We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Helpful and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the President. Initially we were unhappy with our room as we overlooked the building site ( I have to add it is not being worked on). When mentioned we were moved to a lovely light airy room (103) with views to the town and sea which meant a lovely breeze. The bed was large, plenty of pillows but a bit hard. There were good amount of sockets, hangers in the wardrobes, hairdryer and mini bar. Rooms were cleaned and tidied daily and towels changed regularly. Bathrooms had showers only which were very efficient. The air con in the rooms was excellent and easily adjusted. The windows have electric shutters which allowed a small amount of light in if you wished it.
Breakfast was good, very good coffee machines, pastries, toast maker, three cereals to choose from, cold meats and cheeses, fresh salmon and champagne if you fancied it also and juice. The restaurant as with all public areas were spotless with excellent service. The bar tender was particularly good at making cocktails, we enjoyed going back there after eating out and going for a stroll.
The hotel has no pool, there is use of one down the road but we used the lovely Irene beach. We had free use of this with our Thomas cook package which included the use of 2 deck chairs and a parasol, we paid for 1 sun lounger a day at a cost of 5 euros a day. The owners of the Irene were very friendly and efficient even keeping our same spot on the beach for us if we wanted it the next day. They have a lifeguard on duty and one day when the red flag was showing were doing an excellent job watching those in the sea. I have to recommend the food at this beach cafe too. It was amazingly good value and so fresh. I would recommend the bruchetta, it was delicious and plentiful also the fresh salads are fab. We really loved it there.
Viareggio is a working town, you will get some traffic noise but it's not a problem. There is a long stretch of flat cycle path, you can hire bikes cheaply. The hotel will help you organise anything. The public transport if efficient and very cheap, we went to Lucca for the day on the bus, it's beautiful. Shopping is also excellent suiting all price ranges it's easy to get carried away!
There are lots of places to eat and drink, would recommend Sa Playa. It's worth going around the back of the hotels and exploring the back streets for restaurants and cafes, we found some good ones. You can either dress up or go casual when eating out however we like to make the effort on holiday. Viareggio is a very relaxed place to stay, we love it, it's not expensive either compared to some of the cities.
We stayed at the grand royal last year but wanted to have a varied choice eating out in the evenings this year.
Also the weather was boiling hot, aprox 35 degrees most days, fine on the beach as there was a breeze.

Room Tip: Room 103 was very light and airy though I hear the superior rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    151
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
274
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In more than 25 trips to Italy the President has given us the best guest experience we have had. The staff were unfailingly cheerful, polite, helpful and most importantly, interested without being intrusive; cleaning staff, restaurant staff, bar staff and everyone on reception (thank you especially to Jessica for her advice on cafes, local food, and Italian bureaucracy). The location is first rate for the passegiata, the shops, the bars, the beach, the station only 10 mins walk. The accommodation was comfortable (502 - top floor, sea view, no balcony but Juliet railing), the linen crisp and towels thick and fluffy, the public areas spotless and seemed freshly decorated. Good breakfast, all fresh. We had a fly in the ointment in the shower-only en-suite, where the tiling and cubicle are tired and due for a re-furb in a 4* rated hotel. The mixer malfunctions, so the water temperature fluctuates from too cool to too hot. We're pretty laid back and only there for a week, so OK for us that it was not fixed during our stay. For a longer stay I would be want that fixed. Overall, still excellent. I have written to the hotel too.

Room Tip: Building site to the south side, not active during our stay, but cranes are up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a stay at this hotel its wonderful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the public area's are spotless, and all the staff are so helpful they really can't do enough for you.
Would I go again, yes I would and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as its central for train,buses and only 30mins from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed with my family for two nights at the President unfortunately we were spoilt by the luxury of staying the previous five nights in the Principe Hotel with a rooftop pool. But the staff were helpful, the Breakfast was better lots of choice!! shame we were facing the building site but no works happening at the time,We thought the walls were very thin! we used one of the Bagnos named Irene for the day at a cost of five euros each for deckchairs and umbrella clean beach showers changing rooms restuarant all you need for a day at the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuttybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor and was not disappointed.
The staff could not have been more helpful, from upgrading our room to a front sea view, providing bus and train time tables suggesting short trip destinations and being generally friendly.
While the bedroom and bathroom were quite small they were more than adequate, and spotlessly clean. The dining room was bright and airy,and again the service was first class. Buffet breakfast was excellent with the usual selection of fresh fruit, breads, cold meats, cereals,hot food, juices,tea and coffees.The location is very central, close to the bus and railway station, just across the road from shops , close to the market and the harbor. if visiting Viareggio again this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with balcony sea facing 1-3 on 1st. 2nd. and 3rd. floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Brilliant hotel, Great staff and food, Excellent location for the train station to visit Lucca, Florence and Pisa which was cheap and easy. We went on an organised trip to Sienna which is quite a distance so a warning here that it is a three hour return journey with no stop. Viareggio is a lovely resort to potter around with a sandy beach and the only negative thing is being constantly disturbed by traders trying to sell you "junk". We left a letter for the guest manager as we wanted to formally pass our appreciation to all the staff from the managers to the cleaners for giving such a great holiday. Janet

Room Tip: we were given a sea view with no extra payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janethaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the Hotel President.
Hotel is family owned and runs like clockwork. The staff are very smiley & helpful. The decor is traditional and very clean. We had room 302, third floor sea facing with a balcony. Room although basic had every thing we required and enjoyed a lovely sea view.
The hotel is positioned in an excellent location within the resort and the train station and bus station are within easy walking distance.
Be aware that there is a building site next to the hotel and the majority of rooms overlook this. Sea facing rooms have the best aspect. (rooms 1-3 on each floor)

Room Tip: Floor 3 rooms 301, 302 & 303 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#8 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing