We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel, rather old fashioned!”
Review of Hotel Pesce d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our room was in the annexe the hotel, it was pleasant enough, large bathroom, comfortable beds. The breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice, we ate here for both nights of our stay, unfortunately the waitress forgot my order, husband had finished before we caught her attention, said didn't want the meal 10 minutes after other person had finished, had hoped for an apology but sadly not! The wi if was also a problem, if it says free wi if everywhere then that is what you should have, had to stand outside room along corridor to get any signal, small problem but annoying! Overall it was ok, quiet area not much to do, nearby Stresa much better area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sallyd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pesce d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 275 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very nice owner, gave us great!!! Nature trips directions.
Rooms are very clean.
Breakfast was very good.
Room was small but the owner said in advance and the price was in accordance.
The area is beautiful and a very nice bar operates around the corner (no noise in the hotel)
Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really liked the location of the hotel with the lake infront. The restaurant is also nicely situated - near the hotel's garden. In our room we were surprised and happy to find a minibar. Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful, friendly and kind. We had dinner twice during our stay and it was good too. However, nearby there are good restaurants too. The room was quite spacious and comfortable too.
We didn't like the noise from outside (from other clients and from bars nearby) till late. Parking could also be a problem if you travel by car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view. If you travel by car ask the receptionist if they have parking permit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_B0rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked at the Pesce D'Oro Hotel initially for five days but because of it's great staff, management and location we stayed for three weeks. The owners and managers all very attentive to the needs of guests. The staff is very professional and customer oriented. We has a very positive experience at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCaptDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A group of 13 of us, 8 adults and 5 kids ate here one saturday night, no booking and they graciiously accommodated us. The food was incredibly good and valued, the wine just as good. Along with the service and views across the lake in a non tourist location, it was just amazing.

So good we went back for lunch 2 days later. Awesome. Thanks

Room Tip: We ate at the restaurant, so no hotel room information.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My holiday at Hotel Pesce D'Oro was superb in every way. This family run hotel caters for all your needs leaving you completely relaxed with beautiful views over the lake and the borromean islands.
The choice of menu and the quality of the food are also excellent and the rooms are clean and comfortable with power shower available.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone staying on lake maggiore. The friendlyness and family atmosphere make you feel most welcome relaxed and at home.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 if you want the best balcony room over the lake
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We choose this hotel for our guests to stay at for the weekend for our wedding in July 2011. The hotel is in a perfect position opposite the lake with amazing views, the hotel is based just outside of the town and is a short walk from the beach, pool and tennis courts.
The staff at this family run hotel will go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your stay and have everything you need.
We stayed in one of the rooms on the 1st floor above the entrance which had a big balcony with beautiful views of the lake. The room was a good size, very clean and a nice size bathroom with shower. The beds were a good size and very comfortable.
The food at the Pesce D’Oro was fantastic (spaghetti with seafood was a favourite with most of the guests!) The breakfast is a substantial buffet with bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and pastries. If you like your coffee in the morning, then wait for the waitress to take your order instead of using the machine next to the breakfast buffet (at no extra cost). The service we received at the hotel was outstanding. Lorenzo booked out the back dining room for us to have a dinner with all of our guests the night before the wedding, he put together a special menu for us and catered for all of our needs and it was a brilliant night which everyone really enjoyed.
The price of this hotel is very reasonable and we will definitely be returning!!
Thank you to Lorenzo, his family and staff for making our stay so memorable, we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbania hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#3 of 14 in Verbania
484 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 14 in Verbania
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 14 in Verbania
208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Zust
Hotel Residence Zust
#10 of 14 in Verbania
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#7 of 14 in Verbania
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pesce d'Oro

Address: Via Paolo Troubetzkoy 136, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Price Range: $73 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pesce d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Lake, this 16th century ancient monastery is renowned for its beautiful viuw on the 3 Borromeo Island. Its 47 rooms are all equipped with private bathroom, telephone and sat TV. Wifi area. Family owenedrunby the Pizza family for 25 years the hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere and exellent cusine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pesce D'Oro Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing