We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable and clean hotel”
Review of Hotel Derna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Derna
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The reception was warm and welcoming. The room was commodious and definitely clean with a good shower. The balcony was nice, for I could gaze at the starry night. Breakfast was nourishing with a good selection. The location is close to the boardwalk. Whenever I return to Viareggio, I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loli074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

This family run Hotel is very clean and well kept. The continental breakfast was excellent and all the staff were extremely helpful.
The bedroom was a good size for a double with en suite facilities and fully air conditioned
Situated just 3 mins from the beautiful beaches and main shopping, bars and restaurants.
Would definitely stay here again.
John S

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The only good things about this hotel are it's central location and the friendly staff. Everything else is far below what you would expect from a three star hotel and especially at the prices they ask.
The room was small, the furniture was old, the bathroom was old and disgusting. There was mould on the shower curtain and under the sink. The wifi was slow. The room was also very noisy, even with the doors and windows closed: at night we were kept awake by a couple having loud intercourse, in the early morning we were woken by a screaming baby. This hotel hardly merits one star, let alone three. I would not return here and I do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDerna, Direttore at Hotel Derna, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014
Google Translation

L'arredamento dell'Hotel è stato completamente rinnovato nel 2012. Dato che ha aspettato sei mesi a recensire, è sicura di essere venuta nella nostra struttura?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed 29 June for 4 nights. Nice clean and comfortable hotel in a good location. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast was better than we had been getting at a 4 star hotel in Montecatino the previous 7 days.Room was good and although there was no view there was a balcony which I was not expecting. I am a good sleeper but I could hear a bit of noise although very quiet by midnight. I had a twin room for single use. About a 10 minute walk from the train and bus stations and the town centre. Right next to a lovely park where there are restaurants, kids entertainment and bike hire. We hired bikes from there which only cost 8 Euros for the day and we had them from 9am until 8pm. and an umbrella. Viareggio is a large and busy seaside town. It has a large harbour area and the beaches were great but it cost 10 Euros each for the use of chairs and an umbrella. A great location for touring using the trains and buses. Take a trip to nearby Santo Pietro on the bus (5 Euros return) take the train to beautiful Florence or use the cycle tracks to get to Puccini's Villa / lake. This is a great location if you want to tour or just chill on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in the hotel with our 1 year old daughter. This is a three star hotel, so even if we booked a room in the 'old part', we thought that it will be still OK. It was not. The room was small like a hole, a bit smelly and was not 100% clean. No air condition. We asked for another room, which they did not have for the first night, but we could change the day after, so we get another room for the second night. The second room was quite OK, big, spacious, with air condition. Otherwise the hotel is nice, very well located (just few steps from the seaside and the promenade) and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaTama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Lovely friendly family-run hotel, really close to the heart of Viareggio, overlooking one of the wonderful parks. The owners were exceptionally helpful and chatty, offering lots of info on what to see and do in Viareggio, as well as staying open for myself and my mum past the 'official' end of the summer season for a few days. The room was very comfortable, clean and simply furnished, with plenty of room for both of us, very comfortable beds, lots of wardrobe space, a fridge and a lovely balcony. The central location meant it was only 10mins walk from the train station and a few minutes walk to the beautiful beach.

My only complaint was no wi-fi in the hotel, but that meant I had a true holiday from everything - no emails, no internet!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 1234Federika5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Ely Hotel
Ely Hotel
#18 of 51 in Viareggio
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midy
Hotel Midy
#33 of 51 in Viareggio
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#4 of 51 in Viareggio
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tahiti
Hotel Tahiti
#24 of 51 in Viareggio
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#30 of 51 in Viareggio
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lupori
Hotel Lupori
#26 of 51 in Viareggio
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derna

Address: Viale Michelangelo Buonarroti 73, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range: $82 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derna 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 meters from the sandy beach and 10 minutes walk from the train station of Viareggio, the Derna is centrally located and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and rooms with LCD TV and private bathroom. The bar awaits you with its classic drinks and guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with sweet and savory products. The Hotel Derna is a 5-minute drive from the A12 motorway and 10 km from the popular seaside resort of Forte dei Marmi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Derna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing