We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Internazionale(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sina Astor(Viareggio)
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mirage(Viareggio)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Marchionni(Viareggio)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel London(Viareggio)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palace Hotel(Viareggio)
$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Katy(Viareggio)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte(Viareggio)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel President(Viareggio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveler rating
875
351
86
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
351
86
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewacross the roadlarge swimming poolwaiter servicehigh ceilingsplenty of sunbedssweeping staircasewide corridorspool barevening mealhalf boardold world charmlovely hotelreception stafftea and coffee making facilitiesdeck chairsstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 8 sept to 22 sept 2012 3rd floor room with balcony. Hotel is a little dated however the grandeur makes up for this. The staff, food and service is excellent and they can't do enough for you. We even forgot the travel plug and asked at reception where we could buy one locally no problem please use this travel plug and return it at the end of your stay fantastic. We travelled with citailia rep fantastic and had a great relationship with all staff at the hotel? Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Definitely pick room with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely large corner room at the back of the hotel with views of the mountains in the distance. Very quiet. Hot water did take quite a long time to reach our room, but once you were aware of this, it wasn't a problem. The hotel is attractive with high ceilings, and wide well lit corridors. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for its rooms and general amenities.

However we found the breakfasts disappointing, and only ate in the hotel in the evening once for their buffet, which was not to our taste at all. We also found the system of chosing your evening meal from the menu presented to you at breakfast a little odd, as its difficult to assess after a long day out sight seeing what you are going to want to eat in the evening. (another reason for not eating in the hotel) Was also surprised that they were unable to supply fresh orange juice, which was readily available everywhere else.

Its a good base for seeing Lucca, Pisa and Florence and we found the train service was excellent

The swimming pool was still open when we were there at the beginning of October, and although we didn't use it, it would have been warm enough to swim.

Enjoyed the icecream at Grom opposite the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Royal.
All clients’ comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel. We are very sorry for didn’t give you positive experience at breakfast, especially if you didn’t find a fresh orange juice, this is very strange, please accept our sincere apologize
Just to clarify give order for dinner meal at breakfast time is not mandatory, only help us to be ready in the evening for your dinner, but, and this is also write very clear in to the Menu on the left page is not mandatory, you can of course order your evening meal when you arrive at the restaurant. Most of our customer (95%)prefere to order at breakfast time, this is why we decide to take the order.
We are strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the guest.
Hope to see you again at The Grand Hotel Royal in the future, and hope to give to you better attention!!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked the hotel after reading good reviews on this site. I can concur with the many reviews that this hotel is definitely a grand place to stay! We spent a week at the hotel in July this year. Our first sight of the hotel as we pulled up in our little hire car in the beautiful sunshine was very impressive. The staff were welcoming and informative and we were told about the free parking around the wooded park behind the hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a lovely sea view and balcony, comfortable bed, spacious and clean, modern bathroom. We were celebrating our anniversary during our stay and the hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of champers! Lovely! Having a room at the front of the hotel means that there is quite a lot of noise from the road, but this is to be expected and did not detract from our enjoyment or ability to sleep. We got up for breakfast a bit late on our first morning and found the cooked breakfast a little disappointing. We found the breakfast much better and more choice by going down earlier. We had one evening meal at the hotel and although the starters were good, we found the main course disappointing. Not because there was anything wrong with it, just that the food was not to our taste. The service in the restaurant was good. We enjoyed lazing around the pool, listening to the birds and enjoying a drink. We often ate in the evening at the restaurants opposite the hotel along the prom, wonderful for people watching and a stroll after your meal. You need to keep your eyes open however as the locals love to ride their pushbikes. The hotel bar is great for a night cap and we often sat outside in the warm evening air sipping a Kir Royale! We visited Pisa, Lucca and Florence, all within easy reach by car, all absolutely amazing. Expect to pay the road tolls both ways. We had a wonderful holiday and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and Viareggio.

Room Tip: Sea view well worth the extra cost. If you prefer a quieter room choose a side sea view or a room overlooking the back of the hotel over the garden and pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cranglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most appreciative feedback - It gives me enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at The Grand
I am sorry that you had a mixed experience in the dining room but again, you persevered and were able to see past the minor lapses in our usual high standards.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand soon
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful, very Italian (how it should be!) and very Grand. We had a beautiful room on the front with a balcony, it was a nice large room (318) with a nice bathroom with shower.

The room and the hotel as spotless and was cleaned well every day.

The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the food too, really good selection, they start with a salad bar, which has far more than just salad so you have to be careful not to over do it, and then you get a choice for a 2nd course, then a main course and then a desert.

The staff in the restaurant were all lovely too, and obviously had a good banter between them sometimes with a mischievous air to them, which made us smile, but they were all very polite and professional.

The location of the hotel is great as it is right on the front so you can sit and watch the people walking by and there are lots of nice shops and restaurants right on the front.

We hired the bikes from the hotel one of the days and cycled quite far as it is all very flat and there is a cycle route all along the coast line so very easy and safe to ride on, would definitely recommend this as you see so much more and it is really a very leisurely pace.

We were there right at the end of the season so things were winding down but we were pleased they kep tthe swimming pool open longer than they advertised as we thought it would close on 15th September, which is when we arrived, but because the weather was so nice they kept it open, and again it was lovely and clean with a nice little bar where you could enjoy lunch there too.

We met and chatted to some lovely people during our stay, there was a lovely German family there who had been visiting Viareggio for over 30 years and they said they had stayed in most of the main hotels but that the Grand Hotel royal was definitely their favourite.

We had some wonderful cocktails in the hotel bar and Mario was a fantastic barman, he was very busy but always found time for a chat or two and he was full of wonderful Italian history, certainly first class service with a smile.

It was a lovely, friendly hotel with a variety of nationalities, don't think anyone one nationality took it over, which was nice too.

We took the train to Lucca from Viareggio, which was very easy, and Lucca was another beautiful Italian city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view of the sea and are great for people watching.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most appreciative feedback - the positive energy is leaping out of my PC! It gives me enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at The Grand
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand another time.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner, Theresa, and I stayed at The Grand Royal from September 8 to 15, 2012. Our first-floor room overlooked the sea and, despite the proximity of the busy main road, there was little noise to disturb us, owing largely to the fact that the building is set back sufficiently far enough for that to be a problem.

Even though our room was a standard one, it was very big and the beds were really wide and comfortable. The air-conditioning was extremely efficient and almost noiseless, so we slept well every night. There was a desk, some easy chairs and a good size television, plenty of lighting and lovely drapes in front of the shutters. The bed linen and bath towels were regularly changed, if requested, and the lady who cleaned our room did a first-class job every day. We did not use the well-stocked minibar.

The bathroom was also big and well-appointed and the shower, toilet and bidet all worked perfectly throughout our stay.Loads of piping hot water at all times.

The Reception Staff were always most courteous and helpful and their computer system made "running a tab" and settling the final bill simplicity itself. All queries and requests for directions and information were dealt with promptly and efficiently.

The sheer spaciousness of the building, its high and wide corridors, marble busts and floors, lovely furniture and lounges, all ensure its thoroughly deserved four star rating. We made full use of these facilities as well as the very comfortable Bar, whose two Barmen were both real "characters" and so welcoming to all of the guests.

There was also a bar and snack facility by the swimming-pool and, whilst neither of us swam in the pool, we did make some use of the plentiful sun-loungers around the poolside. The small gardens and pool area were excellently maintained and there were some really beautiful flowers and shrubs to enjoy.

The Dining-Room was lovely, large and spacious and the food and service were first-rate. For the first five evenings we were able to eat "al fresco" under an enormous marquee extension. This option was not available at breakfast, which was taken in the Dining-Room itself.

Breakfast was buffet style with waiters serving either tea or coffee and, if you wished, you could then order your evening meal from a fairly extensive menu, although absolutely no pressure was exerted to get you to do so. The evening meals were waiter service and the wine-list was unbelievably good and varied, whilst the wines themselves were superb, especially the red Chiantis!! There was certainly no excuse to go hungry, because there was plenty of delicious food at all meals and an antipasti buffet and soup every evening.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at this hotel. We have no hesitation in recommending it to others and would return again, as It represents excellent value for money. We travelled with Thomson and visited Portofino, San Gimignani and Siena on Thomson's excursions. We went by train ourselves to nearby Lucca and Pisa. Viareggio is a great resort, well-situated for sight-seeing and the local transport, particularly the trains, is pretty efficient overall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews