We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely not a 3 star” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marchionni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marchionni
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
limerick ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“definitely not a 3 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

we stayed in your hotel for two weeks in june,first of all the room we had was at the back of the hotel and ,the shutters were falling off ,the room itself was tiny and in need of painting and decorating.the hotel was quite central,but all in all it was run down.
rose limerick

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    125
    83
    41
    22
See reviews for
60
141
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

I went to Toscani for a few days and I wanted to stay one night by the sea. Viareggio seemed to be nice on pictures and well connected to Pisa and Lucca, which is where I was coming from.
As it was just for one night I thought I could save myself some money and book something not too expensive- the biggest mistake of my holidays. I booked just one night at this hotel, I really regretted it. I even considered going to a different hotel and losing my money but every hotel which looked nice, was already booked out.
As for this hotel......it is NOT a 3 stars, 2 stars would already be very generous for this "hotel", I think I've stayed in better hostels.
Where do i start. The room was old fashioned and small and had a really stale smell. The water pipes make terrible noises which did not let me sleep. The water itself took about 20minutes to heat up before i could use the shower. This has to be the smallest bathroom I've ever been in. Literally one person fits inside. The ceiling was covered in mould and the shower door did not close.
The breakfast was included but we decided not to have it. It looked so disgusting. We just checked out and ran away from that dirty hole.
Please spend a few more pennies and book at the Esplanade which is in the same street and looks awsome.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skratch-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabViareggio, Direttore at Hotel Marchionni, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
Dear Mr.skratch-d,
we read your very interesting comment, but we completely disagree because of these main reasons: the noise of water roar you heard came from the fountain placed in the historical square in front of the Hotel.
Private bathrooms are enough spacious, and we don't know a little bathroom in our structure...
Our breakfast is accurately prepared each morning by our cookers with fresh foods, you should try it!
Hotel Marchionni is a historic building that was built in 1923, and it has been renovated during this year, however it's not reasonable that you compare us with a superior category Hotel that costs twice...
We would be happy if you come back to visit us. Greetings from Viareggio!
The Director, Fabrizio Schulze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Viareggio hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#21 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Tina
Hotel Villa Tina
#15 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#14 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marchionni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marchionni

Property: Hotel Marchionni
Address: Piazza Giacomo Puccini 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marchionni 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property consists of 39 rooms of which: 17 Prestige Double with sea view, 3 family rooms for 5 people and 16 Doubles Classic. Built in 1923 preserved Art Nouveau style and a very pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marchionni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marchionni Hotel Viareggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing