We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how small, family-run hotels should be!”
Review of Ely Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ely Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I'd not really heard of Viareggio before, but was given a tip that it makes a good base for exploring Tuscany and many other attractions nearby. This charming little hotel, run by a family who have all worked in other hotels in the past, is in a perfect location only a couple of minutes walk from the seafront - ask Carlo and he'll show you where the best ice cream is too! The whole family were very welcoming and it rubbed off on the other guests too - I was travelling alone, but couples in the dining room were still keen to chat, which is sometimes hard to do in hotels.
The food at Ely is also lovely, cooked by the mum and daughter, and overall this place deserves much more than its current star rating. I can only echo the other reviewers - stay here and you'll have a home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Ely Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 196 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

This family run hotel deserve more than their 2 star rating. We found this little gem by accident during our travel around Europe, we fell in love with this wonderfully family who cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. The 5 members of this family all have their own roll and each do it so well, father should write a book on travel through Italy, whilst mother should give cookery classes, Carlo (rock on )and his lovely wife have a good command of English and her sister is absolutely charming. We would wish them all the best for their future and if they carry on as we have experienced they will go far as Hoteliers. We will be back for carnival. xxxxx Brian &Theresa

.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro T, Proprietario at Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I'm always embarrassed to respond to so good reviews. It's seems to be "suggested", but it is not. I realized that they would have left a very good feedback when, prior to departure, they gave us a box of deliciuous chocolates. I am convinced that we have not treated them better than other customers, maybe we were just more dedicated of the other hosts they have encountered on their journey. Thanks Theresa and Brian, we are waiting for you to come for the Carnival, we'll match the event to a cooking class!
Sandro and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Ely Hotel in Viareggio 2 nights during Xmas Holidays, and booked 2 rooms. Everything exceeded our expectation, and I can only reiterate the positive impressions of other travelers who posted their reviews.
The rooms we were allocated were very nice, with high ceilings, spacious and clean. Location wise it is perfect, and I can only imagine how great it is during summer, just a stone thrown from the beach.
We also had dinner at the hotel, and I can't recall us going to a nicer place during our holidays; the food (...and the wine) was delicious, everything home made and presented with care and warmth.
All was positive, and the attentive and unobtrusive customer service of Serena, Carlo and everyone in the family is something that should set a benchmark as to how small independent hotels should be run (as a plus, they all speak perfect English!!)
As the title above says, Absolutely Brilliant, and we hope to have the chance to go and visit them all soon again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZ-goer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been with a friend of mine... the place is beautiful! this is family business, so the welcome is very warm and everyone is looking after you!
La mama cooks very well and we loved the father who tried to speak our language very well and gives you a lot of tips to visit around!!
We had a very good time there and will come back definitely!
The beach is just 5 min walk and very clean!
The rooms are cleaned and authentic... so very italian!!
Thank you also to the marvellous Carlos and Serena!
From the french and belgium ladies :)
A bientot!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

A family run hotel with a warm, friendly atmosphere. Carlos and his family cannot do enough for you and the hotel, whilst a little dated, is exceptionally clean and well maintained.

Mother cooks beautiful rustic evening meals and I Via reggio is a lovely little seaside town.

The beaches opposite all charge and you have a choice of about twenty strips of sand, run by hotels or bars. Prices range from 20 - 30 euros a day and are in the main well maintained. Paying to go on the beach is a great idea as it keeps away the riff raff.

Hotel Ely is a great base from which t o explore this wonderful area. Reccomended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Probably one of the best "small and friendly" hotels I have ever stayed at. The family run team of staff could not do enough for us, We were half board and the food was excellent. cooked by the wife of the owner and one of his daughters, very reasonable priced wine was available, the room was always spotlessly clean, airconditioned, and spacious, and it was very easy to park right outside ( 3 euros a day) Only a few metres from the sea front the street was remarkably quiet in the evenings. The beds were very comfortable. A super place to stay

Room Tip: The upgrade to superior room is well worth the small extra, with their high ceilings and "liber...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Explorer_Girl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#12 of 51 in Viareggio
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marchionni
Hotel Marchionni
#26 of 51 in Viareggio
380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lupori
Hotel Lupori
#27 of 51 in Viareggio
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#16 of 51 in Viareggio
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ely Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ely Hotel

Address: Via Carrara, 16 | Fra la Pineta ed Il Mare, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range: $63 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ely Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambitious goal is to provide to our customers the memory of the taste, relaxation and a personalized treatment, but at the same time professional that every day we aim to deliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ely Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing