We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Viareggio on a lark on our way to Cinqueterre. Without reservations we looked at a couple two star hotels along the beach then decided to see Hotel President. For a small amount over the other hotels we got a beautiful view room with a balcony and all the extras of a four star hotel! Hotel President is great! Besides everything being perfect the breakfast is unbelievable! Made to order omelettes, French toast, crepes all included! So if you want to splurge during the season or get a good deal off-season, Hotel President is the place to stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Mrcbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    160
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
85
295
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only whilst on busness in the area.We were late arriving and were greated by a smile and a 'nothing is too much trouble 'attitude. The room was lovely and clean with a view of the sea. Breakfast was full of choice and the staff friendly and smiling. When we checked out we were met with a smile and friendly banter. I hope we return to the hotel again one day. My lasting impression is of a happy hotel with a touch of class.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scaryDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Managing Director at Hotel President, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read all your positive comments and particularly those referring to our room and service.
Your perception is exactly hitting the mark of what we want to be, an elegant Hotel where guests however can feel at home with a relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff.
Hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again on your next trip to Viareggio.
Kindest Regards
Alessandra Cilia
Managing Director
Hotel President Viareggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I just dropped in for lunch (from off the street) during the Carinvale, as other restaurants on the promenade were too busy and snobby to let us in.

At 1.30pm we were told by the other restaurants it was too late?!

My boyfriend came up with the fabulous idea of popping into a Hotel to see if their Restaurant was available (as I am pregnant and couldn’t wander much more without food). We also wanted something more than re-heated side-walk pizza slices.

The Hotel President’s Restaurant was just fantastic.

The Hotel’s Receptionist greeted us in a lovely friendly manner, and we asked her if it were possible to dine in their restaurant for Lunch away from the busy Carnivale. She checked with the Chef and came back with ‘no problems’ and a smile.

She then went off to print two menus for us especially in English and she ended up looking after us because we could see the other waitress was busy clearing up and closing down for the next dining session.

I’m not sure if she usually waits on tables, but she was superb. She was friendly and helpful and even opened the curtains so that we could watch the Carnivale parade whilst dining.

We were promptly given water and a selection of freshly made breads with butter once we were sat. We then both had pasta – which was clearly made fresh and was delicious! Along with mineral water, my boyfriend had half a carafe of Chianti and a side. Our lunch was wonderful and then we left to enjoy the rest of the day.

It was a short but such a top experience! The pasta certainly didn’t disappoint. It goes without saying, we tipped well, as it was well deserved. Our lunch came to 46 euros without the tip and was worth every cent!

We are considering staying at this hotel next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sassyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Reception Team at Hotel President, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about us on Tripadvisor.
My name is Laila and I'm the Restaurant receptionist who has greeted and assisted you during your lunch at Carnival.
I was very happy to read that you have enjoyed our restaurant cuisine.
Our aim is to meet our guests expectations and make them feel at home so it is very rewarding for us to read such a nice review and learn we have reached it with you.
Please contact me if you may come back to Viareggio in the future, I'll be very happy to take care of you again.
Best wishes from all of us for your baby!
Kindest regards
Laila
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great little hotel. Extremely helpful/accomidating staff. The rooms were what we expected in a 4 star hotel. Great jumping off point for Lucca, Chinque Terre and Florence. I would definitely stay they again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roaminginitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice posting. I am delighted to read your positive comments and particularly those referring to our Staff.
We couldn't agree more that Viareggio is a special resort with all the most popular cities at a short distance to visit.
We all hope to have you here again soon and once again thank you.

Kindest regards

Alessandra Cilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serre-Chevalier, France
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for a couple of days here on a mini trip to Tuscany. Well located with view directly over the sea. Breakfast good. Staff all very nice. Clean and good sized rooms. Well located and easy to walk most p,aces from here. We arrived end of September and it was pleasant. I really cannot imagine what viareggia would be like in August!

Would recommend this hotel. We used the bar - pleasant but lacked a little ambience - shame because we probably would have used it more if it was a little bit more modern & trendy...

Never ate in the restaurant so we cannot comment. This is because the lights were very bright at night.... Not what we wanted

Overall a nice hotel

Room Tip: Balcony & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Would happily recommend this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and cleaned to a high standard every day. Food was excellent (we were half-board so this was included in the price we paid, otherwise restaurant prices would have been on the expensive side)
We had a very relaxing week and would be very happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed two nights here and it was just great! Our room was overlooking the beach and although the balcony was small(just enough room for two chairs) it was perfect. The electronic shutters was great for keeping out the light and noise. The cosy robes, slippers, plush towels were all a bonus. We didnt have a coffee maker in the room and all it took was a request and within a few minutes a Nespresso machine was delivered to our room. The buffet breakfast was top notch. We had access to the beach club with chairs, umbrella and beach towels. Great service, value and would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buffboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#11 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing