We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In more than 25 trips to Italy the President has given us the best guest experience we have had. The staff were unfailingly cheerful, polite, helpful and most importantly, interested without being intrusive; cleaning staff, restaurant staff, bar staff and everyone on reception (thank you especially to Jessica for her advice on cafes, local food, and Italian bureaucracy). The location is first rate for the passegiata, the shops, the bars, the beach, the station only 10 mins walk. The accommodation was comfortable (502 - top floor, sea view, no balcony but Juliet railing), the linen crisp and towels thick and fluffy, the public areas spotless and seemed freshly decorated. Good breakfast, all fresh. We had a fly in the ointment in the shower-only en-suite, where the tiling and cubicle are tired and due for a re-furb in a 4* rated hotel. The mixer malfunctions, so the water temperature fluctuates from too cool to too hot. We're pretty laid back and only there for a week, so OK for us that it was not fixed during our stay. For a longer stay I would be want that fixed. Overall, still excellent. I have written to the hotel too.

Room Tip: Building site to the south side, not active during our stay, but cranes are up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    147
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
80
271
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a stay at this hotel its wonderful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the public area's are spotless, and all the staff are so helpful they really can't do enough for you.
Would I go again, yes I would and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as its central for train,buses and only 30mins from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed with my family for two nights at the President unfortunately we were spoilt by the luxury of staying the previous five nights in the Principe Hotel with a rooftop pool. But the staff were helpful, the Breakfast was better lots of choice!! shame we were facing the building site but no works happening at the time,We thought the walls were very thin! we used one of the Bagnos named Irene for the day at a cost of five euros each for deckchairs and umbrella clean beach showers changing rooms restuarant all you need for a day at the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuttybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor and was not disappointed.
The staff could not have been more helpful, from upgrading our room to a front sea view, providing bus and train time tables suggesting short trip destinations and being generally friendly.
While the bedroom and bathroom were quite small they were more than adequate, and spotlessly clean. The dining room was bright and airy,and again the service was first class. Buffet breakfast was excellent with the usual selection of fresh fruit, breads, cold meats, cereals,hot food, juices,tea and coffees.The location is very central, close to the bus and railway station, just across the road from shops , close to the market and the harbor. if visiting Viareggio again this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with balcony sea facing 1-3 on 1st. 2nd. and 3rd. floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Brilliant hotel, Great staff and food, Excellent location for the train station to visit Lucca, Florence and Pisa which was cheap and easy. We went on an organised trip to Sienna which is quite a distance so a warning here that it is a three hour return journey with no stop. Viareggio is a lovely resort to potter around with a sandy beach and the only negative thing is being constantly disturbed by traders trying to sell you "junk". We left a letter for the guest manager as we wanted to formally pass our appreciation to all the staff from the managers to the cleaners for giving such a great holiday. Janet

Room Tip: we were given a sea view with no extra payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janethaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the Hotel President.
Hotel is family owned and runs like clockwork. The staff are very smiley & helpful. The decor is traditional and very clean. We had room 302, third floor sea facing with a balcony. Room although basic had every thing we required and enjoyed a lovely sea view.
The hotel is positioned in an excellent location within the resort and the train station and bus station are within easy walking distance.
Be aware that there is a building site next to the hotel and the majority of rooms overlook this. Sea facing rooms have the best aspect. (rooms 1-3 on each floor)

Room Tip: Floor 3 rooms 301, 302 & 303 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The staff is very helpful, multilingual (we got help in Dutch) and checking in went probably as smooth as we have ever checked in anywhere.

Parking around the hotel is plentyful and you can buy a 8 euro ticket at the reception that covers all day. The railway station is a 15min. walk and connects you to Pisa and Lucca in about 20-25 minutes, Florence 1h.45 min and La Spezia in about 1 hour, from where you can visit Cinque terre.

For breakfast there was plenty of choice with plumcake, different kinds of croissants, cornflakes, cheeses and meats, toast, fruit juices, fruit and so on.
Two coffee machines serve you, but if you want, the staff will make you a fresh cappucino or cafe ristretto without additional cost.

The hotel has NO pool, but you can choose to go to two Lido's, Irene or Balena 2000, of which the latter has a swimming pool. Reserve your spot at the receptiondesk, receive a receipt and walk to the lido of your choice to get seats, a clean beach, umbrella and acces to the pool, cloathing rooms, toilets, a bar, even a fitness if you fancy (at Balena).

There is no lunch package available for early birds, but if you ask the night before they will let you in to have coffee and cornflakes breakfast.

All in all we enjoyed our 14day stay at the hotel, it's staff, clean rooms (with mini bar/fridge) and hospitality.

They also have the service to let you print your boarding passes the night before so you can reserve your place on the plane. No need to take your computer/laptop with you as they have several laptops at everyone's disposal which you can take up to your room and enjoy the free wifi.

A top hotel which we will be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#12 of 54 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#9 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#3 of 54 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 54 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing