We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at reasonable prices but slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sa Playa

Sa Playa
Ranked #31 of 454 Restaurants in Viareggio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Busy restaurant/pizzeria/bar on seafront
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We got the last table that wasn't reserved which unfortunately was in a 'corridor' between the building and one of the two main seating areas. It was a bit cramped and one of the waiters had difficulty in getting past without kicking our table. It was also rather warm as the fans in the other areas didn't reach us.

Our order was taken quickly and the drinks brought quickly. Unfortunately our food took over 30 minutes, by far the longest of any restaurant in the past 12 days of our stay. We reckon they couldn't quite cope with the numbers.

The food was well cooked and the portions large and the cost very reasonable. We would consider going back if we could get a different table and at a less busy time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    557
    220
    81
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is so popular, there is a large choice of food, seafood was excellent and very popular, try the calamari and sea bass.
There can sometimes be a queue but the guy will tell you how long you have to wait, we never waited more an ten minutes and they go all out to make sure you are seated quickly. Service is efficient and friendly. We ate there several times, you cant help going back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very busy, excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ate here twice within a week (so it must have been good) and it was very busy but they sorted out a table and served us promptly. The food choice is very good and they serve Nastro Azzuro beer (a lot of places nearby don't even serve Italian Beer which seems strange).

We had an amazing seafood platter, very good quality seafood other dishes where very good too.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little busy restraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

While staying for 4 days at Viarregio We eat at this restraunt on 6 meals out of 8 meals that we had while there. It was recommended to us by our hotel where we stayed . It is a very busy restraunt and it is worth booking if you need to make sure that you have food here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Queue already at season start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

On an eraly Jube Saturday evening we had the idea of stopping for a dinner in Viareggio. We walked along the lungomare to find the right place and Sa Playa seemed to be the best choice. Though there was already a queue with some patience we got our table outside and had a wonderful pizza frutti di mare. It was delicious, fresh, service was quick and kind! Good value for money. I'd like to return and taste other dishes as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa Playa also viewed

Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Sa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing