We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Ely Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ely Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Me and my fiancee stayed here for four nights, and both felt very welcome. all staff could not help enough and very helpfull and profesional. perfect location to all amenities. hotel is well maintaned and found the room very comfortable with a nice balcony to relax on. breakfast was also very well organised and suited us well. could not ask for anything else. a truely great job and also the extra touch of reccomending a perfect wine tasting trip.a big thank you to everyone at hotel ely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffithsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro T, Proprietario at Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for "amazing". We are always happy to know that our customers have enjoyed and appreciated our work and that our suggestions have been useful. See you in Viareggio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

The people running the hotel are very good-natured and sympathetic. As an example, when we were the very last breakfast guests, the girl kindly asked if we would need anything from the buffet or if she could clear it, before taking it away.

The room we stayed (107) was very airy and beautiful - and even ahd a little balcony with see-view. We were very lucky to end up here. I agree with reviewer Brian who says they deserve more than their 2 stars (I expect they'll get the third one at the next accreditation).

If you have more than a day, also be sure to explore Viareggio's very nice park, one street away from the beach. You can rent bicycles and there's lots of stuff to do for kids. It's also way nicer than the regular streets for getting from one end of town to the other.

Room Tip: Room 107 has a balcony with sea-view. If you are with kids, be sure to check out Viareggio's par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro T, Proprietario at Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you Jan,
Your words encourage us to do even better. You were lucky to find one free room that is normally in high demand, but we have other rooms different from each other, both for the price and for adaptability to different needs of guests. Come back to visit and sample our cuisine! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed on this hotel for 4 days and then followed on our trip to Tuscany but, every now and then we kept talking about how much we wanted to be back there!
Well located, such a relaxing environment, friendly people... There are no words to describe how much we felt at home really.
I would strongly recommend that you ask them where you should eat and what! That made the experience special because they do know some amazing places!
Thank you so much to Serena and Carlo for making this special occasion for us so much more memorable!
We will be back with the little one soon!

Room Tip: We loved our room, very high ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gui_Margherita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I'd not really heard of Viareggio before, but was given a tip that it makes a good base for exploring Tuscany and many other attractions nearby. This charming little hotel, run by a family who have all worked in other hotels in the past, is in a perfect location only a couple of minutes walk from the seafront - ask Carlo and he'll show you where the best ice cream is too! The whole family were very welcoming and it rubbed off on the other guests too - I was travelling alone, but couples in the dining room were still keen to chat, which is sometimes hard to do in hotels.
The food at Ely is also lovely, cooked by the mum and daughter, and overall this place deserves much more than its current star rating. I can only echo the other reviewers - stay here and you'll have a home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This family run hotel deserve more than their 2 star rating. We found this little gem by accident during our travel around Europe, we fell in love with this wonderfully family who cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. The 5 members of this family all have their own roll and each do it so well, father should write a book on travel through Italy, whilst mother should give cookery classes, Carlo (rock on )and his lovely wife have a good command of English and her sister is absolutely charming. We would wish them all the best for their future and if they carry on as we have experienced they will go far as Hoteliers. We will be back for carnival. xxxxx Brian &Theresa

.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro T, Proprietario at Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I'm always embarrassed to respond to so good reviews. It's seems to be "suggested", but it is not. I realized that they would have left a very good feedback when, prior to departure, they gave us a box of deliciuous chocolates. I am convinced that we have not treated them better than other customers, maybe we were just more dedicated of the other hosts they have encountered on their journey. Thanks Theresa and Brian, we are waiting for you to come for the Carnival, we'll match the event to a cooking class!
Sandro and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Ely Hotel in Viareggio 2 nights during Xmas Holidays, and booked 2 rooms. Everything exceeded our expectation, and I can only reiterate the positive impressions of other travelers who posted their reviews.
The rooms we were allocated were very nice, with high ceilings, spacious and clean. Location wise it is perfect, and I can only imagine how great it is during summer, just a stone thrown from the beach.
We also had dinner at the hotel, and I can't recall us going to a nicer place during our holidays; the food (...and the wine) was delicious, everything home made and presented with care and warmth.
All was positive, and the attentive and unobtrusive customer service of Serena, Carlo and everyone in the family is something that should set a benchmark as to how small independent hotels should be run (as a plus, they all speak perfect English!!)
As the title above says, Absolutely Brilliant, and we hope to have the chance to go and visit them all soon again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZ-goer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been with a friend of mine... the place is beautiful! this is family business, so the welcome is very warm and everyone is looking after you!
La mama cooks very well and we loved the father who tried to speak our language very well and gives you a lot of tips to visit around!!
We had a very good time there and will come back definitely!
The beach is just 5 min walk and very clean!
The rooms are cleaned and authentic... so very italian!!
Thank you also to the marvellous Carlos and Serena!
From the french and belgium ladies :)
A bientot!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 51 in Viareggio
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marchionni
Hotel Marchionni
#27 of 51 in Viareggio
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#16 of 51 in Viareggio
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ely Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ely Hotel

Address: Via Carrara, 16 | Fra la Pineta ed Il Mare, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range: $54 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ely Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambitious goal is to provide to our customers the memory of the taste, relaxation and a personalized treatment, but at the same time professional that every day we aim to deliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ely Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing