We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable hotel in town to be avoided”
Review of Hotel Santanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santanna
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were searching for a last minute economical hotel in the Lago Maggiore area and were not really familiar with the towns. After exploring on the internet, we chose Verbania as the only place that had rooms available on the western shore of the lake. It turned out to be the least appealing of the towns to stay in with mostly very mediocre hotels, and this was confirmed afterwards with friends we checked with. We would have done better to pay more and stay in Cannobio or Stresa, both lovely towns with some impressive looking hotel properties. Oh well, maybe next time! Anyway, this hotel had two wings, one without a lift. We had rooms on the 2nd floor of the "no lift" wing so had much climbing and carrying of luggage to do. The rooms we were given were supposed to be for larger families as they were the only remaining rooms when we booked. Our room did not have window shutters or blinds so the early morning light would have come in except after some arguing the hotel staff put blankets over the windows to keep out light. The breakfast was fair. But the price and 3 star category along with the reality of low quality left us very unhappy with this hotel. Add to that the inconvenient location far from the center of the town meant having to drive in or walk quite a distance to get to anywhere interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanLipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in hotel Sant'Anna during a trip down south. We left in the evening for a trip from Zurich to Cinque Terre, so Sant'Anna was just conveniently located across the border at the Lago Maggiore. It has clean rooms, nice little breakfast buffet and offers great value.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel. There is free parking too. Ask for rooms on the quieter side as there can be more traffic on the one side. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. We found the room very comfortable, large, and clean. The A/C worked just fine and cooled off the room in the late afternoon. We enjoyed walking to Villa Taranto and to the Ferry stop. One night after a dinner in the restaurant, we enjoyed the walk along the Lago di Maggiori which was quiet and peaceful (one way traffice around the promotory of Verbania). The free WIFI worked beautifully in the room. I believe that this hotel offers excellent value for what you receive. The breakfast buffet had a range of cereals, yoghurt, breads, and fruit. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony which is nice to sit on and enjoy the breeze. Ask for rooms on the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FavonianPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very pleasant hotel with helpful and polite staff.
Room was clean and comfortable with a balcony.
Breakfast had a lot of choice and dinner at the hotel was very nice (good value tourist menu).
The residential area is quiet but check that are happy with the walk to local facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Good hotel in a great location! But .. room for three persons is small. Good restaurant. Free parking.Сlose to the lake and the beach. Сonvenient access to the islands by boat.Close to the Botanic Garden.Wonderful restaurant.
I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocebianca, Proprietario at Hotel Santanna, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. Our location, out of the traffic but close to everithing, is in fact convenient for visiting the area. We hope to see you again in Verbania.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel way very neat and clean. The staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel is located very central to Maggiore Lake and many Restaurants. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dashadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel is clean, quiet and pleasant.. I would certainly stay again.. the rooms, while certainly clean and comfortable, are simple, and not quite as 'fancy' as the lobby and exterior.. the staff waiter is hard-working and excellent. In hotel restaurant was pleasant as well. The location is centrally loccated in town, but in more of a residential part.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldfisharenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocebianca, Proprietario at Hotel Santanna, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate that our guests take the time to share their experience if they were happy with our hotel. Hope to see you again in Verbania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbania hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#5 of 14 in Verbania
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 14 in Verbania
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Europalace Hotel
Europalace Hotel
#11 of 14 in Verbania
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 14 in Verbania
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
#4 of 14 in Verbania
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santanna

Address: Viale Sant'Anna 65, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Verbania
#5 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range: $72 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santanna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Sant'Anna is located on the western shore of Lake Maggiore between Intra and Pallanza in central and quiet location, just a few hundred meters from Villa Taranto and the Borromean Islands. The rooms are elegantly furnished in a cozy and equipped with every comfort, as throughout the hotel. Each room has satellite TV, mini bar, air conditioning, direct dial telephone and Wi-Fi. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Santanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santanna Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing