan and terrapin/pool/pond. We went to Pisa by train (thankfully we didn't experience any hassle like a previous reviewer) and thought that the tower was very impressive and an unmissable experience. We also went to Portofino but unfortunately due to choppy waters, our visit was cut short so we only spent just over an hour there and wouldn't have bothered going if we had known as it was two hours there and two hours back.
We also did a trip to Siena (do not miss the Duomo) via San Gimignano which was the most charming place.
Loved, loved, loved this hotel and would be more than happy to go back.

Room Tip: We thought our room 208 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlsandbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after them especially Giuseppe (name spelling correct)
and I will ensure that your comments are passed to him and to all the staff.
Viareggio is the best location to visit Tuscany and his beutiful town, Lucca, Pisa, Florence, Siena, etc etc etc
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Royal thanks once again
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    323
    76
    26
    16
See reviews for
269
629
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just spent a week here with family.Large rooms ,well furnished and cleaned well every day..The staff were all very friendly and helpful..Food was good,although too much salt used for our taste..Although the hotel caters for children,very good cots and high chairs,the evening meals didn't start til 7.30 which for our 2 year old granddaughter was too late..Well located and would use hotel again,but not with small children

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit us again, even with children. Please accept our apologize for the inconvenient caused with restaurant opening time, our staff use to eat around 6.30 pm soo we have no problem to cook a dish of pasta for children from 7 o' clock even with restaurant closed.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We picked this hotel from the reviews on this site , and we were not disapointed !!! We wanted something special as we went here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary , and my 50th birthday. We were upgraded on arrival to one of their superior rooms 519 (a jet bath and a shower), on the top floor at the front , with a wonderful sea view. Yes , there is a busy road , but all the noise we could hear was the crashing of the waves on to the beach , with very little road noise at all , if any. As we were there for 10 days , we were given a voucher for the beach , so we did not have to pay , and it was actually for 2 deck chairs and a parasol , you would have to had to pay for a sun lounger !!! . We were there on a half board basis , so were not aware of the prices of the meals , but they were excellant , the food was great !!! We went to Lucca on the train which cost 3.30 euros , Firenze 9.90 euros , Pisa 3.30 euros. , Lucca and Firenze were fantastic and wonderful places , but Pisa , was awful , full of very aggresive and scary african street hawkers , and we were cornered on a street by these people , i don't know why the Italy goverment or the italian police allow it , this was the only down side to a wonderful 10 days.
This hotel is very much a lovely old "grand dame" it is kept spotlessly clean and tidy , just a bit shabby around the edges , shabby chic, i think some people might call it, but we found this all part of the charm , and yes we would go again. Oh and the best icecream in the resort is right across the road from the hotel , the gelatria is called Grom , wonderful.
All in all , from start to finish , it was a brillant holiday , and i would like to thank all the hotel staff and Citalia for making it a truly wonderful celebration for us !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel Royal. I hope you will return to celebrate your next special occasion with us
Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team here
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel has an old time 'grandeur about it which we found very charming (elegant staircase, chandeliers, wide corridors etc.). The room we had at the rear was spacious, clean and comfortable with a shower cubicle but no bath. Although rooms at the front of the hotel provide a sea view and cost more there is a busy road and a wide promenade with restaurants and shops between the hotel and the beach. Stretches of the large beach are privately owned but Best Western has an agreement whereby residents can access the section opposite for 15 euros per day (2 sun loungers and parasol included). Needless to say, we preferred the quiet of the rear garden with the impressive mountains in the distance.

All staff were very efficient, helpful and approachable dealing with any problems encountered promptly. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food (though for those who like a full English breakfast this was limitied to scrambled eggs and sausages). A 3-course evening meal cost 30 euros but was of a very high quality.

Although surrounded by side roads, the rear gardens were on the whole peaceful and the outdoor pool absolutely superb and well-maintained on a daily basis.

The railway station is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the hotel. Trains run on a regular basis to the main towns/cities in the area and ticket prices are quite reasonable.

Viareggio is an ideal beach resort for visiting Florence, Sienna and Lucca. Just to the north near La Spezia are 5 attractive towns nestled in small coves and all connected by a coastal path. However, a word of advice about visitng these if, like our party, you decide to take the train to the furthest village and then walk back to each in turn. It cost 5 euros to use the coastal path which is basically a narrow ledge cut into the cliff-face and not suitable in changeable weather or for anyone uncomfortable with heights.

When, rather than if, we return to Veriaggio the Best Western Grand will be our first choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooks beach but also road, promenade and restaurants. Rear rooms are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback and i was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. It was also nice to read that you found the rooms comfortable, breakfast was good with plenty of choice and service provided by the team was pleasant and unobtrusive.
It is really thrue, Viareggio is in a ideal location to discover the wonderful historical small town, like Lucca, Pisa, 5 Terre wich have a fantastic sea panorama and of course Florence.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed only for one night but the hotel was very nice.
Pool area is dated but does the job. Staff around the pool were very helpful and the beer was cold so no complaints.
Room was fine. Very clean, no issues. Nice Sea View (thanks for the upgrade)
Breakfast was very good. the best thing was they had a little section on the buffet just for kids, a really nice touch.
Location is right on the beach and handy for local restaurants. Parking is around the side of the hotel and £15 a night is ok.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view. worth a few extra quid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMYewLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel even for only 1 night. . I will certainly share your comments with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is easily the best in the area. The staff are very helpful and courteous; particularly Mario the barman. Very good location for bus and train travel. The pool area was lovely - sadly it poured with rain on our last day but all the other days were warm and sunny which enabled us to also use the beach. There was a convention in the hotel on our last two days and the hotel became dominated by business people which also meant we did not enjoy the evening dining experience so much as guests were crowded into the breakfast room instead of the spacious and grand dining room - we were squashed in a corner and both nights were rather rushed. The food however was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best but there will be noise from the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful. It was also great to hear that you loved our Bar service with Mario. Thank you.
Please accept my sincere apologize to the inconvenient caused the two evening when, a cause of a Big Meeting you was kindly moved to the other small restaurant room where we use to serve breakfast.
i do hope the staff offer you a glass of wine with our apologize, if not this will happened next time for sure!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this hotel very much to our liking staff very efficient nothing was a problem very helpful.
The room was quite large with a sea view, modern bathroom and a large very comfy bed the only downfall was the noise from the front main road. Food nice with a good choice at breakfast and for evening meal, which was reasonably priced. We ended most evenings in the very comfortable bar, where Mario (an extremely attentive bar man) served us after dinner drinks. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night ask for an inside room you may get a better rest unless you can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 53 in Viareggio
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lungomare Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Royal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing