We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lives up to expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais del Nazionale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais del Nazionale to your Saves list
Relais del Nazionale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 20, 14, 12019 Vernante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernante
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely lives up to expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found this lovely hotel on the website and needed a quick retreat from Sanremo and were looking for a hotel with spa and sauna facilities. With all the great reviews this place got, we decided to drive the extra distance to Vernante.The Hotel is very clean, well placed for walks, the staff very friendly and happy to help with anything and the food is outstanding, breakfast is brilliant and the hotel restaurant serves a dinner to rival any and which also has great staff and the set menu with wine to match is worth going back for next weekend.

The hotel itself is near brand new, very cosy at night and warmed well during the evening. Beautiful decor throughout and my wife was absolutely thrilled to have L'Occitane toiletries in our bathroom. What a treat.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wade k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been coming here for 6 years and have NEVER had a bad experience. The food in the restaurant is outstanding, the service is attentive without being oppressive, you feel like you're the guest in a family home which offers the appointment of a luxury hotel, great spa, and some of the best eating and drinking you can ever imagine. This is where the benefit of family owned really comes to mean something. The pride of history runs through every decision that the owners make such that no compromise is justified as there is always the next 100 years of reputation to build on.

The menu in the restaurant is a mixture of sophisticated, high quality cuisine, drawing on the local delicacies and presenting them with the most professional haute cuisine capabilities. Before you pick the wine ask the advise of Cristian who is a passionate sommelier who considers compatibility and quality rather than just pushing the price.

Each room is carefully and individually style allowing you to return to this hotel and experience a new setting as fresh as the first time you walked in.

Room Tip: If you are looking to have beauty treatments ask for them in advance so that the managers can book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It has taken me a while to get to writing last summer's reviews, but I wanted this one to be the first, because the Relais is a very wonderful place. The lodge itself is lovely, and although it has the look of an attractive old lodge, and we wondered at first about soundproofing, in fact we never heard a thing, despite there being a family with two small children in the room next to ours. We had a room in the back of the lodge, with a balcony overlooking the stream, and with the French doors open the sound of the running water was soothing.The room was charming too. The bed really was spectacular--the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

As others have mentioned, the sauna area is heavenly (fresh lemonade and ice tea), and the organic breakfast--wonderful bread and jams from a nearby farm, farm-fresh eggs--delicious. The owners are also wonderful--genuinely nice, friendly, helpful. The family has been in the hotel business in Vernante for over a century, we learned. We ate lunch at the cafe in the related hotel across the street one day, and it was very nice: well-prepared, moderately priced, simple food. (We didn't try the upscale restaurant, also in the hotel.)

Finally, the surrounding area itself is achingly beautiful--take a look at the old church up the road, framed by the glorious mountain. We drove up into the mountains and hiked ond day. I'm never sure how to react to over the top reviews--but this really is the real thing, an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank literatureprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My Husband and I have been here four times. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, the character is amazing. All the rooms have different themes and are all unique. The staff so friendly to make it an even nicer experience. The area is really pretty and there are fabulous walks nearby.

Room Tip: All great rooms but perhaps request one facing the gardens as opposed to the road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I saw the reviews of this relaid on trip advisor. We were driving from Lake Como to Nice and thought we would try it. I'm so happy we did. Everyone was so nice. Our room was perfect. The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was very modern but looked rustic. Hotel was totally renovated in 2007. It looks old but isn't. Dinner is gourmet and wonderful. Everyone speaks perfect English. We did not try the spa but it looked very nice. They have a shuttle to the ski lifts. This is a very charming place and we would definitely return. They have tea at 5pm and breakfast included in the rate. Breakfast was good with meats, cheese, bread and soft boiled eggs. Also cereal, yogurt and fruits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianemontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just the greatest, what can I say:
Great staff, kind helpful and efficient
Lovely clean and recently renovated rooms
Hotel is right in the centre of Vernante
The food, organic, and home grown - amazing dinner
The breakfast was also great with a lovely girl in attendance constantly

This hotel is one of the best places that we stayed, and we recommend it to all our friends and we will certainly be back.
All the best to the family who own and run this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We just came back from this great place. We needed a weekend off not far away from home (antibes) and i looked for a hotel with a spa.
On our arrival we were upgraded to a superior room that was available with no charge. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated with winter/snow details.
The spa is nice too with a sauna, hammam, aromashowers and relaxing room, all included in the price.
We ate at the restaurant across the road, belonging to the same family. Four-plates dishes for 33 euros were really delicious.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tationok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernante
3.6 mi away
Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#2 of 2 in Vernante
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
23.1 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe
Grand Hotel Principe
#2 of 7 in Limone Piemonte
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
3.6 mi away
Limone Palace Aparthotel
Limone Palace Aparthotel
#1 of 7 in Limone Piemonte
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 7 in Limone Piemonte
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais del Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Nazionale

Address: Strada Statale 20, 14, 12019 Vernante, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Vernante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais del Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real alpine lodge. The fireplace welcomes you in a authentic atmosphere “d’antan”. Only 8 rooms to share with the others housemates. The perfume of wood will enchant you and will drive to discover all the rooms. Different one to each other, but all with the same magical scenery. Hidden to curious people a wellness center “d’alpage” with sauna, steam bath, emotional shower, Jacuzzi minipool and relax corner. You will lost your mind in a marvellous place….. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Relais del Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing