We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Sina Astor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sina Astor
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from the Astor and had a very pleasant experience.
The room we had (229) was very comfortable with a sea view and small balcony.
We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous at all times.
The evening meal had a wide choice to suit most and the breakfast was also very substantial.
We hope to return when next visiting Viareggio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jab58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    225
    113
    31
    16
See reviews for
86
247
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed in an annex room of the hotel (150 euro a night).
Terrible noise from the airco engines in the courtyard. Could hardly sleep ! Don't stay there!
Room 105 (where i stayed) has The bedroom On the frontside, Just above The airo engines. Leave a key On The table and enjoy The MUSIC All Night !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ernestbujok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Free breakfast, gym and indoor swimming pool. Nice location. Buy wifi access (€3/hour). 50 metres from beach, and restaurant strip. Umbrella (with 2+1 beach chairs) costs €22,50 with hotel discount in july. We preferred to arrive by train from the airport in Pisa, but if you have a car you could try to find cheaper or more luxurious areas on the beach that goes on for miles and miles, but the beach outside Hotel Astor is beautiful and all you'd ever need. Many restaurants are located in the area, and a groccery store on the other side of the park behind the hotel (10 min. walk). The room (in the annex) was clean, quite large, newly renovated, and had a OK standard. Viareggio is a quiet place, to enjoy the sun and the beach with your loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oejohnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at The Astor for one week 24-June - 1st July I was really impressed with this hotel the staff were professional, courteous our room was great a roof deluxe double looked through Citalia a side sea view balcony sun all afternoon!! we asked for sun beds these were provided at not cost. The rooms always kept clean & towels were changed twice a day!!The restaurant was excellent, staff very proficient the food (local seafood and meats) were outstanding I would definately recommend people to use this restaurant! Also excellent wine list! Viareggio is a great place to relax easy walking beaches great plenty of excellent places to eat lunch. All in all a great find! I will definitely be booking again next summer!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Senn0ckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After staying at a lovely hotel on Lake Maggiore before driving down to Tuscany, this hotel couldn't quite meet the same standard, although it was pleasant enough. The location was great - right across from the lovely sandy beach and it looked quite smart, but didn't quite have all the boxes ticked. The staff could have done with being more friendly and offering advice, tips etc - like where to park the car, about the hotels facilities (pool etc). Parking was a bit of a pain, we paid 8EUR a day for a permit to park near the park. There was no UK TV and no free Wi-Fi, something i'd have thought most hotels would offer. The view from our room was great - across to the beach.

In Viareggio, we spend a day on the beach and paid a reasonable 12EUR for two people (umbrella and deckchairs) - this was at a beach club the hotel receptionist recommended. Restaurants were a little limited, there were a couple across from the hotel but not as nice as we have seen in other Italian resorts.

So all in all, not bad, but not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent our first summer vacation week at hotel astor i Viareggio in june. We got a lovely room, a long but narrow balkony, but that didn't matter because the beach ws so beautiful. Yes, it was expensive but worth it. The restaurants across the street have great food and good service! The only thing that destroyed the trip was that the hotel had forgotten to take our payment when we booked our reservation in november and found it out the day we checked out. So we had to pay for our stay when we thought we had payed 8months ago.....that was not in our vacation budget!

Room Tip: ask to get the sea veiw from the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Astor is very pleasant, beautifully positioned, just takes a little thin walls... Our dog was very happy there. And we were happy too. Pool is beautiful, breakfest is rich. And this is not the cheapest hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Astor

Property: Sina Astor
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Astor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sina Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing