We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A gem close to the sea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem close to the sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our second booking with this lovely hotel, and I must say we are looking forward to booking with them again next year.
We came to them after a week in Siena looking for a few days relaxing by the sea.
The hotel is well situated, just a short walk across the road from the promenade. It proves to be a very convenient location, the promenade being the home for numerous restaurants/cafes and an excellent array of quality shops.
On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful reception staff, and this was again reflected by all the other members of the hotel staff with whom we had contact.
Our room was on the fifth floor, it was spacious and airy with excellent panoramic views of the promenade and the beach areas. Housekeeping was wonderfully efficient, the room and en-suite shower room was always fresh and clean.
Breakfast was provided in a light and spacious dining room, a good selection always available and specialities cooked to order on request.
The ground floor areas also included the hotel lounge & bar - a comfortable seating area where you could relax and peruse the provided newspapers and magazines.
In the evening friendly and efficient bar staff catered for your requirements.
The hotel has an arrangement with a couple of the beach resorts where guests can access their facilities at a much reduced daily charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    146
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
80
270
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited this hotel for a week in July 2013. The hotel was lovely and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a good location for the Irene beach, the Balena swimming pool and there were a lot of different restaurants on the promenade to choose from.

Our room was basic and did overlook the building site but it was very clean and all we needed. We were given a free welcome drink and a free leaving drink, which was a lovely touch. The breakfast selection was lovely.

The train station is about 15 mins walk and we visited Florence, Lucca and Pisa by train. We hired a car from Europcar at the train station and drove to Siena, San Gimignano and Pietra Santa which made for a great day out.

Make sure when you book that the deck chairs on the beach are included daily for you, otherwise it will be quite expensive for you to go on the beach! And also, wearing a swimming cap is compulsory for everyone in the pools!!!

We would recommend this hotel and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smalls1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A classy hotel with some of the best food I’ve ever eaten in many trips to Italy (and anywhere else in the world come to think about it!). A well run hotel with polite and helpful staff. Location is a little bit deceptive from the brochure, it’s not on the front but there are sea view rooms. But don’t let that worry you; it’s a first class hotel. Would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevePu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was large and comfortable...the staff was excellent...the restaurant was very nice, a large breakfast and very good dinners...the location was excellent...the beach facilities, under agreement, were veery good...I would stay again and do recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and unfortunately they had double booked our room for one night. The hotel manager was very apologetic, booked us into a hotel round the corner for one night, and arranged transport for the short journey. They even offered to pick us up the next day, but the 200 metre walk I felt was something I could handle myself!

The next day when we returned they had upgraded our room, gave us free access to one of the local beaches (you have to pay for beach access in Viareggio) for the rest of the week and a complimentary meal in their restaurant.

A small mistake at the start, but they more than made up for it, the staff were a delight. I could not recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We found the hotel to be well situated on the beachfront and yet close to central viareggio and all it offers - which to be fair is not a lot, but this hotel offers very comfortable and cool rooms - essential for our 4 night stay in July - and is suprizingly quiet being next to the main front with good quality double glazing and shutters. There was a building site next door with large crane but no work was going on while we were there. Ambiance of the hotel was smart and reasonably sophisticated and the staff were all helpful and amiable - they even have an English newspaper daily in the bar. Food was very good, although we only had breakfast, but there was a good choice of cooked and continental foods, although as usual bacon was nothing like in England. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are searching for the nice and friendly hotel in Viareggio and would like to spend your time on the beach, this is a right place.
Hotel President has a great location, very friendly staff and lots of pleasant surprises for you. I didn´t like our room at the beginning so the staff let me choose from 3 rooms. They were very helpful. I chose the one with the balcony (but no carpet). All the basic rooms were decorated in colonial style and were almost the same.
What I absolutely loved was a breakfast – very nice hot/cold buffet with champagne, that´s what you need:-)! Restaurant was excellent (perfect waiters) and we had the possibility to visit it twice for a complimentary dinner. The only thing I didn´t like in the hotel was the room service. They were very precise, but very noisy and working from 7 o´clock in the morning!
I was little bit disappointed from the beach club Balena – you have to pay 25 euro/day for an umbrella and two sun chairs (sun chairs! Sunbed is extra) and the club is not very clean. During our stay it was full of children and still very noisy. The see was full of trash so we preferred the pool (full of children).
Be prepared to pay a lot of extra money for your stay – for parking, dinners, beach club. It´s not very cheap vacation, but the hotel is worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#11 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#9 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing