We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly & Family-Owned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Katy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Katy
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly & Family-Owned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel Katy is a simple, small family-owned hotel, located half a block from the promenade and half a block from the local park. The owners are friendly and helpful. They provide extensive assistance with checking train and boat schedules. The included breakfast is fresh and varied, with lots of fresh fruit, juices, pastries, eggs, and other options. A barista is there to serve you at breakfast as well. The train station is only a 10 to 15 minute walk, with easy access to Pisa, Lucca, Cinque Terre, La Spezia, Florence, as well as a 3-hour ferry ride to Monterosso. The local park is family friendly, with pony rides, an extensive array of bicycles, jogging or bike paths, and other activities for children. The rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeus18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    68
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
141
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Six members of our family stayed four nights here in June of 2012, and it turned out to be a delightful stay after our hectic days in Rome. Such friendly and helpful people! Family-owned, spotless rooms, great, and I mean really great, breakfast. Located next to the beach and promenade, not far from the railway station, sea view rooms, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Gave us all the information we needed for our next stop. Certainly everything a hotel it should be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panhandle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A lovely hotel. Great staff, friendly and informative. Decent size room and the bathroom was surprisingly large. A delicious breakfast with lovely coffee. Round the corner from the beach and not too far from the railway station. Viareggio itself is truly lovely with fabulous restaurants dotted around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhillon131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Katy for four nights in June 2012 and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were very friendly and helpful giving us good restaurant suggestions, general information and a map of Pisa for our onward trip when we were checking out. They printed train timetables for us for a day trip. Our room looked out to the rear of the hotel and was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The aircon worked well and was really welcome as the weather was hot during our stay. It's less than a minute to the beach where we spent a lovely few days relaxing at the place recommended to us by the hotel. They hotel will provide you beach towels. Viareggio is only 20 minutes by train form Pisa and the hotel is only a short walk from the station - 15 mins max if you're pulling a case. We recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very nice hotel only 50 meters from the beach, in a quiet side street. Rooms nicely decorated and very clean. We had a big terrace with seaview. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Big breakfast including egg and bacon. Will definitely come back when next time in Viareggio.
Chris

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. We had a quad room which was very clean with a nice balcony and had plenty of room to accommodate our family including two teenagers. The owners and the night desk gentleman were all very friendly and helpful. It's in a wonderful location and we were able to go running in a park only a block away and a block the other direction is the promenade and the beach. The breakfasts are excellent with a huge selection of food! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent hotel, that we can advise to stay in, because of the mix of very good service, cosy and clean rooms with balcony, warm breakfasts, and best Italian hospitality and care. Giusi and Paolo , the owners of the hotel, are very responsive and kind people, who are always willing to help, speak to you and give good advise on your stay in Viareggio.
I suppose one of the best hotels we have ever been in. A pleasure to return there!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marchionni
Hotel Marchionni
#25 of 53 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katy

Property: Hotel Katy
Address: Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katy 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katy is a completely renovated 3 star hotel. Situated a few feet away from the Viareggio promenade in an advantagious spot, a few metres from both the sea and the pine woods.The hotel offers its guests very comfortable rooms, all equipped with air-conditioning, colour tv, fridge, safe and telephone.The hotel offer bed and breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 to 10:30 in the breakfast room. For hotel guests, special agreement with bathing establishments and restaurants nearby. Bicycles can be rented in the nearby pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing