We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Hotel Katy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Katy
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Katy. Excellent choice. Well located and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was fresh with a great variety. Real family atmosphere. Located 2 mins from the beach.
As all the beach is private and you have to pay for your bed, they recommended us to go to "Maurizio" as they have a deal with them, there we met Stefano. He gave us some great advice. Helped with recommendations about where to eat and where to see. The facilities at the beach are fantastic.. private changing rooms, toilets, kids play area, drinks machine, restaurants and bars, absolutely everything to make it a comfortable day.
Stefano gave us directions to Pietrasanta, a nearby town, maybe a 15 min drive. It was a great recommendation, it's a must see! We ate that night in a lovely restaurant, it was called "Vineria Osteria" It's into the village and take the first right, really worth finding.
In Viareggio there is a great restaurant around the corner from the hotel, Antico Locando. They have a fish tasting menu for 28 euro each, if you like your fish this is for you!! Wine was included !!
Would definitely return to this hotel and Viarreggio.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a private terrace, 401 has a terrace located across the corridor which comes with the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dj4daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Clean, friendly, bright, balcony with a side view of the sea at a reasonable cost. Good breakfast helpful staff. Best shower of our trip to Italy. What more could one ask. Apparently help get one of our travel belts with credit cards, passport and travel money to us on the road. They went out of their way to make sure our trip was not ruined by our oversight. We picked this hotel as we could not find anything reasonable in Pisa and, boy, am I glad we did.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are slightly more, but well worth the few extra Euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Katy in early June and had a very pleasant stay.
The staff were competent and nice and breakfast was good. We especially liked the fact that there was a barista there to make our coffees fresh. The coffee was of a good size and was tasty.
We had a humming noise in our room when we first checked in and this was promptly sorted out.
We really liked the night desk clerk! His English was pretty much non existant but it was no problem as he was very friendly and helpful.
There are a couple of very nice and tasty restaurants about a block away from this hotel as well.
We would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Neskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night in the perfectly situated and family operated hotel in Viareggio while being on a road trip through northern Italy. We had a small, but sufficing room which was clean and equiped with a/c, fridge and safe. Parking was available on the street(s) in front of/next to the hotel. The breakfast was for italian standards very nice and contained e.g. tasty fresh fruits and scrambled eggs.

However, two cons need to be mentioned: first, there was no free wifi, which might be a little uncomfortable for the one's beeing on the road. The second (and from our point view major) point is the fact that the rooms are very noisy and you can hear a lot from next door and above (e.g. toilett flushing, shower, telephone calls). I for myself am not as sensible on that issue and had a perfect night, but my girlfriend didn't sleep that well. So if you're not as sensible for noise, the hotel is perfectly fine for a stay in Viareggio.

PS: if you like fish make sure you'll visit the trattoria "buonumore", which is only a couple of minutes away by foot. We had one of the best dinners of our lives...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wealsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

At a slick resort like Viareggio you don't need the facilities of a five star hotel, and the Katy is a cracking place just off the promenade that cannot be faulted at the price. We had a side sea view room with a wee balcony, and spent many an hour there on the warm evenings. The rooms are a good size, well furnished, spotless and very comfortable. The hotel is immaculate with all mod cons and the breakfasts were as good as any of the six hotels we stayed in on our tour of Italy. The coffee was the best anywhere, ask for a coffee with milk and you get a jug of hot coffee and another of hot milk, three cups mixed to your preference. The staff are very helpful with everything, and supply beach towels in an excellent carry bag free of charge if you ask on the desk. Loved it, will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Few words beforehand. We have been travelling across Italy in September 2013, staying every next night in another place. All in all, we stayed in some 15 hotels on the both Italian coasts and our main “concept” was to travel without any particular plan, booking when we need it and to spend no more than EUR100 per night.

Many of us live stereotypes – for example I myself, choosing between a brand-name hotel and a noname one, would go for the brand. It’s like when you look at the hotel Katy’s name and think – what can it be? a hotel named like that?.. What is this philosophy about? – well, it’s just in order to describe the feeling that I had inside when booking “Katy”. Just did not expect anything good. )))

However, what we’ve got was a firm and true level of a 3-stars hotel. I have to say that I wouldn't agree with some opinions at booking-com that the hotel is more a 4-stars one; however for a 3-stars Katy is a very good specimen many many other hotels should stick to (okay-okay, I feel like I would have rated it 3.5*).

So, my rating.

Location. That depends on what you are looking for. The hotel is 50 meters from the promenade next to which is the beach – hence it’s just 150-200 to the sea and some 100 meters to the shops of the promenade. Some 300 meters around the corner there’s a nice local restaurant – I honestly do not remember the name (Luca’s? Luigi’s?..), but the staff at the reception will guide you. The dinner was fabulous and did not cost a fortune. For what concerns the rest – well, we did not do anything else as we used the town and the hotel for the trips to the nearby Chinque Terre and Lucca.

Size, comfort and hospitality. 5 for size (comparing to the previous Italian experience – would even put 5+), comfort 5, hospitality 5. Hospitality I need to emphasize separately. I read it somewhere that this is a family-run hotel – indeed I had a feeling that there is The Owner behind everything the staff does, and remarkably I could see (rather feel than see) that all the staff works not for the salary, but because of the own will… I could almost feel the “smell of motivation” in the air…The young lady at the reception learns Russian language because the guests need it more and more often - isn't that an example of self-motivation for the job?..

Cleanness. I am a maniac upon everything being clean and for that Katy scores 5 out of 5 on my cleanometer, both for the room and bathroom. For the general condition of the room - 4.5; the .5 is taken off because of the slightly worn-out walls. But I need to stress that we stayed at the end of the tourist season when many properties are “that” damaged. On the positive side – in this hotel and room you do really see that the room is being renovated regularly - I assume they do it every low season, so by your next stay here it could be painted already.

Breakfasts. Breakfasts deserve 5+. Here they are indeed better than in all the places we stayed at during 2 weeks in Italy. Good variety, fresh fruits, omelette and bacon (surprise-surprise… it is not a popular thing in Italy at all… over the 2 weeks we had it in 3 places only), pastries etc.

Recommendations. Would I recommend this place to someone else? A definite yes. Would I stay here again? A yes too, but as this town must be overcrowded in the high season – I would surely look at the price/value ratio… who knows if they price themselves as Hyatt in the summertime?.. ))) But in the concept of our voyage – not more than 100 EUR/night – this is the best choice.

Price/value: fair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dmitry_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose this hotel on the back of reviews on Tripadvisor and it turned out to be the perfect choice. The service and friendliness is wonderful and made our stay very special. We would fully recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to relax.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#4 of 51 in Viareggio
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#7 of 51 in Viareggio
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#5 of 51 in Viareggio
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Tina
Hotel Villa Tina
#15 of 51 in Viareggio
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katy

Address: Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range: $83 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katy 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katy is a completely renovated 3 star hotel. Situated a few feet away from the Viareggio promenade in an advantagious spot, a few metres from both the sea and the pine woods.The hotel offers its guests very comfortable rooms, all equipped with air-conditioning, colour tv, fridge, safe and telephone.The hotel offer bed and breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 to 10:30 in the breakfast room. For hotel guests, special agreement with bathing establishments and restaurants nearby. Bicycles can be rented in the nearby pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing