We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand by name and grand by nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“grand by name and grand by nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Have just returned for a week at the grand, booking via Thompson which was good value.
This is without a doubt the best hotel i have ever stayed in, the grand not only met my expectations but succeeded them.
We travelled with my son who is 11 and his said its the best holiday he has ever had! He really loved the pool which is a great sized and there are never too many children in their so he got chance to swim properly. My husband not a fan of the sun so he spent his time in the gardens at the back lounging in the hammocks. When you get too hot there is the lovely airconditioned lobby, which always felt so cool when returning from outdoors, it was also a great place to people watch.
The breakfast room was my favourite place, the room was so light and airy and if you were lucky you got a table near the gardens. The breakfast was fab i particularty loved the choice of croissants on offer, i even tried a custard one, and the big chunks of melon were very welcome.
Dinner in the gardens was very romantic, the waiters are never intrusive and the meal is never rushed. If you are on half board basis you pick your meal at breakfast, i liked that it meant i looked forward after a day sightseeing coming back to my lovely dinner. The soups for starter were my favourite, there is also a great choice of fish dishes and the pudding, yum. Also the meals are presented beautifully and are a treat to the eye as well and the stomach, I liked trying new foods and my son was very adventurous and ate musscels and octopus!
After taking the eveing stroll after dinner along with italians we enjoyed sitting outside in the hotel bar on the compfy benches, the lady at the bar was particulary attentive and deserves a mention, but all the staff were fantastic.
The sea room we had was large and the beds easy to sleep on. I agree with another review about the tv, there were no channels in English other than the news and no kids channels. This is only a small gripe as i don't watch tv much on holiday but its an area that could be improved on i feel
As for the resort itself, well that was great there was so much on your doorstep but as others have said Italy is expensive to eat and drink, am glad we stayed half board. The trains were affordable though, we used them often rather than the bus. Be warned the journey to Forence is long but the views from the train on route are good.
i would come back here again to the hotel without a doubt and want to thank all the staff for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: We booked with thompson holidays and got a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbles070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel
Our hotel is strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the client.
Hope to welcome you again at the Grand
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    291
    68
    25
    13
See reviews for
246
555
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Having decided we wanted to stay in Viareggio we chose this hotel because of the reviews on here. I was apprehensive because I have been very disappointed in the past with poor accommodation. However, the hotel was lovely; lots of character but with modern comfort. We are a family with children aged 13 and 15 and had two spacious clean rooms. The pool was great, the life guard always helped you to find a space, and the beach is close. The location is excellent for exploring and it is easy to get to Florence, lucca, Pisa etc. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, and we had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Other reviews make much of the grandeur of the Hotel and the quality of the food, fantastic location and facilities,. This is perfectly true, however, so much more needs to be said about the staff and their professionalism coupled with their friendlessness, who are exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble for them, as they wish to make your holiday the best expereince possible . We would particularly like to mention Rosaria - for her excellent organisation and courtesy she is a real credit to Great Western Hotels; On reception Gianny & Paulo for their approachablity, helpfulness and good sense of humour. The Dining experience is enhanced by the leadership of Emmanuele who has trained his staff to cater to your every need without fuss and pomp. All the waiters are delightful and well mannered, particularly Daniele.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, in particulary the compliment to our staff,
Our hotel is strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the client.
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent few days at this beautiul hotel in the beginning of August and were very satisfied with the provided service. Hotel looks like a castle, the rooms are nicely renovated and very comfortable. I can higly recommend this hotel and hope to come back soon again. Special thanks to the General Manager Mr. Patruno who was always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monule03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I spent nine days at this wonderful hotel. We had a superb room with a balcony at the front with spectacular sea views. Also great for watching the amazing sights of the carnival! Our room was clean and spacious with two sets of french doors out to the balcony and there were lots of original features. We had a lovely modern and clean bathroom leading off it. Lots of space to hang clothes and good to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel itself was very grand with beautiful marble staircases, ornate floor tiles and high ceilings. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices and dinner was so good we ate in every night. We found staff to be very friendly, courteous and helpful (except for the young blonde lady at reception - we are still waiting for her to help us book a boat trip!!) The beach is just two minutes across the road and is immaculate and very well run. Two deck chairs and umbrella is free with 10 euro extra for a sunbed if you want. The pool area can be found at the back of the hotel by walking through charming gardens. I enjoyed the drinks and canapes provided free of charge in the gardens one evening. All in all we had a fabulous holiday first of all four days based in Florence with lots of sightseeing and trips to surrounding towns and nine relaxing days in the Grand Hotel Royal in Viareggio. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Train service is cheap and efficient so do your own thing! 5 euro to Lucca from Viareggio and 12.50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
Hope to welcome you again at the Grand hotel Royal
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

When we saw the hotel in brochures/on websites, it looked very special and impressive. This was confirmed by our stay and holiday at the hotel. The hotel sits impressively on the sea front - the fact it sits back and has the beautiful gardens makes it stand out.
It is not only the external part of the building that is special, internally it has the air of grandness and elegance - from the impressive Reception area with the sweeping staircase to the breakfast room and 'outdoor' dining room - it does make you feel very special.
We had a room with balcony which overlooked the sea - the room was spacious and clean and had everything we required (including tea and coffee making, which is rare, but so gratefully received). The bathroom was modern, clean and had a great shower which provided hot/warm/cold water when required. The times we sat on the balcony provided superb views of the front and a chance to 'watch the world go by'.
The rear gardens were well laid out and with wooden seats and two hammocks provided a great place to 'lie back' in the shade. The pool is large and there are plenty of loungers around it to satisfy anyone - whether you want sunshine or shade, it can be provided around the pool. The lifeguard on duty is there to ensure everything is safe, but also fair - he does move the loungers around, but is it too much to ask that you try to keep loungers in pairs as that is how people do holiday?
The meals provided (breakfast and dinner) give lots of choice and dinner is excellent - four courses which are different every night and is cuisine of a high standard.
The hotel's section of beach is, literally, only two minutes from the hotel and is clean and provides deck chairs and parasol for guests.
We found all staff to be friendly and courteous - giving us good information on local events, cycle hire, etc - they certainly made us welcome and special, not just 'another' guest.
Overall, a great hotel made it a great holiday for us - we will return to the Grand Hotel Royal and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comment.
Hope to welcome you again at the Grand...
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel for a one off holiday for my husbands retirement. The hotel is beautiful. Very large and airy and the rooms were fabulous. We learnt that the hotel was built in 1910 and it was so nice to see that they have tried to keep it to that era but with a modern feel. The staff are wonderful. Nothing is to much trouble. It is an expensive hotel towards some, but you get what you pay for. The pool is not that large, but is kept wonderfully clean and the there seemed to be enough sunbeds and parasols for the amount of guests that wanted to stay within the hotel grounds. We did go to the beach one day - but at a minimum of around 20 euro per day, we thought that was quite expensive, especially if you are there for 10 days or even two weeks.
We had a few meals in the hotel (we were bed and breakfast only) which we could book on the day. They were lovely, but at one of the buffets we did feel that maybe not as much effort had been put in. All in all, staff, hotel, stay and holiday was wonderful. We plan to go back at some point.

Room Tip: Check you are getting a sea front room, the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind rewiew.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, hope to welcome you again
at the Grand Hotel Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#7 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#11 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal

Property: BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy (Formerly BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing