We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All aspect of Pesce D'Oro excellent. Friendly welcoming family atmosphere. Highly recommended.”
Review of Hotel Pesce d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked at the Pesce D'Oro Hotel initially for five days but because of it's great staff, management and location we stayed for three weeks. The owners and managers all very attentive to the needs of guests. The staff is very professional and customer oriented. We has a very positive experience at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCaptDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

A group of 13 of us, 8 adults and 5 kids ate here one saturday night, no booking and they graciiously accommodated us. The food was incredibly good and valued, the wine just as good. Along with the service and views across the lake in a non tourist location, it was just amazing.

So good we went back for lunch 2 days later. Awesome. Thanks

Room Tip: We ate at the restaurant, so no hotel room information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My holiday at Hotel Pesce D'Oro was superb in every way. This family run hotel caters for all your needs leaving you completely relaxed with beautiful views over the lake and the borromean islands.
The choice of menu and the quality of the food are also excellent and the rooms are clean and comfortable with power shower available.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone staying on lake maggiore. The friendlyness and family atmosphere make you feel most welcome relaxed and at home.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 if you want the best balcony room over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We choose this hotel for our guests to stay at for the weekend for our wedding in July 2011. The hotel is in a perfect position opposite the lake with amazing views, the hotel is based just outside of the town and is a short walk from the beach, pool and tennis courts.
The staff at this family run hotel will go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your stay and have everything you need.
We stayed in one of the rooms on the 1st floor above the entrance which had a big balcony with beautiful views of the lake. The room was a good size, very clean and a nice size bathroom with shower. The beds were a good size and very comfortable.
The food at the Pesce D’Oro was fantastic (spaghetti with seafood was a favourite with most of the guests!) The breakfast is a substantial buffet with bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and pastries. If you like your coffee in the morning, then wait for the waitress to take your order instead of using the machine next to the breakfast buffet (at no extra cost). The service we received at the hotel was outstanding. Lorenzo booked out the back dining room for us to have a dinner with all of our guests the night before the wedding, he put together a special menu for us and catered for all of our needs and it was a brilliant night which everyone really enjoyed.
The price of this hotel is very reasonable and we will definitely be returning!!
Thank you to Lorenzo, his family and staff for making our stay so memorable, we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Pesce d'Oro while vacationing in Verbania, Italy in April. We found the hotel to be warm and inviting and there was a lovely view of the lake. The rooms were clean and the staff was very accomodating. We dined at their restaurant and the food was excellent and the service was outstanding. We will definitely return here and recommend it highly to all of our friends in America. Lela

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lela65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Great location right on the lake (a little tricky to find though if you don't have a good map), very friendly staff, large and comfortable rooms and an amazing breakfast buffet! Swimming spots on the lake very nearby. Highly recommended, good value for this price and area

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Pesce d'Oro is in Suna, the sunniest location on Lake Maggiore , very close to Val Grande park - the biggest wildlife reserve in Italy - and quieter than Stresa, which is only few kilometres far . Rooms are very clean with nice firm mattresses, we enjoyed the lake view ; not very big but definitely comfortable. The personnel is nice and would do anything to make your stay pleasurable and the food is fresh, varied , very well cooked , with lots of vegetables available and fish - being Italian food is very important to me. The price is really good, I will go there again , maybe to have a hike/cicling tour of Val Grande mountains and Val d'Ossola. Suna offers nice walks along the lake, there is an interesting museum and obviously one can take the ferry and visit the lake and /or the mountains with the Centovalli railway.
Oh, I forgot : this is a small establishment, there is prosciutto and cheese for breakfats besides cappuccino and coffee and cakes etc but if you need a full English breakfast you may have to ask for it

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obelixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbania hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 14 in Verbania
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#5 of 14 in Verbania
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Contrada Hotel
La Contrada Hotel
#9 of 14 in Verbania
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Europalace Hotel
Europalace Hotel
#11 of 14 in Verbania
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#3 of 14 in Verbania
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pesce d'Oro

Address: Via Paolo Troubetzkoy 136, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Price Range: $82 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pesce d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Lake, this 16th century ancient monastery is renowned for its beautiful viuw on the 3 Borromeo Island. Its 47 rooms are all equipped with private bathroom, telephone and sat TV. Wifi area. Family owenedrunby the Pizza family for 25 years the hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere and exellent cusine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pesce D'Oro Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing